We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute getaway - Craig & Tara”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence
Ballymahon, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Last minute getaway - Craig & Tara”
Reviewed 5 May 2010

We decided to go away for the weekend and chose Killeen house , we stayed two nights and only wish we could have stayed longer it was like a home away from home , from the moment we arrived to when we left we were made to feel so welcome by all the staff , the Food was to die for weather it was a two course meal in the restaurant or just the bar food it was cooked to perfection. i would recommend Killeen house to everybody and we will most certinally be returning again .

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tara852000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    893
    46
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
205
397
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Stayed here on the back of trip advisor and t really is a home away from home, the staff were uber friendly and the owner personally went out of his way to introduce himself and make us feel welcome, we had breakfast at 11.30am, no questions asked, which is great as I typically miss breakfast due to being a late sleeper. Couldnt recommend this hotel enough. Big time hotel for golfers you can even use golf balls a legal tender as the owner collects gold balls for his bar wall.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavyDaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2010

Starting with the location, the manicured gardens,our reception,the bedroom,the atmosphere and finally dinner, it was nothing short of perfection.
We have stayed in hotels in many countries in Europe and this hotel beats them all. We have no hesitation whatsoever,in recommending the best little hotel we've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tenor81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2010

I cannot rave enough about this gem of a hotel. Settled in the picturesque Killarney countryside, Killeen House Hotel, is simply amazing. The hotel is extremely well presented with beautifully kept well manicured gardens, and freshly painted exterior. Inside, the hotel is modern and fresh with tasteful decor. Our room was a Championship room, complete with two double beds, flat screen tv, black out curtains, and a big deep bath (and a separate shower unit). The beds were extremely comfy, and the blackout curtains made for a very cosy great nights sleep.
The breakfasts were fantastic, fit for a king, with a marvellous choice and great portions. My husband simply loved the french toast with maple syrup and bacon, while my passion was for the gorgeous scrambled egg and salmon......and all this after great Irish porridge with pouring cream and brown sugar....even just thinking about these breakfasts now brings back happy memories. My two boys, one of 5 and one of 2, were treated soooo well! Nothing was ever a bother, and in fact everyone went out of their way to please the boys.
THis brings me to the last point....Michael, Geraldine and the rest of the staff! One word WOW! THey are amazing. They make the effort to know you personally by name, and to learn the childrens likes and dislikes.This is just like making new friends that honestly have your best interests at heart, nothing was too much for them, and the service was out of this world!
Don't Think, Dont look any further...JUST BOOK !!! What a find! A little piece of paradise in Killarney.
PS Check out the Tripadvisor reviews for the restaurant at the hotel - Rozzers.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBCnews24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2010

I've been having dinner at the Killeen House during annual trips to Killarney for the last 14 years, and I have to say it is the most consistently excellent place in Ireland. I look forward to my meals here all year long, which makes it my favorite restaurant in the world. Geraldine and Michael (the owners) are present and attend to every guest as they would to someone in their own home. They bring you menus in the bar, take your order there, and bring you to your table when your food is ready. You hardly want to leave the bar because in the bar you meet all the other guests who happen to be there at the same time. It's intimate, and the service is superior to all others around.

This year I was lucky enough to stay in the hotel for two nights for the first time. The room was luxurious with the perfect pillows, black-out curtains for daytime napping, flat screen tv, deep tub for a nice bath, and fluffy towels. Without prior warning, Geraldine arranged a coach & tickets for a day trip for my friend and I in the Gap of Dunloe all while we had breakfast.

This would be a wonderful place for a honeymoon, for friends who have rented a car and want to take day trips around the Kingdom of Kerry, and of course for the Killeen's usual groups of golfers.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrMKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2010

Could not recommend this wonderful hotel highly enough. Stayed here for two nights, but wished we could have stayed for more. We loved everything about this hotel - the welcome given to us by Michael and Geraldine (the owners), the fabulous food in Rozzers restaurant, the friendliness of all staff we came in contact with - all of this made our short stay a most enjoyable one. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Touser93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

A wonderful warm welcome. I stopped there on a whim, as it looked so lovely. I had a wonderful meal and a good night's sleep. There is a great little bar, where I had some nice chats with newly weds and locals. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TobiTobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghadoe
4.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,229 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,405 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#12 of 38 in Killarney
2,224 reviews
4.9 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,549 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant

Property: Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
Address: Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant is truly a special and charming place. Owned and personally managed by Michael and Geraldine Rosney since 1992, it enjoys an unrivalled reputation for the warm and uniquely Irish welcome it extends to all guests. Its location, just a 10 minute drive from Killarney Town Centre, makes it the ideal base for visitors wishing to explore the many magnificent attractions of the entire region, including the famed Ring of Kerry and Dingle Peninsula. Free car parking and and WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeen House Hotel Killarney
Killeen Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing