We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Killeen House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect !”
Reviewed 14 April 2009

This was, by far, my favorite stop during my tour of Ireland. Beautiful location, friendly and funny hosts, and very helpful staff. Not to mention comfy beds and great food. If I ever have the chance to return, I will stay here. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    861
    42
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
189
385
23
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, CT
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2009

There is no better place to stay in Ireland if you're headed to the southwest to play some of the best golf courses on earth. Centrally located in Killarney, The Killeen House is owned and operated by Geraldine and Michael Rosney, hoteliers extraordinaire who make everyone feel like family and who cater to everyone's needs. From the cozy golf-ball lined walls of the pub to the surprisingly superb fare at the restaurant, all visitors will marvel at the entire experience at The Killeen House. I visited with 5 other friends/golfers, several of whom were making a return trip to The Killeen House, and the Rossners instantly adopted all of us as their American cousins. Michael gave us tips on the best local pubs to visit and his recommendations were spot on. I only hope that our return trip comes soon so that we can again enjoy the genuine hospitality and attention to detail that the Rosneys exhibit daily. One cultural note: while I am of Scottish heritage, due to Michael's educational introduction, I have sworn off single malt Scotch, drinking only the smoother triple-distilled Irish whiskeys and I have remained true to my conversion for 2 years!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tothelinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiawah island, sc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2009

Ireland has plenty of friendly B&Bs and small hotels but none lure us back with quite the style and panache of the Killeen House. Their "Championship" rooms are on a par with the finest boutique hotels. But our fondest memories are always of the charming hosts Michael and Geraldine, their fine staff, and our fellow guests. The restaurant may well be the best in the region and the cozy bar is a special place to end the evening.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yenrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2009

Have stayed at The Killeen House during annual golf pilgrimages to Ireland every year
since 1997. Having played all over the Republic and Ulster, we have stayed in a wide
range of hospitable Irish accommodation, from the typical B&B to 5 star hotels. The
Killeen House tops them all. The ambeience, conviviality, superb dining, service, staff
and management all blend wonderfully to make a visit feel as much like coming home
as it does being spoiled on holidays. Apart from golf junkets, The Killeen House would
make the ideal setting for a romantic getaway or pleasant respite whilst touring Ireland.
As any organization manifests the personality of whomever is in charge; it's no wonder
that Michael and Geraldine Rosney's establishment provides such an enjoyable experience. Suffice it to say, that where ever our plans take us; we always look for an excuse or schedule a round in Kerry just to be able to book into The Killeen House.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank captjfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2009

i've made 10+ golf trips to ireland over the last 15 years. the killeen house is the absolute best small hotel for golf groups. prime location near the top courses in the southwest, some of the best meals we've had in the country, and the proprietors will treat you like long-lost cousins.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2009

We stayed in the killeen in 2006 on a golf trip with my wife. since then we have visited scotland and france but i think our time in killarney and especially the killeen is the best trip we have had. everything was perfect - i just saw in the recent awards that the killeen won a 2009 hidden gem award - to be honest they have been a hidden gem for many a year - i just hope this does not mean they will be booked out for our 2010 visit!

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank El_Coqui_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2009

Anyone traveling to this part of Ireland should make time to stay at Killeen House! Several of us golfed, while I lounged around, toured around the Ring of Kerry and shopped in town, and generally relaxed and explored. The owners, Michael and Geraldine, are the most genial, welcoming, and generous hosts you can imagine! It's extremely comfortable, with exceptional food and drink, pleasant camaraderie with all the staff and other guests. I'll bet this will be the highlight of your trip--it was for us. Congratulations to Killeen House on another Trip Advisor "Top 10 Gems Award"!

Regards from Lisa & Ian in New Haven, CT, USA -- hope to see you again in 2009!

  • Liked — super welcoming and accommodating
  • Disliked — having to tear myself away to go back to real life
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa2lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghadoe
0.8 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
3.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#6 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
4.9 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killeen House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killeen House Hotel

Property: Killeen House Hotel
Address: Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Killeen House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant is truly a special and charming place. Owned and personally managed by Michael and Geraldine Rosney since 1992, it enjoys an unrivalled reputation for the warm and uniquely Irish welcome it extends to all guests. Its location, just a 10 minute drive from Killarney, makes it the ideal base for visitors wishing to explore the many magnificent attractions of the entire region, including the famed Ring of Kerry and Dingle Peninsulas. Free car parking and WiFi throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Killeen House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeen House Hotel Killarney
Killeen Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing