We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly, and professional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Killeen House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly, and professional”
Reviewed 25 September 2009

Michael and Geraldine are very good at what they do. That's also true of Charlie, Janet, Jessica, Marguerite, and Theresa. ( I'm sorry if we left anyone out. Everyone was great.) It felt like family. We stayed for 12 days, using Killeen House as a base to visit the area and especially the many wonderful golf courses. We have never stayed in one place for such a long period and were a little worried that we'd get bored with returning to the same place everyday. Well, we didn't. The weather was terrible, even by Irish standards, but it was wonderful/terrifying to experience Ballybunion, Tralee, Waterville, etc. in such conditions. Michael and Geraldine are very helpful about tee times, information, and directions. And it was nice to return wet and tired and know that you were going to sit down to a good dinner. Yes, the food is good, with plenty of options. We don't eat much beef at home, but we certainly would if we could get the Kerry beef served at Killeen House. And then there's the seafood chowder. Whatever you order, you won't leave the dining room hungry. We were sorry to leave. Having played the sensational links courses of the Southwest, I would like to play the many courses in the Northwest. I know that Enniscrone, Rosapenna, etc. will be wonderful, but where would we stay? Golf in Ireland wouldn't be the same without Killeen House.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ricksing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    887
    44
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
202
394
23
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stuart, florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

From our initial greeting by Janet to our fairwell departure with Geraldine and
Michael, we experienced a wonderful and relaxing stay at Killeen House.
The friendliness and helpfulness provided by the staff was a constant reminder
that we were staying in a very special place. There was nothing they were not
willing to help you with, from tee times to directions (there are way to many
roundabouts for us Americans ha-ha) to sightseeing recommendations.
Our room was large, bright and clean, including a nice size bathroom. The Pub
is a great place to relax after a great, or not so great, round of golf. We can't say
enough about the food. The quality, variety and presentation made for an
exceptional dining experience.

Michael and Geraldine and all the staff, thank you for a most memorable visit to
Killarney. We look forward to returning to Killeen House.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pkcjmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

We just got back from two weeks traveling around the Republic. I picked all our hotels off of TripAdvisor and chose one the highest reviewed for each city in which we stayed. The Killeen House was, by far, the best stay of our experience. Geraldine and Michael, as well as Jessica and Charlie, made us feel at home from the moment we walked through the front door. They introduced themselves by first name and memorized our names immediately. After that, they spent the rest of the time bending over backwards to see that we had the most pleasant stay and that all our needs were met.

As I did not bring my clubs with me, we were the only non-golfing group at the hotel as it is in the middle of some of the most incredible golfing country in Ireland and a great base to play out of (The Killeen House's pub has golf balls and bag tags from all over the world lining the walls). This worked to our advantage as we spent the first afternoon with Charlie and Jessica watching the All-Ireland Hurling finals on TV while all the other guests were out on the links and they patiently explained the game to us. What an incredible sport! But I digress.

The room was large, nicely decorated and quiet. The restaurant was perfect. Elegant enough to dress up for but casual enough for golfers or sightseers to come in as they were to get a bite. The food was so good that we never bothered to go the 5 minutes into town to explore any other dining options. If your time was tight in the morning and you had no time for breakfast they happily got you a sandwich wrapped to go if you wished.

The location is perfect regardless of your the reason for your visit - unless you want to walk out the door and around downtown. They are located just out of town, maybe 5 minutes. However, it is a breeze to get in and out and you are very close to the courses or the main road to head any way that you need to. It was a great central location for us to visit Kenmare, the Ring of Kerry, Muckross House, Dingle, Slea Head, the National Park, and shop.

The bottom line is that the Killeen House will be at the top of my list I go to when I get back to Ireland in the future.

Thank you, Mike and Geraldine, for the greatest memories.

Patrick and Pamela Waters

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueCaddis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

Killeen Lodge is the most wonderful place to stay. We stayed for 3 nights whilst playing golf. The atmosphere as soon as you walk in is so welcoming and friendly. The food is superb. We were intending to eat in Killarney some nights but decided that the food and service couldn't be bettered so we stayed in - and we were not disappointed. The quality of the food and the presentation is top class.The staff are so friendly and interested in you and your day. They remember your name - and what you like to drink! Nothing is too much trouble.
The hotel is in a peaceful, scenic setting, just out of Killarney but handy for most places. The rooms are comfortable and clean. It is such a pleasure on your holidays to be able to stay in such a relaxing, lovely place.
Michael and Geraldine are the perfect hosts and we are looking forward to meeting up with them again soon.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jumob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Good Food, Good company and superb atmosphere. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Out of the hussle and bussle of Killarney with views of Irelands highest mountains

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank munroeist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E. Anderson
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

My mother and I stayed her in August for 2 nights. Upon arrival we were greeted and shown to our room. Twin share room was a double bed and a single bed with a TV and bathroom with shower above bath. Great quality for 3 star! The staff at this hotel and extraordinarily friendly and helpful! We enjoyed our breakfast both mornings - generous servings of pastries, scones and irish soda bread was served along with a cooked breakfast if you wished - full irish, sweet pancakes & a wide selection of meals including fish! Or cereal if you preferred a lighter option. They even have a takeaway option if you don't have time to sit down and eat. We could have had a 3 course meal in the evenings which would have cost 50 euro per person, there was also the option to have a lighter meal prepared if we did not want a 3 course meal. It appeared that a lot of golfers would stay at Killeen House as it had a lot of golfing paraphernalia up around the property. The building itself was very well maintained with very well manicured gardens. A sitting room situated at the front of the house had couches and a TV and computer. WIFI was available throughout the hotel which was a real plus!! The only down-side was that there were no tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms themselves and it cost 3 euros to order one. Also, when booking be aware that the property is situated out of town and you would need a car to get into the main town of Killarney. The car park could also be a bit bigger. Saying that we had a fantastic stay and I would recommend this property to anyone looking for a peaceful holiday in Ireland - close to the lakes and golf courses and the town of Killarney.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brewer200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2009

My grown son and I stayed at the Killen House for four nights in August, playing golf around the Southwest Coast. I have read the recent reviews below, and none are exaggerated. Michael and Geraldine are just pros at taking care of you during your stay, though it really just starts with them. They have a handful of staff -- Charlie and Teresa and Jessica among others -- who will take care of whatever needs taking care of, and make sure you enjoy every minute of it. They are all fun to be with.

The Killeen House is small and cozy. You'll see and talk to just about everyone else there -- we were there with "LostandLoud," the folks from New Jersey. You can't escape from anyone, and you shouldn't want to. The hosts expect to know how your day was and will offer any help they can to make it more enjoyable. Michael made our tee times at all the courses (and fixed it quickly when we screwed up and went to the wrong course at the wrong time). The rooms aren't luxury (and certainly not large), but they are clean and comfortable and very adequate. The food is excellent (eat the steak sandwich!). The property is beautiful -- the morning view of the mountains is spectacular. "Downtown" Killarney is 10 minutes away. So, if you want to be at the center of the most beautiful part of Ireland, it doesn't get much better.

It was just really, really nice!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBCfromPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghadoe
4.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
2,169 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,200 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
4.9 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,530 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killeen House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killeen House Hotel

Property: Killeen House Hotel
Address: Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Killeen House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant is truly a special and charming place. Owned and personally managed by Michael and Geraldine Rosney since 1992, it enjoys an unrivalled reputation for the warm and uniquely Irish welcome it extends to all guests. Its location, just a 10 minute drive from Killarney, makes it the ideal base for visitors wishing to explore the many magnificent attractions of the entire region, including the famed Ring of Kerry and Dingle Peninsulas. Free car parking and WiFi throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Killeen House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeen House Hotel Killarney
Killeen Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing