We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room? Fine. Housekeeping? Ugh.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Callaway Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Callaway Gardens
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pine Mountain
Stockbridge, Georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Room? Fine. Housekeeping? Ugh.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here 11/26/13 because of a $99 deal that included a trip through their Christmas light display ( which was awesome). Check in was fine, and desk clerk was friendly. Room was clean, with the exception of a used washcloth hanging over the shower curtain rod, yuck. Went out for light show and dinner at Eddie Mae's Kountry Kitchen, mom/pop place, good food. The next morning....I was lying in bed thinking about my return trip back home and Thanksgiving the next day. Then comes the housekeeping lady beating on the door at 8:24 am. I used 'beating' on purpose, because it certainly was more than a knock. I had placed the 'privacy please' thing on my door, she said it had blown off, it wasn't on the door any longer. But still, check out is 11:00 am. Why are they knocking on my door if they haven't verified that I'm gone via front desk? I've seen more beat up hotels than this using Wilkie-talkies for this purpose many times. I told her to come back later. Called front desk, she replied "We have no control over that." Haven't checked out yet.

Room Tip: Did not use spa, clicked by mistake, can't figure out how to unclick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you so much for recently staying with our property and experiencing our new rooms and Fantasy in Lights. Your feedback is very important to us as we have already taken this back to our team for action because the dirty wash cloth and early interruption is unacceptable on our part. Unfortunately these days many guests do not check out via the front desk and many rooms will sit empty ready for cleaning for hours unless our teams start knocking which is acceptable after a decent hour but not at 8:30am so again I apologize.

We are glad you were able to take advantage of the great offer we were running and that you will come back and see us again in the near future!

Happy Holidays,
….
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    163
    130
    83
    56
See reviews for
231
170
10
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

In years past, we used to love visiting Callaway Gardens and looked forward to going every year. The last time we went it was so disappointing. The service was so bad, we had to go to three restaurants on the property before we could get served a meal. It was ridiculous. We stayed at the Inn and it was looking pretty shabby and overpriced for what it was. I recall filling out a comment card with suggestions and dropped it at the front desk. We were thinking about giving it another try over the holidays, but after reading so many negative reviews it sounds like not much has changed. Oh well, I guess we'll find something else to do instead.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Catnip234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback regarding your recent planning trip to our property. I am sorry to hear that your last experience was less than satisfactory. As for updating the property we recently spent $2.5 million updating our rooms at the Mountain Creek Inn, and will continue to make further upgrades in the coming year to the lobby and other areas of the property in order to provide our guests with the type of property and service they expect from Callaway Gardens.

As for your comments regarding the Inn, you are correct it is an older building and our renovations and upgrades will continue as we are not finished and this will include a renovated lobby, continued upgrades to our bathrooms, and exterior upgrades to further enhance the guest experience from check-in to check-out.

Again, thank you so much for your feedback and we hope that in the future you may give us another opportunity to further enjoy our wonderful property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed at the Mountain Creek Inn at Callaway Gardens. They have just completed a renovation but the Inn is still more like a motel. The attention to detail is missing - stains, dust and cobwebs in the lobby and key areas. The carpet in the ballroom that we reserved needed a deep cleaning.

The rooms are dark and if you choose to open the shades - you are right on the main throughway so all privacy is lost. Also, the shades don't close properly so you "see" people in their rooms as you pass by their room. The trick was to tuck the curtain over the door lock. Beware opening the door "displays" the entire room- warn your companion before entering!

The only shining moment was the restaurant buffets. Wonderfully prepared meals. I'd stay for lunch but would not stay at the property again.

Room Tip: Skip the stay -but enjoy one of the buffets. Wonderfully prepared meals - kudos to the chef!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Getpacked77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback regarding your recent trip to our property. Guest feedback is very important to us as it is our main tool for celebrating our successes but also taking corrective action on our challenges. Just this past Winter we spent $2.5 million renovating the Mountain Creek Inn guest rooms and Plant Room dining room. We continue to make plans for further upgrades and renovations in the upcoming year which include further gardens enhancements as well as further enhancements to the Mountain Creek Inn.

Again, thank you so much for your response, we take your feedback very serious and will take action and continue to do so in order to further enhance the product and service we provide each and every guest at Callaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The place is beautiful, Mountain Creek Inn rooms and food were great. The Gardens perfect. But talk about a cold welcome. The front desk had several employees at it this past weekend, Nov. 1 and not one of them were friendly. One young girl was chatting away with another employee, while we waited in line, she never once looked up and said may I help the next person. With the number of employees at the front desk, it was not that busy for the few of us in line. My boyfriend and I wanted to ask for a manager and let them know, but didn't want to start our evening off bad....We were wondering did the staff just get yelled at or something, because they all had no personality or warmth to them.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you so much for your candid feedback regarding your experience. We take all feedback and use it to celebrate our successes or work on our challenges and I am sorry to hear that you had the type of reception you did when you came to check-in. That type of service is unacceptable and has already been addressed with our Guest Service Management as well as with our entire team of employees whom work the Front Desk. Your arrival is the first impression of your entire stay and we will continue to work diligently to ensure all aspects of this are done professionally and done with warm service.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you back again so you can experience a different type of welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pt St. Lucie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

This past week, my friend and I stayed at Callaway Gardens Mountain Inn. The front desk was not very friendly at all. No smiles, no have a nice stay, no if you need anything just call us. Really the young man appeared to hate his job. I did not feel welcome or wanted and my friend and I were the only people checking in. When he showed us on a map where our room was, he never looked up and to be honest it was confusing.
The restaurant staff and food were great. The waitress, chatted asked questions about where we were from, what we planned to do at Callaway.
The Gardens were beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you so much for leaving your feedback regarding your experience with our resort but also with your interaction with our front desk personnel. I am sorry that you experienced that type of hospitality at your arrival as that is unacceptable and it already has been addressed with our Management and staff to ensure we are providing the warmest and most hospitable welcome to all guests here at Callaway Gardens.

Again thank you for taking time to leave your feedback and rest assured this has been addressed and will not be an issue moving forward if you were to come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlem, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

My daughter's High School Softball team was in Columbus this past weekend for the State Tournament and when we couldn't enough rooms in Columbus, we turned to Callaway for rooms. While I will have to agree the lobby is a bit dated, we actually loved the stay we had here. The staff were friendly and accomidated everything we asked. They even let us have pizza for our team in the lobby after one of our games. We had over 30 rooms blocked for our team and fans, and out of those 30 we had only one small maintenance issue. I would also highly recommend the Burger they make in the Bar near the lobby, very good! The Country Kitchen (Also owned by Callaway) up the hill from the Inn has a great breakfast as well. We had some younger kids with us that fed the chipmunks and squirrels in the courtyard area, that was really neat on Friday night with the fire pits. Overall, our experience was great and we will return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gstokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Awesome! We love to hear that our guest enjoyed their stay here at Callaway Gardens with us. It is great that the team was able to stay in one spot and enjoy dinner together as well. Your visit with us and your time for sending in this review are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcdonough ga
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We booked 2 rooms for a girls trip at Mountain Creek Inn. It was horrible nothing like the pictures on the website. It smelled very OLD and the grounds was not exciting to look at. We then moved to a two bedroom cottage and it had fleas and we was told NO animals are allowed? We go here once a year but we always rent a villa. So it was a big disappointment to try other accommodations out and it be a TOTAL disaster.We finally moved to a Villa after all the craziness and the neighbors decides to throw a house Party and play loud music. The front desk did call security and handled it BUT Callaway is def not the same it's going down .I don't complain allot so this was a huge deal for me.The Gardens are still Fabulous but BEWARE of The Inn & Cottages...cause they are horrible. Your best bet is to stay at The Lodge it's always great and the hospitality is wonderful :)

Room Tip: The Lodge is the BEST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsCBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
I want to thank you for your very candid feedback and am very upset to hear that you had the type of experience you did with our accommodations at both the Mountain Creek Inn and the Southern Pine Cottages. I want you to know that we are continuing past the $2.5 million we spent on the Inn rooms and doing more landscaping work as well as have a renovation planned for the lobby of the Inn within the next 6-8 months. This is all because we have heard the feedback from our guests and know that we have to continue to work hard to provide a better experience to go hand in hand with the amazing property we are a part of here at Callaway. I can guarantee you that Callaway is not going down hill but very much continuing to improve and reinvent itself and hope that you will come back and see that in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pine Mountain
1.4 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens
5.1 mi away
Mountain Top Inn
Mountain Top Inn
#1 of 2 in Warm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.5 mi away
Valley Inn Resort
Valley Inn Resort
#4 of 5 in Pine Mountain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham LaGrange
15.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lagrange near Callaway Gardens
19.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callaway Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callaway Gardens

Property: Callaway Gardens
Address: 17800 US Highway 27, Pine Mountain, GA 31822-2393
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Pine Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pine Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Callaway Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Callaway Gardens is a special place to make memories whether with friends, family or business associates. The Gardens offers unique experiences with floral displays, zip line/obstacle courses, bicycle and walking trails. Traditional resort amenities include golf courses that have hosted 12 PGA Tour events. Banquet and meeting facilities provide for most any size meeting or conference. Featuring more 2,500 acres of 6,500 acres for self-guided experience, the variety of facilities, including accommodations, dining, make for quality time and quality experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Callaway Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Callaway Gardens Georgia
Callaway Gardens Resort
Callaway Gardens Hotel Pine Mountain
Callaway Gardens Pine Mountain
Callaway Resort Pine Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing