We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Killeen House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence
Bayport, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2009

My husband and I spent the last three days of a 12 day trip though west and southwest Ireland. Before we arrived, Michael (the owner) offered, through email, advise on our trip planning. I knew then, that this place would be something special. It did not disappoint. We did not get a chance to meet Geraldine, Michael's wife, but if she is anything like Michael or the rest of the staff, then she is one special lady. Every aspect of this hotel rates five stars. Walking in the door you are greeted by first name and are made to feel like you have just returned home to your family. The rooms are perfectly appointed, the sitting room is so comfy and cozy, the staff are happy to do what they can to make you comfortable, the breakfast is the best we had (try the waffles-they are great) and the restaurant will rival any found in New York City (the lamb is exceptionally good). I could not find anything to complain about if you paid me large sums of money to find a flaw. Now, if you like the feel of a large hotel, where people politely nod at you but never really acknowledge you, then the Killeen House is not for you. But if you like being treated like an old and welcomed friend, then this is the place to stay. Michael and Geraldine know what they are doing and they do it to perfection. I wish I could remember all the staff's names, but unfortunately only Jessica and Charlies names stick with me. They, like all the staff, are the best...friendly, accomodating, but never intrusive. We decided on the Killeen House based on recommendations from TripAdvisor reviewers. Thank you to all who wrote about this place and guiding us to it. It is a gem not to be missed.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaTBayport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    42
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
184
380
23
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bray, Co. Wicklow,
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2009

This hotel provides magnificant service, gormet food, lovely accommodation. A must for the golfing buff. Their mission statement has to be "total customer satisfaction" which the had no trouble achieving.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weathereye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2009

This is a lovely and spotless hotel. The food is really good. The staff are so helpful and friendly - nobody has ever set the bar this high before. A truly wonderful experience and most highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank euroryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2009

Although it is located only 5 minutes drive from Killarney and a short drive from all attractions, this hotel is set in a beautiful scenic location and is so quiet and peaceful. The hotel itself is beautiful, the staff are very friendly and helpful and always available to deal with any queries, the food and service is excellent and the rooms are so clean and cozy, we did not want to leave. We will definatley be staying here again.
There is FREE internet access in the lounge area and it is so relaxing just to sit in here. It is a real home from home!
If you are staying in the Killarney area and want a real treat, stay at the Killeen House Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NenaghHeritage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2009

A group of us (12 in total) spent five glorious days in Kileen House on a Golfing trip. From the time we arrived to the moment we left our every need was catered for. Each and every one of the Staff treated us like one of their Family and this ethos come from from the "top" namely the owners Michael and Geraldine Rosney.
The dinner each evening was of Michelin Star quality and its no surprise that Head Chef Paul O'Gorman and his team have won many awards and accolades over the years.
This charming Hotel is well worth making a detour for to experience a truly Irish "Cead Mile Failte"(one hundred thousand welcomes).

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GearoidBray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2009

We enjoyed a golf trip to southwest Ireland in April 2009 and chose the Killeen House Hotel as a home base for four nights. We found the rooms, the food and hospitality to be first rate. The owners Mike and Geraldine were extremely accomodating to our tight schedule and worked out special arrangements for breakfast in the mornings so we could make our early tee times. Because our trip was so packed, we didn't have much time to enjoy local towns so it was fantastic to come back "home" for a nice meal and drinks in the their pub. They even let us pour our own Guinnesses from behind the bar - a real treat for any beer lover. A few nights we adjourned to the living room with comfortable couches and golf books and memorabilia to unwind and rehash the days on the links. We love the place and certainly recommend it to golfers and non-golfers looking for a friendly spot to stay close to Killarney.

We were thrilled with hospitality Mike, Geraldine and their staff. We had early tee times

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattycasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Killeen House numerous times in the last 10 years, both with golf companions and my wife. I can honestly say that in all my travels I have never experienced such a level warmth and service. From the wonderful Championship rooms, to the friendly pub where new friends are made each night , to the first class gourmet restaurant, it just doesn't get any better than this. I have in a way become somewhat of an unofficial travel guide to first time visitors to Ireland and the Killeen House is always on my suggested itinerary and everyone has thanked me for the recommendation and considered it as a highlight of their trip. Centrally located in the meca of Irish golf and scenery, the Killeen House is a very special place run by very special people.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loupow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghadoe
0.8 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
3.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
4.9 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killeen House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killeen House Hotel

Property: Killeen House Hotel
Address: Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Killeen House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant is truly a special and charming place. Owned and personally managed by Michael and Geraldine Rosney since 1992, it enjoys an unrivalled reputation for the warm and uniquely Irish welcome it extends to all guests. Its location, just a 10 minute drive from Killarney, makes it the ideal base for visitors wishing to explore the many magnificent attractions of the entire region, including the famed Ring of Kerry and Dingle Peninsulas. Free car parking and WiFi throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, TravelUp, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Killeen House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeen House Hotel Killarney
Killeen Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing