We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the middle of things.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pine Mountain
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Franklin Delano Roosevelt State Park
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This is a small but well kept campground close to Callaway Gardens, Warm Springs and the Animal Safari. The Bathhouses are small, but clean. The trails and surrounding hiking paths make this a great outdoor getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

This is a great park for families and groups. Nice hiking trails of varying lengths, super clean and comfortable cabins -nice porches with rocking chairs. Great price in March (45% off). Wish park office was open later in the day for better access to boat rentals, etc.

Room Tip: rented cabins 15 and 16 on the lake - lovely setting, great porches, access to hiking trails.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kp706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Our family visited the area with our son, who was on leave for Family Weekend from Fort Benning. After not seeing him for eleven weeks (and only 3 min. of phone calls) during basic training, it was the perfect place to spend several days together. He had to stay within 50 miles of Fort Benning - we MapQuested our cabin and it and it was 39.1 miles away. The cabin was cozy and clean. The bathroom was well stocked with towels and the full kitchen had most all cooking and baking needs. We've stayed in various cabins throughout the US and most kitchens have very basic cooking items. The only thing we bought was a large aluminum baking pan. The front porch and view were the best! We enjoyed our mornings and evenings outside on the porch or using the fire ring. We enjoyed the various walking trails, and the state park office.

We were very satisfied with our cabin and the surrounding area. There are good restaurants in Pine Mountain, if you don't want to cook.

If you are planning on buying groceries in the area, know that Pine Mountain has one grocery store, which is absolutely nasty and extremely expensive. If it weren't the only grocery store in the area, I would have immediately walked out. The smell was overwhelming. I only bought what I couldn't get at Family Dollar, which was very nice. The next day, we went to a town about 30 minutes south to buy more groceries.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ambr2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We camped here Fathers Day weekend. This is a beautiful park. It is in the foothills of the mountains. Be sure to get up early one morning, take your cup of coffee and sit behind the registration office and watch the sun rise over the beautiful view.

The campgrounds are very tidy. Not many big rig sites. We camped here in a 25 foot travel trailer and a 30 foot fifth wheel. Most all the sites were shady. They have a grill/fire pit combo. There is a park host. Most of the sites are level. They are not paved sites. There is a large, paved handicapp site near a bathhouse.

We camped on sites 215 & 216. This was a big combo site for people camping together. It was in the middle of two bath-houses. The playground was directly across from us. We could sit and watch our kids play from our campsite.

There are several different campground areas. Campground 5 has a bathhouse and a playground. Campground five is away from the rest of the camping areas.

There are some very nice cottages and cabins for rent. Some of these are right on the lake.

The lake is about 12 acres. No swimming allowed, but they do have boats available for rent.

The park has a swimming pool and horseback riding.

On Friday night, they do a twilight walk. We really enjoyed this and learned many things about the night creatures.
Saturday morning, they had a reptile show.
Sunday morning they offer campground church, and then at the registration office the kids got to make "tree cookies."
All the park people were very nice and helpful.

Other events are offered through the year. Also, the Little White House in Warm Springs is actually still in the park.
The campground is located just a very short distance from the little, quaint town of Pine Mountain.

We loved our camping trip here. The only con would be, they do not have sewer. But the bathhouses are very clean.
The weather was surprisingly pleasant. We would love to come spend a week here in the fall when the leaves are changing colors.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank DeliBwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I've really enjoyed my families 4 night stay at FDR State Park. We primarily camped, with daily visits into Pine Mountain, and Warm Springs. I found our experience here to be very relaxing, and peaceful. I enjoyed the all the trees, and the cover they provided from the hot summer sun.

The camping ground is extremely tidy here, and the facilities ( bathroom, showers, etc.) were spotless. We had no trouble navigating around the roads pulling a 30 foot, 5th wheel.

The large lake is in view of many sites, and easily within walking distance ( 2 minutes walk ). I really enjoyed all the things you can do nearby the park. Nice restaurants in the nearby towns, shopping, and museums.

I would camp here anytime, fantastic experience in a beautiful, peaceful environment. If there is a con, that would be no sewer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BigUncleChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We had a great trip recently to FD Roosevelt State Park. The park is very nice and convenient for camping. We camped in the fall at site 501 and at site 222 this spring. The bath house in the 200's section has been updated much more recently than in the 500's section. We had a lot of fun fishing in the lake (even though we didn't catch anything). The boat rentals are also fun and very reasonable. Overall, this is a very affordable way to take a family vacation. The site we stayed at had a concrete picnic table, and fire pit with built in grill. The park has several easy beginners trails that our kids enjoyed. It is also very close to Callaway Gardens and the Little White House. The park rangers were very accommodating even though we had a few issues getting checked in.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CottonDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We've been to a number of Georgia's State Parks, but this was our first time visiting this one. We camped for a weekend (pop-up camper van) and really enjoyed it. All of the standard sites (not backcountry ones) have electricity and water, and many are large enough for large trailers or RV's. Although many of the campsites are not as private as I prefer, there are a number of sites that are right on the park's beautiful lake, which made for beautiful scenery. The comfort station for the campsites near the lake, however, is a bit more of a walk than at many other campsites we have stayed at. Comfort station was functional but not the cleanest I've seen! My 7 year-old son particularly enjoyed that there was plenty of area for biking around the campground, most of which was relatively flat--he spent a lot of time biking! All-in-all, not my favorite campground we have been to, but it is very pretty and we will definitely return.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Erica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pine Mountain
3.0 mi away
Mountain Top Inn and Resort
Mountain Top Inn and Resort
#1 of 2 in Warm Springs
229 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Resort & Gardens
2.2 mi away
Callaway Gardens
Callaway Gardens
#2 of 5 in Pine Mountain
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Valley Inn Resort
Valley Inn Resort
#4 of 5 in Pine Mountain
34 reviews
2.7 mi away
White Columns Motel
White Columns Motel
#3 of 5 in Pine Mountain
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franklin Delano Roosevelt State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franklin Delano Roosevelt State Park

Address: 2970 Ga Highway 354, Pine Mountain, GA 31822-8166
Region: United States > Georgia > Pine Mountain
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Pine Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing