We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place we stayed in Ireland!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Killeen House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
“Best place we stayed in Ireland!”
Reviewed 11 June 2010

I booked the Killeen House based on the reviews on trip advisor, and I was amazed that it not only lived up to the hype, but exceeded my expectations! We stayed in three different hotels/B&Bs during our trip to Ireland, and Killeen House was by far our favorite. Although I didn't even have an address for the place when we got to Killarney, I simply stopped at a gas station and asked for directions. I actually thought it was pretty easy to find and loved that it was a little outside of town. The scenery around Killeen House is gorgeous! We had dinner in the restaurant the first night we arrived, and it ended up being one of our favorite meals. It wasn't cheap, but definitely worth it! We ate next to a cozy fireplace and after a couple glasses of wine, we merely had to walk upstairs to our room. It was so relaxing! Mike and Geraldine and the rest of the staff were unbelievably helpful. After our two nights stay, we felt like welcome friends. I have been fortunate enough to stay in quite a few fancy hotels over the years, and I thought the Killeen House rivaled them all in cleanliness and service but still maintained the comfort and quiet we wanted out of a B&B. If you are looking for somewhere to stay that is remotely near Killarney, this should be the place. Thank you Killeen House for your hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BVok23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    863
    42
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
189
386
23
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

We felt as though they had known us for years throughout our three day stay. The friendly, understated warmth and congeniality was exceptional. Gavin, the new bartender, bellman, etc. was so charming, fun, helpful, and Irish. The restaurant was equally as charming and quaint, but had terrific menu items for both breakfast and dinner. The chef prepared exceptional dishes and you should go there even if you don't stay at the Killeen House. The two owners made sure that we felt welcome and exuded sincerity.

The grounds are lovely and the gazebo is a terrific place for a before or after dinner drink. Our room was warm and had all of the amenities of more upscale hotels we stayed in. This is the hotel to be in, in the Kilarney area. If you want to get a feel for the Irish experience, this is it.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCochrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2010

The food is delicious from the Chateaubriand to the porridge. Geraldine and Michael are the owners and hosts. They provide a warm atmosphere where your every need is met. They greeted upon arrival and gave us a warm personal send off. Their daughter, Michelle, was our server during the evening and added to our enjoyment with her sparkling personality. If you are looking for a warm, cozy inn with gourmet food breakfast and dinner, Killeen House is the place to go. The rooms are spacious with all the accompaniments. This was our second visit and we plan a third.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marilynkrenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2010

The owner Michael treated our group of four like royalty, while also making us feel as welcome as family. Would highly recommend Killeen House.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laffreely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

A great place to stay. Super friendly staff, excellent restaurant for dinner and breakfast. Michael, the owner, is very concerned that his guests enjoy their stay. A small hotel with a tiny pub that gets very busy. They also teach you how to pour a Guinness if you like. Staff waited up for us one night to see if we wanted anything before bed. Check for specials. No downside.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bwdlinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2010

This hotel came highly recommended and ideal for golfers (which is what we are). Golfers or not ,every guest was treated with kindness, generosity and with great humour. The atmosphere was more like a house party than hotel.
Nowhere and I mean nowhere, have I been made to feel more welcome.
Cleanliness, rooms, bathrooms and food, absolutely spot on; would I recommend it , yes every time.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Commuter61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin,Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

My wife and I booked a two-day break in late May with some trepidation: you see, we don’t play golf, and their website makes it obvious that golf-based holidays are their speciality. Also, we had had wet weeks in Kerry before, so we hoped this would not be our fate this time.
We need not have worried on either score. This place - which we found fairly easily on the Aghadoe road, having printed the location map off the website - lives up to all the seemingly incredible rave reviews it gets here.. After a minor hiccup at the start when we were first offered a room with no view, which we rejected on the spot, we were then given a room that looked out on a view so ridiculously pretty that you’d suspect God had learned how to use Photoshop. Trees, an old church and a range of mountains that changed their appearance every few hours or sooner – you could look at it all day.
And the sun was shining all the time.
We had been prompted to book by the hotel’s midweek special offer of two nights’ B&B plus 1 dinner for €150 a head. We had heard the food was good, but it was exceptionally so, with the result that we decided to look no further to be fed the second night and enjoyed another superb meal in their “Rozzer’s” restaurant. Even with a good bottle of the house Merlot, this was great value for food of such quality.
“Rozzer’s” is derived from the hotel owners’ name: Michael and Geraldine Rosney are the definition of a dream team, a class act. Except that it’s not an act: this well-met pair – separately and together – made us feel as though we were long-lost friends, not mere paying guests, such is the warmth of their welcome. And remember, we don’t even play golf.
One minor improvement I’d suggest to them would be to have some leaflets or maps for walkers wishing to explore Killarney’s many trails: there are plenty of leaflets advertising guided walks, but some of us prefer to be independent. There was, of course, the internet available in the cosy lounge, where one could Google such information, but a few ready-made leaflets/maps would be nice. Michael was a font of knowledge on all the walks and did give us lots of suggestions – but our stay, alas, was too short to explore more than a few. So I suppose we’ll just have to go back.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EBDUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghadoe
0.8 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
3.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,128 reviews
4.9 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killeen House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killeen House Hotel

Property: Killeen House Hotel
Address: Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Killeen House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant is truly a special and charming place. Owned and personally managed by Michael and Geraldine Rosney since 1992, it enjoys an unrivalled reputation for the warm and uniquely Irish welcome it extends to all guests. Its location, just a 10 minute drive from Killarney, makes it the ideal base for visitors wishing to explore the many magnificent attractions of the entire region, including the famed Ring of Kerry and Dingle Peninsulas. Free car parking and WiFi throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Killeen House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeen House Hotel Killarney
Killeen Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing