We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcomed as guests and left as friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Our trip to Ireland was much too short, but undoubtedly some of our best memories of Ireland will be of the Killeen House in Killarney. Michael and Geraldine provide all of the basics such as comfortable, pretty rooms, gourmet food in a lovely dining room setting overlooking flower gardens, and a bar where the local brew flowed easily. But the warmth and friendship of our hosts was definitely what people will return for and what Ireland is known for. We look forward to our next trip and we certainly hope that it will include a stay at the Killeen House again.
The location is a little out of the way but if you are driving, there is free parking.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryellen115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
There are newer reviews for Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

726 - 732 of 964 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2010

We were travelling group including my wife, two adult childen, may daughter-in-law and a four year old. The hosts Mike and Geraldine, run a wonderful facility. Sited on a quiet country lane it is just minutes from Killarney. The house itself is in top physical condition. From the exterior, it has the appearance of a well kept charming 19th century manor. The grounds while compact are immaculately maintained. The interior retains all the original charm while having all modern upgrades. The rooms were spotless and well appointed. The common areas consisted of a very cozy "parlor" reception area; a great little golf-themed pub and more formal dining rooms. The bricks and mortar are quite fine in every respect. The treat is the proprietors, the aforementioned Geraldine and Mike. As I told my wife weeks later back in the States, we enterd as guests and left as friends. They, both as a couple and as individuals are warm, most attentive; highly competent professionals who clearly enjoy their chosen field. They are delightful. Our stay included a dinner. The food was very well prepared and served. Mike was always ready with a detailed reccomendation for a day's outing in Kerry. Geraldine and Mike were both quite proud of Ireland, its history and its people. If I have the good fortune to get back to Ireland a stay at the Killeen is not even a question in my mind. Enjoy !

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpryan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

I had the privilege of staying at the Killeen House on a prior trip. During that stay I called my wife to tell her that if my mother ever decided to take our family to Ireland this was the place to stay. Michael and Geraldine more than lived up to that! Their hospitality is second to none. So much so that my Mother talks often of going back to see Michael and Gerladine!! Whenever I hear someone talk about going to Ireland I tell them they must go to the Killeen House. No one has ever come back with out a wonderful experience to share!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KFlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

We had a wonderful time at Killeen House. The Inn Keepers and staff went above and beyond to ensure we had everything we needed and even helped us change our plans so we could stay an extra day. If you have any interest in golf your stay will be even more fun. Quiet but conveniently located. The restaurant was special and the food was great. We experienced great hospitality during our entire trip to Ireland but Killeen House was exceptional. We will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florida422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights over the June holiday weekend. The owners Michael & Geraldine and their staff made us feel at home from the moment we arrived.
This is a very pleasant friendly family run hotel in a beautiful part of Ireland. However
the best part is the restaurant in Killen house with some of the nicest food my wife
and I have enjoyed in any hotel.
I would recommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greene63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

The hotel is a shining example to others in its class. Its not an Intercontinental, nor does it set out to be as another reviewer seems to think. It does have a golf theme and a lot of golfers stay there. We were treated with consideration and courtesy. Mike went out of his way to enshure we got the best out of the Ring of Kerry . The restauraunt was excellent by any standard, of course you pay for that. Everything worked well noteably the shower which is not always the case outside of an upmarket chain. We only stayed one night but look foward to returning.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Killeen House Hotel and Michael and Geraldine Rosnay (the owners) were some of the highlights of our stay in Ireland. It was the least expensive hotel in which we stayed but it was the best in terms of hospitality and food. The hotel restaurant serves truly excellent breakfasts and dinners with wine prices that are reasonable. Michael gave us accurate and comprehensive travel advice before and during our stay and was a font of useful information about all of Ireland. He and Geraldine were delightful hosts and we are looking forward to a return visit as soon as possible. This is not a 5* establishment and anyone expecting that may be disappointed (nor does it charge 5* rates.) But it is a very restful country inn with exceptionally warm and helpful staff, comfortable but not luxurious rooms, and an excellent location for touring SW Ireland. We are not golfers but nonetheless were made very welcome and attentatively cared for. Had we been golfers, I imagine this would have been heaven-on-earth as the inn is in the midst of several of the best courses in Ireland. In sum, I recommed this inn to anyone who wants a true Irish experience, genuinely warm hosts and some of the best food anywhere.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hawkridge_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghadoe
4.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,298 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,426 reviews
0.8 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
4.9 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#16 of 38 in Killarney
1,568 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant

Address: Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range: £129 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant is truly a special and charming place. Owned and personally managed by Michael and Geraldine Rosney since 1992, it enjoys an unrivalled reputation for the warm and uniquely Irish welcome it extends to all guests. Its location, just a 10 minute drive from Killarney Town Centre, makes it the ideal base for visitors wishing to explore the many magnificent attractions of the entire region, including the famed Ring of Kerry and Dingle Peninsula. Free car parking and and WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeen House Hotel Killarney
Killeen Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing