We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newnan Square”
Review of Downtown Newnan

Downtown Newnan
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Newnan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: There are few places in the United States that have retained their link to the past as Coweta County and Newnan, Georgia have. From the settlement of the town in 1828 to the new millennium, Newnan has kept the heart of Coweta beating with a firm grasp on its rich and colorful history, while looking forward and embracing the future.
Sharpsburg
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Newnan Square”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Many interesting shops and restaurants and one place for entertainment (Alamo Jacks). Restaurants include Redneck, Golden's and 10 East Washington. Shops include men's and women's wear. I have lived near Newnan for about 20 years and I always take visiting guests to the square.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dewitt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    66
    14
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Newnan, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not Born Here, But Got Here as Fast as I Could”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

As a 35 year resident of Newnan (raised in Chicago), I am proud of my adopted hometown. While Newnan is no longer small, it still has a small town feel. The city fathers and residents figured out about 20 years ago that small towns have to grow or die. They attracted businesses, and the traffic, darn it, while managing to keep a balance between the our proud heritage of a Civil War hospital town and the modern. When I first moved to Newnan, the square rolled up the sidewalks at dusk, and after noon on Wednesday's. The square was pretty dead then. I do miss Kessler's Dept. Store (now Golden's), the pawn shop, Johnson's Hardware (now the Piedmont fitness center), and especially Mansour's and seeing movies at the Alamo. All of these buildings have been saved and re-purposed, and the square comes alive after dark. The courthouse, our crown jewel, has been refurbished to it's original turn of the 20th century state, and is well worth seeing. It compares well to any county seat in the South. People will wave to you on the country roads, and will say hello on the street. That takes some getting used to and I miss it when I travel. There is nearly always some special event going on the weekends. The square is a great place to spend a Saturday afternoon browsing and and eating. It is vibrant after dark as well.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank joe85148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte NC
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Personality and charm”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We happened to stay in Newnan overnight and decided to travel downtown. The restaurants and art galleries were open until 9 PM as it was the art walk. Each gallery offered beverages and snacks as patrons roamed in and out. Many people were out that Friday evening enjoying the shops and restaurants. The town hall is an exquisite building and the town has an interesting history. Loved gazing at the older homes.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 82Natalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rising Fawn, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Historic”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Very well maintained town with beautiful homes. Family atmosphere in the local restaurants. Be sure and tour the courthouse. recently restored to its original décor.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawg099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newnan, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Truly a Home Town”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Downtown Newnan, a small town resembling various other small towns around the country with a local coffee shop, general store, and a bar, but this place is special due to the sense of community present here. Sure, the coffee shop, Espresso Lane, is homy with it's small concerts, wide varieties of tea, and friendly staff, the general store continues to offer the same quality it has for decades, and the bar, The Almo, offers an escape from the stresses of life, but it's the nice people in the Redneck Gourmet that know your order, the small business saturdays, and the people in this town that all come to offer their respects to a friendly soul that wandered the streets of this town at a funeral that make this town great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank asteele288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Downtown Newnan also viewed

 

Been to Downtown Newnan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing