We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,049)
Filter reviews
1,049 results
Traveller rating
982
51
10
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
982
51
10
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf ballsmichael geraldinethe pubtee timeschampionship roomrack of lambgolf tripgreat golfchateaubriandring of kerryirish hospitalitythe entire staffhome away from homekillarney areagracious hostshighlight of our tripour entire trip
Filter
Updating list...
852 - 857 of 1,049 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2009

This was our second visit to the Killeen House, and it was as good as our first.
The staff is top notch, friendly, helpful and welcoming. The rooms were charming, comfortable and clean. The breakfast was great and dinner even better. Everyone at the Killeen House goes out of their way to make your stay as memorable as possible. We did the bike ride for softies and had a blast. We will return to the Killeen House!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheresaLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

Myself and my husband spent 2 nights in Killeen House Hotel and I have to say it was absolutely fantastic. It felt like we had been invited into a family home, from the minute we arrived to when we left the service from the staff was second to none. Nothing was too much trouble and they could not do enough for you. The hotel itself was spotlessly clean, the rooms were fabulous and so comfortable. I don't know where to even start with the food, it was excellent. We really did not want to leave and we will definitely be back! Sue & Dean

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RenaultMegane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

Look up Hospitality in either an Irish dictionary or an American one and you will find a picture of the Management and Staff of the Killeen House. Professional, friendly and knowledgebale staff assembled by Michael and Geraldine, while maintaining the feeling that you were truly staying at their home. The Food? No better can be found anywhere in the Country. Accomodations far exceeded expectations. Will return and use Killeen House as home base for all travels in the Southwest of Ireland.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TryingOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

Very comfortable hotel. Staff made us feel very much at home and were on a first-name basis with all guests without invading privacy. Would definitely recommend to a friend looking for a place with old world charm.
Tailored to suit a golfer's break especially.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NellieWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Killeen House Hotel for seven unforgettable nights, ten days ago now.

We wanted a quality 'base' from, and around, which we could enjoy playing a range of different golf courses across County Kerry as well as enjoying all the beauty that County Kerry has to offer. This was our first trip to Ireland and our first `golfing' holiday ever.

Killarney seemed to be the `natural' location to stay... and, having decided that, we then turned to TripAdvisor to help us get a better feel for our Hotel / B&B options.

And, of course, we read the reviews about the Killeen House Hotel. And, frankly, we were `torn'... on the one hand, how could we NOT stay at an hotel with such rave reviews? On the other, surely, no place could live up to those reviews - there had to be an element of hype in there somewhere, surely?

We called the hotel and talked with Geraldine. The vibes were all great; the welcoming tone and warm attitude were there from the very beginning of the conversation. Maybe... just maybe, it wasn't all hype? We booked to stay seven nights and crossed our fingers.

O.K., here goes:

Staying with Geraldine, Michael, Charlie, Jessica, Janet, Margaritte, Paul and the rest of the team was one of the most fantastic and totally enjoyable experiences of our very, very, well-travelled lives.

The location: Perfect. We awoke in our really lovely suite [ ask for 305 ] to wonderful views across pastures toward the magnificent mountains beyond. In the evening, from a hillside about three hundred metres from the hotel, we watched the sunset creating the most fantastic effects across the Lake and the mountains. Beautiful.

The Property and the accommodation? Perfect. This is a much-loved `family country house' kind of property... not in any pretentious way... rather, in a warm, well cared for, truly welcoming, easing, relaxing, kind of way.

We stayed in 305, one of the Championship suites. It was simply great... bags of room, great big relaxing bed, [plus a spare]... tons of wardrobe space., etc., in short, everything you would wish for in a suite that immediately felt `ours'.

[ I say everything, but there was no `mini-bar' and no coffee-making machine... which was no hardship at all since freshly - fresh - brewed quality coffee was always `on the go' and brought to your room with a smile. ]

The Restaurant? Stunning. The quality of all the food at the Killeen House Hotel rivals the very best cuisine we've enjoyed anywhere in the world. I'm talking about great fresh ingredients, combined to deliver a wonderful choice of `classic' and `creative' recipes and menus, superbly cooked and presented, served in a wonderfully elegant yet relaxed dining room by really nice, pleasing, professional staff... I mean, please... what more do you want? The food is wonderful.

You can chose to mix your selections from two menus... one a pure, out and out, five star fine cuisine menu, the other, a mouth-wateringly great `pub grub' menu [ but we've never eaten 'pub grub' of this quality anywhere before!]. Basically, the chef is a genius and loves his job. Don't hesitate to `mix and match' from the menu options... the team will be only too pleased to serve you what you want, as you want it.

The breakfast... oh God... whether you want the Full Irish [ lovely, lovely cooking in full flow there ] or prefer lighter, fruitier, fare... it is all, I mean ALL, on offer for you.

The Pub? A small, relaxed, `pour your own Guinness' environment for hotel guests [ your new friends ] only. Picture your `perfect', ideal, pub? Here it is.

The people? Ah... therein lies the secret of the Killeen House Hotel!

Here are people who make you feel you are TRULY important to them... people who behave, in every way, as if they really want you to be their friends for life.

Not intrusive, not in your face, not in your space... but simply people for whom helping you get the most enjoyable experience possible out of your stay [not just in the hotel but also in Kerry and indeed Ireland] genuinely seems to be a personal `mission'. I'm talking about EVERY single member of the team or, better, `family' that you become a member of at the KH Hotel... not just one or two.

We met half a dozen people - again, new friends now - who were repeat visitors to the KH Hotel. One couple from the USA were there were travelling with their daughter and `new' son-in-law... sharing the KH experience that they had, eleven years previously, shared with their own parents... it would have been inconceivable for them to stay anywhere else in Kerry, or, they said, to think of visiting Ireland without staying at KH.

Now, Dominique and I know exactly how they feel.

We can't wait to go back.

Do yourself a favour? Fall in love with Killarney and with the folks at the Killeen House Hotel. You'll never regret it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianMino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews