We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2010

My husband and I spent three weeks in Ireland, travelling all over the south. We loved the Killeen House Hotel for several reasons. The pub was great, a homey atmosphere with good company and good food. Michael and Geraldine do their best to make all guests feel at home and welcome. The room was beautiful and the setting was relaxing. Michael is great at recommending places to see and driving directions.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hchapinfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (985)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

767 - 773 of 985 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2010

Killeen House was recommended through on-line sites but...boy was I ever
disappointed. The only really good thing this place has going for it is the
scenery. Michael, the owner, was nice enough but we could immediately tell that he
much preferred spending time with his golfing-buddy guests. The staff was nice but
not outright friendly. Our group is fairly gregarious and got along great
everywhere else we stayed in Ireland, but was just didn't feel truly welcome in
Killeen House. Aghadoe is several minutes drive from Killarney. And, if you decide
to stay there, GET CLEAR DIRECTIONS!!! Also, if you plan to eat in Killeen House's
restaurant, be prepared to spend at least $50 per person for a two course meal.
(Just how good can it be? We got great food elsewhere for 1/4 the price.) And the
price for rooms...well, we paid a LOT for nice views and a decent breakfast but not
much else. Got the feeling that since Michael was president of some hotel/B&B
association...well, read into that what you will.

It's a nice enough place, but I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

We knew it was special when we checked in; Jessica's only question: What are your and your wife's first names? After unpacking our suitcases, we met our host, Michael, and his other guests in the cocktail room. His first order of priority was introducing us to each of his other guests, several of whom had been visiting for 20 years, offering helpful advice about Killarney and taking our orders for an absolute 5 star meal. By the time we had finished our sumptuous meal and enjoyed an after dinner drink in the lounge with our new-found friends,we had fallen in love with the place. The quaintness and warmth of Killeen House should not be missed; it is a must.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrea9167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

We decided to go away for the weekend and chose Killeen house , we stayed two nights and only wish we could have stayed longer it was like a home away from home , from the moment we arrived to when we left we were made to feel so welcome by all the staff , the Food was to die for weather it was a two course meal in the restaurant or just the bar food it was cooked to perfection. i would recommend Killeen house to everybody and we will most certinally be returning again .

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tara852000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Stayed here on the back of trip advisor and t really is a home away from home, the staff were uber friendly and the owner personally went out of his way to introduce himself and make us feel welcome, we had breakfast at 11.30am, no questions asked, which is great as I typically miss breakfast due to being a late sleeper. Couldnt recommend this hotel enough. Big time hotel for golfers you can even use golf balls a legal tender as the owner collects gold balls for his bar wall.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavyDaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2010

Starting with the location, the manicured gardens,our reception,the bedroom,the atmosphere and finally dinner, it was nothing short of perfection.
We have stayed in hotels in many countries in Europe and this hotel beats them all. We have no hesitation whatsoever,in recommending the best little hotel we've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tenor81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

I cannot rave enough about this gem of a hotel. Settled in the picturesque Killarney countryside, Killeen House Hotel, is simply amazing. The hotel is extremely well presented with beautifully kept well manicured gardens, and freshly painted exterior. Inside, the hotel is modern and fresh with tasteful decor. Our room was a Championship room, complete with two double beds, flat screen tv, black out curtains, and a big deep bath (and a separate shower unit). The beds were extremely comfy, and the blackout curtains made for a very cosy great nights sleep.
The breakfasts were fantastic, fit for a king, with a marvellous choice and great portions. My husband simply loved the french toast with maple syrup and bacon, while my passion was for the gorgeous scrambled egg and salmon......and all this after great Irish porridge with pouring cream and brown sugar....even just thinking about these breakfasts now brings back happy memories. My two boys, one of 5 and one of 2, were treated soooo well! Nothing was ever a bother, and in fact everyone went out of their way to please the boys.
THis brings me to the last point....Michael, Geraldine and the rest of the staff! One word WOW! THey are amazing. They make the effort to know you personally by name, and to learn the childrens likes and dislikes.This is just like making new friends that honestly have your best interests at heart, nothing was too much for them, and the service was out of this world!
Don't Think, Dont look any further...JUST BOOK !!! What a find! A little piece of paradise in Killarney.
PS Check out the Tripadvisor reviews for the restaurant at the hotel - Rozzers.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBCnews24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghadoe
4.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,357 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,447 reviews
0.8 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
4.9 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,589 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant

Address: Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range: £114 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant is truly a special and charming place. Owned and personally managed by Michael and Geraldine Rosney since 1992, it enjoys an unrivalled reputation for the warm and uniquely Irish welcome it extends to all guests. Its location, just a 10 minute drive from Killarney Town Centre, makes it the ideal base for visitors wishing to explore the many magnificent attractions of the entire region, including the famed Ring of Kerry and Dingle Peninsula. Free car parking and and WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeen House Hotel Killarney
Killeen Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing