We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of 27th Grill

27th Grill
Ranked #25 of 30 Restaurants in Pine Mountain
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This place looks a little strange from the outside since it was formerly a gas station. Inside, we received good service and the food was pretty good, too. They even serve beer and wine, if you are interested in that. The Greek pizza was a favorite of our group. There wasn't anything too gourmet or special on the menu, but it was much better than expected. Definitely worth a try if you are in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    21
    22
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"not very good"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I went there to eat at the Whistling Pig but they were so full I decided to try the 27th grill since I was already there in the parking lot! There were only an older couple in the place! Very old and tired looking décor! I ordered a hamburger steak and side salad. The salad was heaped in a bowl, which looked odd to me: the first 3 bites from the top were okay but when you moved off the top layer of lettuce the lettuce in the bottom was nasty! The hamburger steak was ok but the fries were frozen and had that freezer burn taste to them, the gravy was from a package. I would certainly not eat here again and wished I had braved the line at the original place I had wanted! The waitress was friendly and very attentive so kudos for that!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lgbates85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Didn't expect much”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

This is an old gas station turned diner complete with vinyl tablecloths. Don't get me, it what I expected before we walked in. They have a very broad menu from full meals, to pizza, salads, sammys, wine, beer and desert. We had a quesadilla and a Philly chicken sub. Not bad but the frozen, under cooked fries were a complete turn off. Service was friendly but slow considering the place was about empty at 6:30 pm. I like trying new places and now we tried this one. Won't go back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wkelly5688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, Georgia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by its cover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We picked this place off of the Internet where we saw it on the Pine Mountain GA city website. I pulled up and thought "whoa" because it didn't look quite like I expected (it's an old gas station.) We went in and I questioned my choice however I was already committed. We both ordered the ribeye. We ordered fries and sautéd vegetables and salad. When the food came out we were very pleased with its presentation, quality, quantity and taste. The steak, which was well marinated, needed no steak sauce and the vegetables were well seasoned and had a good taste. The waitress appeared to be new as she didn't know the difference between A-1 and Heinz 57, but it didn't matter because I never touched to steak sauce. When we went to pay I noted that they had received a 100 on their inspection score from the health department.

I won't lie - the place looks rough on the outside and a little dated on the inside but the food was great and it was clean. I would recommend to others.

Helpful?
1 Thank bozy106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortson, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First visit in a while”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

I have always loved the way the owner took pride in his dishes that he served. We had the some of our old favorites and they were very good. The only thing that concerned me was the prices had gone up so much. The appetizers were a little to expensive. The waiter was attentive and friendly. We received our dinner in a timely manner and will go back. I don't know what the other reviewers were looking for, but it is not supposed to be a fancy restaurant. Yes, it is laid back and that is one of the charms of the restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyweegle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 27th Grill also viewed

 

Been to 27th Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing