We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Resort & Gardens
Nearby Hotels
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garden Inn & Suites(Pine Mountain)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valley Inn & RV Park(Pine Mountain)(Great Value!)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Columns Motel(Pine Mountain)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain Top Inn and Resort(Warm Springs)(Great Value!)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(LaGrange)
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (686)
Filter reviews
686 results
Traveller rating
315
224
91
36
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
315
224
91
36
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsironwood loungewalk in showerbreakfast buffetseparate showerfourth floorsoaking tubbody washhotel restaurantbeautiful propertyget awayomeletsteam roomsmall balconyshrimp and gritsgreat weekendfantasy in lightsup to date
Filter
Updating list...
590 - 595 of 686 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2012

I already loved Callaway Gardens when we stayed here, but this was beyond all expectations. We stayed during the annual half-marathon/marathon at the resort, and we were super impressed with the quality of everything at the resort. The rooms were clean with comfortable beds, and the food in the lodge was delish! While I wished we'd had time for a massage at the spa, we did enjoy the wonderful smells that emitted up the stairs every time we walked by.

I've been to Callaway no less than a dozen times but have always chose to stay at the other older resort, largely due to cost differences. However, we got a deal on this room, and at only $50 more a night, it was well worth the difference.

When we arrived, we were greeted by the staff and offered lemonade, tea, and/or water and cookies. After checking in, we walked around the property and were super impressed with the pool area. Even though it was January, we dipped our toes in and found, much to our delight, that the pool was bathwater warm. The hot tubs all were made private with stone walls around them. We had to attend to some race stuff, but that night, we snuck out to the hot tub and enjoyed the quiet. I'm not sure we were supposed to be there, as there weren't any lights on except for in the pool, but the water was still amazing and we enjoyed our swim.

We ate that night in the bar, enjoying some drinks and a huge order of nachos. It seemed busy, but they got us right in. There were lots of other people, but our waitress was still attentive and we were extremely satisfied with our service.

In addition, the room was amazing, well above what I expected for the price we paid. The beds were incredibly soft, and we had both a true bathtub and a shower closet, which were each equally fabulous. The little details like the shampoos and conditioners from the spa even boost the standards of the room more, and we had a nice little balcony with a view that made our room feel very private.

I don't really have any complaints about this hotel except that we didn't get to stay longer than two nights. It's a great resort, and I can't wait to return again. Callaway is beautiful, and I'd visit even if I stayed in the other resort, but the lodge just makes the whole park even more of a paradise.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dswan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodgeatCallaway, Director of Sales at The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Resort & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

Dear Dswan81,

All I can say is WOW! You are entirely too king. It was a pleasure learning of your recent stay with us at The Lodge & Spa at Callaway Gardens, Autograph Collection. Thank you for your business and taking the time to give feedback. You took some amazing pictures and I will surely be going to get Chef Dan's famous banana bread pudding now that I saw that shot. We are delighted you enjoyed yourself and you must come back to experience Spa Prunifolia. It is refreshing to hear you made use of our heated saline pool and whirlpools. They are a fun little secret in the winter time for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you again!

Warm Regards,

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We had the privilege of staying at the Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens in Pine Mountain, Georgia on December 5, 2012. The Marriot group has certainly done a superb job with this hotel. The staff was very welcoming and accommodating. It is definitely worth the stay.

Room Tip: Just enjoy the view and the surroundings!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodgeatCallaway, Director of Sales at The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Resort & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

Dear Ron P,

First and foremost, Happy Holidays! Secondly, it was a pleasure to hear about your recent stay with us at The Lodge & Spa at Callaway Gardens, Autograph Collection. Thank you for your business and your feedback. We are very proud of our Autograph Collection by Marriott affiliation and glad you mentioned. The great part is that guests enjoy Rewards Points while staying at a hotel that is very unique and different from the Marriott's they are used to. I will surely pass your kind comments to the staff since they work very hard to ensure our guests are taken care of. Thank you again and we hope to see you back in the spring.

Warm Regards,

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We decided to have a get away weekend with some friends of ours using Marriott points. We chose The Lodge & Spa because it was half way between our two locations. We are glad we chose this hotel.

The staff was very friendly. From the check in to the restaurant & bar staff everyone treated you like a friend. The rooms were decorated very nicely with a lot of amenities in each room. We had 2 breakfasts in the restaurant & dinner in the bar/restaurant. the food was very good in all 3 instances. The bar prices for drinks are reasonable as well.

I would highly recommend the hotel for couples or families.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodgeatCallaway, Director of Sales at The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Resort & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Dear elian1,

It was a pleasure learning of your recent stay at The Lodge & Spa at Callaway Gardens, Autograph Collection. Thank you for your business and feedback. We are so pleased you were able to enjoy the culinary delights of Executive Chef Dan. During your next visit, do not miss a treatment in our Spa Prunifolia. We look forward to you returning and thank you again for your support. I will be sure to thank the staff for their friendly service standards.

Warm Regards,

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

After making our reservations I talked to manager Evonne and mentioned it was our 40'th anniversary. She upgraded us to a great suite along with a bottle of wine and truffles. By the way, this was on a point stay so the resort wasn't making the income they normally would.

We ate at the restaurant one night and the food was great and the menu had lots of choices. The waitress said if we ate there again our desert would be comped, but we never made it back.

We did check out a day sooner than we had reservations for and Evonne was gracious enough to call Marriott Rewards to see if we could be refunded some of our points.

While there we visited the Festival of Lights which is really worth going to see.

Now that I read that the pool is saltwater I wish we would have tried it even though the weather was a little cold.

This really is a great place with great staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike3412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodgeatCallaway, Director of Sales at The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Resort & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Dear Mike3412,

It was a pleasure learning of your recent stay with us at The Lodge & Spa at Callaway Gardens, Autograph Collection. We greatly appreciate your time and feedback. It sounds like you had a delightful stay! Our staff always likes recognizing special occasions. You are right in speaking about our Piedmont Grille! We pride ourselves on a very flavorful menu and are really happy you were able to dine with us. I did not see any comments about Spa Prunifolia though. Maybe on your next visit you can enjoy our award winning Spa! Thank you again and we hope to see you soon. Happy Holidays!

Warm Regards,

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We were worried that going to Callaway Gardens in late November might not be that great but had a wonderful time. The Lodge and Spa was beautiful even on a cloudy, cold November day. Every staff person we met was friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were satisfied. Arrived too tired to eat anywhere but the on site restaurant and had a good experience there. I'm a vegetarian so was pleased to see an option other than a salad. Had a spinach and mushroom rigatoni that was excellent. The price was reasonable for this sort of place. Our room rate was also very reasonable and included our admission into the Garden which was a nice extra. Too cold to use the pool but plan to return in the summer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kydjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodgeatCallaway, Director of Sales at The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Resort & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Dear kydjj,

It was a pleasure learning of your recent stay with us at The Lodge & Spa at Callaway Gardens, Autograph Collection. Thank you very much for your business and feedback. We pride ourselves on being a vegetarian and gluten-free friendly hotel in Georgia and thank you for noticing! Even if you do come back during the winter time, do not forget that our pool and two whirlpools are open year round and are heated and salt water. The salt water is part of our LEED Certification by the US Green Building Council. Thank you again for such kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews