We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay in this charming family run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Killeen House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay in this charming family run hotel”
Reviewed 7 June 2010

The owner Michael treated our group of four like royalty, while also making us feel as welcome as family. Would highly recommend Killeen House.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laffreely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    863
    42
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
189
386
23
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

A great place to stay. Super friendly staff, excellent restaurant for dinner and breakfast. Michael, the owner, is very concerned that his guests enjoy their stay. A small hotel with a tiny pub that gets very busy. They also teach you how to pour a Guinness if you like. Staff waited up for us one night to see if we wanted anything before bed. Check for specials. No downside.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bwdlinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2010

This hotel came highly recommended and ideal for golfers (which is what we are). Golfers or not ,every guest was treated with kindness, generosity and with great humour. The atmosphere was more like a house party than hotel.
Nowhere and I mean nowhere, have I been made to feel more welcome.
Cleanliness, rooms, bathrooms and food, absolutely spot on; would I recommend it , yes every time.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Commuter61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin,Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

My wife and I booked a two-day break in late May with some trepidation: you see, we don’t play golf, and their website makes it obvious that golf-based holidays are their speciality. Also, we had had wet weeks in Kerry before, so we hoped this would not be our fate this time.
We need not have worried on either score. This place - which we found fairly easily on the Aghadoe road, having printed the location map off the website - lives up to all the seemingly incredible rave reviews it gets here.. After a minor hiccup at the start when we were first offered a room with no view, which we rejected on the spot, we were then given a room that looked out on a view so ridiculously pretty that you’d suspect God had learned how to use Photoshop. Trees, an old church and a range of mountains that changed their appearance every few hours or sooner – you could look at it all day.
And the sun was shining all the time.
We had been prompted to book by the hotel’s midweek special offer of two nights’ B&B plus 1 dinner for €150 a head. We had heard the food was good, but it was exceptionally so, with the result that we decided to look no further to be fed the second night and enjoyed another superb meal in their “Rozzer’s” restaurant. Even with a good bottle of the house Merlot, this was great value for food of such quality.
“Rozzer’s” is derived from the hotel owners’ name: Michael and Geraldine Rosney are the definition of a dream team, a class act. Except that it’s not an act: this well-met pair – separately and together – made us feel as though we were long-lost friends, not mere paying guests, such is the warmth of their welcome. And remember, we don’t even play golf.
One minor improvement I’d suggest to them would be to have some leaflets or maps for walkers wishing to explore Killarney’s many trails: there are plenty of leaflets advertising guided walks, but some of us prefer to be independent. There was, of course, the internet available in the cosy lounge, where one could Google such information, but a few ready-made leaflets/maps would be nice. Michael was a font of knowledge on all the walks and did give us lots of suggestions – but our stay, alas, was too short to explore more than a few. So I suppose we’ll just have to go back.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EBDUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayzata, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

My wife and I met our daughter in Galway toward the end of May, then drove to Killarney for three nights in two rooms at Killeen House. Friends had recommended the place to us, but our stay surpassed our already-high expectations.

We had no trouble finding Killeen House -- we simply printed directions to the address from Google maps and drove right to it. We arrived at the end of the afternoon, and not eager to get back in the car for even a short trip to a place in town, we ate dinner at the Killeen House restaurant. The setting, service, and food were so good and enjoyable that, with apologies to all of Killarney’s other fine establishments, we ate at Killeen House the next two nights as well, and still had items on the menu that we wanted to try. The meal pricing, based on number of courses, seemed fine to us. Breakfast offered a wide range of choices, and was also delightfully served.

Michael, Geraldine, and daughter Michelle were lovely and fun hosts. In our bed and breakfast experience, we expect to need to look after ourselves in many respects, but here our hosts and staff were always attentive and ready to help with any questions about our stay or about the Killarney area. The rooms were more than fine, but not of much importance to us as we were in them only to sleep; the wonderful Irish countryside, and the views of the high hills and the pastures around Killeen House, kept us away.

We are hikers and not golfers, and found our way to hikes in our own car and for one day accepted Geraldine’s suggestion to reserve for us a combination taxi ride, hike across the gap of Dunloe, and boat ride, all of which worked well and which were covered in one payment directly to the driver. An unexpected highlight of our stay, though, was Gavin, a young man and relative newcomer to the staff who checked us in and provided terrific service and entertainment thereafter. Our daily ritual quickly included a pint or two poured by Gavin after our return from our exertions, which we drank outside in the lovely setting of the inn.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markenge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

Stayed here in 2009 with the family. Had a great weekend in the magnificent Killeen House. Everything was perfect. The food, the pub, the rooms and of course the staff that looked after our every need. In fact one night we were so late getting back from the Ring of Kerry they re-opened the kitchen to make us dinner - at 11pm - wow i have never seen that in any hotel we have stayed in ! We will hopefully get back down this september for another weekend to Killarney and the only place we'll stay is the Killeen.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelspool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Our trip to Ireland had gone great in both Dublin and Cork, so we were really looking forward to staying in Killarney at Killeen House. We had read much about the place and everything we read made it sound like Heaven on earth and the owner the second coming of Jesus. But, alas, like most things so described, it was all too good to be true.

First off, it's not the easiest place to find. For one thing, it's not in Killarney; it's in Aghadoe, which is several minutes (three roundabouts, turn right at the orange? pub, turn right at the top of the hill, and you'll eventually see it) outside of Killarney. Anyway, we got into Killarney, found out Killeen House wasn't anywhere nearby and had to backtrack to Aghadoe. We called by cell phone to Killeen House to get precise directions and while talking with a nice, humorous lady (who I believe was Janet) were told several times that drinks (much needed by that time - it's a fairly long road from Cork) would be waiting for us at the door. Sure enough, when we arrived a crew was
waving at us from inside the door, but by the time we had quickly unloaded from our vehicles the door was closed, the crew was gone and no drinks were waiting for our thirsty throats. Thus began our disappointing stay at Killeen House.

The owner, Michael, eventually showed up again and after a quick how-do-you-do showed us to our rooms. He said he was "giving us our choice of rooms" but in reality he showed us to 5 rooms and let us split them among the group as we saw fit. (I and my husband had a fine view of the staff parking area and a wall.) Well, we got ourselves settled in and met in the tiny bar for a relaxing drink. We were told that someone would be with us soon to take our order - not Michael, he was too busy chatting up some golfers from behind the little bar - but after more 15 minutes of waiting (still not having seen hide-nor-hair of the proffered "drinks at the door") my husband had two canned beers left over from our previous stay in Cork so, since we didn't have a mini-fridge in the room to keep them cool, he asked for a couple of glasses and, after getting the evil eye from Michael who was still busy playing bartender with four now raucous golfers (to which Michael obviously preferred to cater) , my husband and his uncle drank their
beer while the rest of us waited for even a simple glass of water. We found out later that Michael considered this minor act of self-libation in the absence of wait-staff to be "brazen and rude" and he considered "telling them that this was unacceptable behavior in any sort of hotel in Ireland or elsewhere and asking them to leave" (leave the rest of
us?) "and take their drinks to their rooms." But he waited until after he'd gotten our room payment to say any of this, though, because as he said, "I didn't want to cause offense or create tension or embarrassment for everyone, and I didn't want to put a damper on their stay." I guess now that he had our money it was okay to put a damper on our stay.

The next issue we had was that Michael had made reservations for us (without our knowledge much less our consent) in the hotel's RAZZERS...RUSTERS...ROZZERS restaurant for the evening of our arrival. (Whatever you call it don't forget to capitalize all letters - must be some sort of trademark thing.) He was put off that we didn't honor this
un-asked for reservation and, instead, we ate in the bar (after eventually being waited on). Again, we only found out about Michael's dismay after we had paid our bill, with the added comment that he was frustrated we had "ignored" his reservation booking and "split salads and desserts" among ourselves, which just wasn't true. If anyone has
driven through Ireland, in addition to the beautiful scenery, you'll notice that there isn't any place to get a quick bite to eat while out on the road. Unlike the States, only the cities or towns have restaurants or pubs. (This, in my opinion, only adds further to the
extraordinary charm and beauty of Ireland.) So, on our trip from Cork to Killarney (and back again to Aghadoe) we didn't find a place to eat lunch until well past our normal noon dining hour, so when we arrived at Killeen House a couple of the women weren't hungry enough for another full meal, so they split a plate with their husbands. The rest of us (9 of us in all) had a full dinner from the bar menu. (Oh yeah, the two-course meal in the whatever-you-call-it restaurant is priced at approximately $50 per person - accounting for the exchange rate, and the price quickly skyrocketed for each increasing course option. Really, could the food have been THAT good! We had excellent food virtually everywhere else we ate and at far, far better prices.)

The next issue was that Michael accused us (again, he refrained from comment...until after we had paid up) of leaving "an array of used glasses and empty bottles of brought-in wine on the lounge coffee tables." This "red rag to bull country" was not left by any of our group, but even if it had been us...would we have been expected to bus
our own tables?!

The topper to this whole story is that when my husband commented about his disappointment in Killen House not having met his expectations Michael responded not by asking what could have been done to make our stay more enjoyable, rather, he called him a "small-minded and bad-minded slob". So, apparently, he was simply putting emphasis on his statement that "there are places for people and there are people for places and ours clearly was not the right type of place for your group."
Now, consider that Michael is the PRO (I hope that doesn't stand for Public Relations Officer) of the local hotels' federation. What did he do for us (and others in the federation) other than to harm the reputation of Killeen House and Killarney hoteliers in general?

It is regrettable that this situation arose. Other than Killeen House our entire group thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Ireland. Our multiple night stays in Dublin, Cork, and Galway were full of wonderful people and beautiful sights. The island is a treasure and I would not have missed visiting and experiencing the people (well, most of them) for the
world. Killeen House was by far the most expensive place we stayed, but it was not even close to being the best. We received better treatment, food, and far better hospitality at the other places we stayed. We, as a group, felt this way prior to leaving and discussed it while visiting Killarney, and our treatment after paying Michael (most of us in cash, no less) only solidified our feelings that he was interested only in getting us there, getting us in, getting our money, and getting us out, and not in providing comfort or kindness to us - his non-golfer, non-whatever-the restaurants-name-is eating guests. Anyone in our group would highly recommend any of the other places we stayed on our trip but, considering the treatment we received during our stay and
especially after paying...none would recommend Killeen House. (It's only saving grace was kind, helpful Janet - still waiting for the drink, though - and the scenery in which the hotel is set.)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
42 Thank Rene62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghadoe
0.8 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
3.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,128 reviews
4.9 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killeen House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killeen House Hotel

Property: Killeen House Hotel
Address: Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Killeen House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant is truly a special and charming place. Owned and personally managed by Michael and Geraldine Rosney since 1992, it enjoys an unrivalled reputation for the warm and uniquely Irish welcome it extends to all guests. Its location, just a 10 minute drive from Killarney, makes it the ideal base for visitors wishing to explore the many magnificent attractions of the entire region, including the famed Ring of Kerry and Dingle Peninsulas. Free car parking and WiFi throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Killeen House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeen House Hotel Killarney
Killeen Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing