We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great ribs”
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #19 of 51 Restaurants in Perry
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Reviewed 22 March 2014

great ribs but salad bar for price was not worth it. Chicken was great also. Not a fan of cold slaw

Rachelle was our waitress and was great. Help support her through medical school
We were in town for a FMCA rally and I am sure they got lots of money from all of us.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Judith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Judith E, thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our ribs and chicken. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

We enjoued the fact that there was no wait the staff was freindly and the service was great. This was our first time at Sonny's and we truly enjoyed the food. We will return to a Sonny's when we are in an area where they are located. Great Job and food!

Thank mjrdnx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Mjrdnx, thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our friendly service and BBQ. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again whenever you're in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stopped at the Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q on our way home from Florida. We decided to share a meal. We had the pulled pork bar-b-q plate and it filled both of us. Meat was good, beans were too sweet, but coleslaw was delicious. Lunch was good!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank McMullenLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

McMullenLarry, thank you for the great review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our pulled pork meal with baked beans and coleslaw. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you and your wife again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Just awful. Ribs were so overcooked they wouldn't come off the bone, macaroni tasted like it had been sitting for hours. I think the Cook only knew one temperature: well, well done (also known as burnt). We won't be going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank momof2inga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Momof2inga, thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're sorry to hear that your rib order was not up to expectations. Let us help! Please email us at Social@SonnysBBQ.com with further details about your visit, including the location, so that we can address the issues you have encountered. We would greatly appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Same Sonny's food as you get anywhere you go to get Sonny's BBQ. Salad Bar slightly smaller selection fresh veggies, somewhat larger selection of prepared salads. Other items done well, service good, Beer Cold

Thank DaSarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing