We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect choice for the perfect holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2010

Stayed here in 2009 with the family. Had a great weekend in the magnificent Killeen House. Everything was perfect. The food, the pub, the rooms and of course the staff that looked after our every need. In fact one night we were so late getting back from the Ring of Kerry they re-opened the kitchen to make us dinner - at 11pm - wow i have never seen that in any hotel we have stayed in ! We will hopefully get back down this september for another weekend to Killarney and the only place we'll stay is the Killeen.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kelspool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (992)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

769 - 775 of 992 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2010

Our trip to Ireland had gone great in both Dublin and Cork, so we were really looking forward to staying in Killarney at Killeen House. We had read much about the place and everything we read made it sound like Heaven on earth and the owner the second coming of Jesus. But, alas, like most things so described, it was all too good to be true.

First off, it's not the easiest place to find. For one thing, it's not in Killarney; it's in Aghadoe, which is several minutes (three roundabouts, turn right at the orange? pub, turn right at the top of the hill, and you'll eventually see it) outside of Killarney. Anyway, we got into Killarney, found out Killeen House wasn't anywhere nearby and had to backtrack to Aghadoe. We called by cell phone to Killeen House to get precise directions and while talking with a nice, humorous lady (who I believe was Janet) were told several times that drinks (much needed by that time - it's a fairly long road from Cork) would be waiting for us at the door. Sure enough, when we arrived a crew was
waving at us from inside the door, but by the time we had quickly unloaded from our vehicles the door was closed, the crew was gone and no drinks were waiting for our thirsty throats. Thus began our disappointing stay at Killeen House.

The owner, Michael, eventually showed up again and after a quick how-do-you-do showed us to our rooms. He said he was "giving us our choice of rooms" but in reality he showed us to 5 rooms and let us split them among the group as we saw fit. (I and my husband had a fine view of the staff parking area and a wall.) Well, we got ourselves settled in and met in the tiny bar for a relaxing drink. We were told that someone would be with us soon to take our order - not Michael, he was too busy chatting up some golfers from behind the little bar - but after more 15 minutes of waiting (still not having seen hide-nor-hair of the proffered "drinks at the door") my husband had two canned beers left over from our previous stay in Cork so, since we didn't have a mini-fridge in the room to keep them cool, he asked for a couple of glasses and, after getting the evil eye from Michael who was still busy playing bartender with four now raucous golfers (to which Michael obviously preferred to cater) , my husband and his uncle drank their
beer while the rest of us waited for even a simple glass of water. We found out later that Michael considered this minor act of self-libation in the absence of wait-staff to be "brazen and rude" and he considered "telling them that this was unacceptable behavior in any sort of hotel in Ireland or elsewhere and asking them to leave" (leave the rest of
us?) "and take their drinks to their rooms." But he waited until after he'd gotten our room payment to say any of this, though, because as he said, "I didn't want to cause offense or create tension or embarrassment for everyone, and I didn't want to put a damper on their stay." I guess now that he had our money it was okay to put a damper on our stay.

The next issue we had was that Michael had made reservations for us (without our knowledge much less our consent) in the hotel's RAZZERS...RUSTERS...ROZZERS restaurant for the evening of our arrival. (Whatever you call it don't forget to capitalize all letters - must be some sort of trademark thing.) He was put off that we didn't honor this
un-asked for reservation and, instead, we ate in the bar (after eventually being waited on). Again, we only found out about Michael's dismay after we had paid our bill, with the added comment that he was frustrated we had "ignored" his reservation booking and "split salads and desserts" among ourselves, which just wasn't true. If anyone has
driven through Ireland, in addition to the beautiful scenery, you'll notice that there isn't any place to get a quick bite to eat while out on the road. Unlike the States, only the cities or towns have restaurants or pubs. (This, in my opinion, only adds further to the
extraordinary charm and beauty of Ireland.) So, on our trip from Cork to Killarney (and back again to Aghadoe) we didn't find a place to eat lunch until well past our normal noon dining hour, so when we arrived at Killeen House a couple of the women weren't hungry enough for another full meal, so they split a plate with their husbands. The rest of us (9 of us in all) had a full dinner from the bar menu. (Oh yeah, the two-course meal in the whatever-you-call-it restaurant is priced at approximately $50 per person - accounting for the exchange rate, and the price quickly skyrocketed for each increasing course option. Really, could the food have been THAT good! We had excellent food virtually everywhere else we ate and at far, far better prices.)

The next issue was that Michael accused us (again, he refrained from comment...until after we had paid up) of leaving "an array of used glasses and empty bottles of brought-in wine on the lounge coffee tables." This "red rag to bull country" was not left by any of our group, but even if it had been us...would we have been expected to bus
our own tables?!

The topper to this whole story is that when my husband commented about his disappointment in Killen House not having met his expectations Michael responded not by asking what could have been done to make our stay more enjoyable, rather, he called him a "small-minded and bad-minded slob". So, apparently, he was simply putting emphasis on his statement that "there are places for people and there are people for places and ours clearly was not the right type of place for your group."
Now, consider that Michael is the PRO (I hope that doesn't stand for Public Relations Officer) of the local hotels' federation. What did he do for us (and others in the federation) other than to harm the reputation of Killeen House and Killarney hoteliers in general?

It is regrettable that this situation arose. Other than Killeen House our entire group thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Ireland. Our multiple night stays in Dublin, Cork, and Galway were full of wonderful people and beautiful sights. The island is a treasure and I would not have missed visiting and experiencing the people (well, most of them) for the
world. Killeen House was by far the most expensive place we stayed, but it was not even close to being the best. We received better treatment, food, and far better hospitality at the other places we stayed. We, as a group, felt this way prior to leaving and discussed it while visiting Killarney, and our treatment after paying Michael (most of us in cash, no less) only solidified our feelings that he was interested only in getting us there, getting us in, getting our money, and getting us out, and not in providing comfort or kindness to us - his non-golfer, non-whatever-the restaurants-name-is eating guests. Anyone in our group would highly recommend any of the other places we stayed on our trip but, considering the treatment we received during our stay and
especially after paying...none would recommend Killeen House. (It's only saving grace was kind, helpful Janet - still waiting for the drink, though - and the scenery in which the hotel is set.)

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
44  Thank Rene62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

I stayed at the Killeen House Hotel for 2 nights and it was amazing. The hotel is beautiful with a well-kept garden and beautiful surroundings. It is quiet, peaceful, the atmosphere is friendly and the bedrooms are very nice and clean.
But the most important thing is the warm welcome you get from the owners Geraldine and Michael Rosney and their staff. No effort is too much in making their guests feel at home and comfortable. Anything you ask....consider it done.
On occasion they introduce guests to one another and so you meet other travellers as well and share stories. The breakfast and other food is very tasty and you have a wide choice.
As a guest, you can feel that Geraldine and Michael really love to do this and that's great.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Metallady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2010

I've been using Trip Advisor for years to get advice on travel, but never written any reviews. After staying at the Killeen House, I had to write a review, just to reinforce what everyone here had written here, as I really didn't believe the reviews when I first saw them.. I don't even really like B&B type places, but felt compelled by the reviews (thankfully). I came for the weekend with my wife and parents to see the Ring of Kerry and the Dingle Peninsula, and can honestly say I've never stayed anywhere with such incredible hospitality, to the extent that it made the entire trip worthwhile. Michael was on his own for the weekend with his wife away, but couldn't be friendlier and a better host. He knew our names from the second we arrived, took the time to truly get to know us and find out what we were interested in seeing while in Ireland. It was so sincere, that you actually believe it's just for you, but he did this with everyone, and amazingly balanced all of the guests, everyone who felt equally engaged with him and his staff. Truly incredible to see, and I am somewhat convinced the room could have been a cardboard box and we wouldn't have noticed.. of course they're not, and the hotel is perfectly comfortable and quaint. But the draw really is the hospitality, and it is absolutely worth going out of the way for. The great little pub becomes the hub of the hotel, and you could very easily spend hours in there.. The restaurant as well is fantastic, and having eaten at some of the best restaurants in the world, I can say it's one of the better, more unique meals you'll ever have. We ended up eating there both nights, because there was really no reason to leave.. Whether there with your wife, family, or friends to see the west coast of Ireland, or there with buddies to play golf (Michael will personally get you on some of the best courses), the Killeen House is worth going out of your way for... Michael will single handedly make your holiday.. My only hesitancy in writing a review is worrying that it will be full the next time we go back, because I can't wait.. thanks Michael..

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank x0mlevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2010

My husband and I spent three weeks in Ireland, travelling all over the south. We loved the Killeen House Hotel for several reasons. The pub was great, a homey atmosphere with good company and good food. Michael and Geraldine do their best to make all guests feel at home and welcome. The room was beautiful and the setting was relaxing. Michael is great at recommending places to see and driving directions.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hchapinfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2010

Killeen House was recommended through on-line sites but...boy was I ever
disappointed. The only really good thing this place has going for it is the
scenery. Michael, the owner, was nice enough but we could immediately tell that he
much preferred spending time with his golfing-buddy guests. The staff was nice but
not outright friendly. Our group is fairly gregarious and got along great
everywhere else we stayed in Ireland, but was just didn't feel truly welcome in
Killeen House. Aghadoe is several minutes drive from Killarney. And, if you decide
to stay there, GET CLEAR DIRECTIONS!!! Also, if you plan to eat in Killeen House's
restaurant, be prepared to spend at least $50 per person for a two course meal.
(Just how good can it be? We got great food elsewhere for 1/4 the price.) And the
price for rooms...well, we paid a LOT for nice views and a decent breakfast but not
much else. Got the feeling that since Michael was president of some hotel/B&B
association...well, read into that what you will.

It's a nice enough place, but I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

We knew it was special when we checked in; Jessica's only question: What are your and your wife's first names? After unpacking our suitcases, we met our host, Michael, and his other guests in the cocktail room. His first order of priority was introducing us to each of his other guests, several of whom had been visiting for 20 years, offering helpful advice about Killarney and taking our orders for an absolute 5 star meal. By the time we had finished our sumptuous meal and enjoyed an after dinner drink in the lounge with our new-found friends,we had fallen in love with the place. The quaintness and warmth of Killeen House should not be missed; it is a must.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrea9167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghadoe
3.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,457 reviews
0.8 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
4.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant

Address: Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range: £114 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant is truly a special and charming place. Owned and personally managed by Michael and Geraldine Rosney since 1992, it enjoys an unrivalled reputation for the warm and uniquely Irish welcome it extends to all guests. Its location, just a 10 minute drive from Killarney Town Centre, makes it the ideal base for visitors wishing to explore the many magnificent attractions of the entire region, including the famed Ring of Kerry and Dingle Peninsula. Free car parking and and WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeen House Hotel Killarney
Killeen Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing