We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasy in Lights Package”
Review of Callaway Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Callaway Gardens
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pine Mountain
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Ten of us stayed 1 night in a 3 bedroom villa as part of our Fantasy in Lights Package.
It was beautiful! It was clean and well stocked with towels, soaps, toiletries, etc, It even had wood for the fireplaces. Each bedroom had comfortable beds, a sitting area, large private bathoom and it's own deck. Two of the three had fireplaces.

There was a line to check in ( many people arrived at check in time) but the process was very fast and the line moved quickly. The staff was very courteous and professional.

The light show was great and I would definitely recommend you ride the trolley. It adds tremendously to the experience.

We will be making this an annual event for our family.

Dislikes: Should have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Room descriptions and pictures are listed on their website. They will try to honor specific room r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VM7664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Awesome!! We love to hear that our guest enjoyed their stay with us here at Callaway Gardens. Fantasy in Lights is best viewed by Trolley. The cold air, holiday music, and the lights are a wonderful way to enjoy the holiday season. Your business is greatly appreciated and we look forward to having you as a guest in the future.

Merry Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

537 - 543 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 night in the Mountain Inn. Our room was clean and comfortable. Our room was not restocked with toilet paper and very little was left from the guest before us. We notified housekeeping and they had it to us in less than 5 minutes. I've seen a lot of reviews where others thought the front staff were unfriendly. They were nothing but professional and courteous to us. We had breakfast in The Plant Room as part of our package and the food was very good! The light show was beautiful and my 2 year old loved it. Only because of the large crowds was that part of our trip a little hectic but that's to be expected anywhere there's a large crowd. Once we were on the trolley all was well. I think we will come back again next year for the light show. All in all I would recommend the Fantasy in Lights package.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank DeniseOB82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Awesome! We love to hear that our guest enjoyed their stay with us. Housekeeping and the Front Desk work hard to please everyone. The Lights are a great way to start off the Holiday Season. Your visit with us is appreciated and we hope to see you in the future. Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

stayed here for a weekend was not crazy about the room right under a stairway and brought that to there attention and they quite friendly and offered me another room which I was quite happy with very accommodating. food was great. the whole area was beautiful!! if only they had a hill with snow to ski on!!! room was clean, the housekeepers were friendly and professional. kept our room stocked with clean towels, soaps ,bathgels, etc...you can see they are doing a lot of work and it can only get better!! I will be back!!! thank you calloway gardens!!

Room Tip: if you do not like your room just ask for another I am sure that if they can they will give you anot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you so much for your candid feedback regarding your stay with us. Feedback is our number one way to try and continue to make improvements to both our product and service to further enhance the guest experience here at Callaway Gardens. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and visit with us here at Callaway Gardens. The staff at the front desk and housekeeping have both worked really hard at making everything enjoyable and that all guest are happy with their stay.

Again, thank you so much for taking time to leave your feedback, it is valued, and we will pass your review along to those involved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

New paint can't cover up maintenance needs. This place needs some work.

Housekeeping starts banging on doors at 8 AM, and comes by every 30 minutes thereafter. I typically take baths, not showers, but after starting the bath water and seeing hair and dirt rise out of the drain I opted for a shower instead. The coffee is provided by a one-cup coffee maker, 8 ounce Styrofoam cups, and a cheapo coffee pack. God forbid you need more than the 2 provided, because it took 2 calls to the front desk and over an hour to get them.

We got the Fantasy in Lights package, which included breakfast, and there was a 45 minute wait for that. It was a very good breakfast once you got in. When we stayed there before, you had the option of eating breakfast at the Callaway Country Store Restaurant about 1/2 mile down the road, which eliminated the wait and has a fabulous view in addition to excellent breakfast but that has been done away with. I guess they save some $$ though, since many people went to eat their breakfast elsewhere rather than wait.

Room Tip: Go to Chipley Murrah House B&B (about 1 mile away)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shinysideup2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for leaving your feedback regarding your recent stay with our property. Guest feedback is by far the best way we can celebrate the things we are doing well or address things that we need to do better.

We are very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations and that we had some shortcomings in our cleanliness, and service waits. Those items will be addressed immediately to our Department Managers for corrective action. The reason that we can do not allow our breakfast package guests to dine at the Country Store is because when we did that it backed that restaurant up for hours because of the nature and type of restaurant. When trying to serve hundreds of guests in short periods of time buffets provide much quicker service.

Again we are so sorry that you felt you had a subpar experience and we will take your feedback and continue to work hard to provide each and every guest that comes to Callaway the best possible stay.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Mountain Creek Inn at Callaway for the four day Thanksgiving weekend. What a good place to stay, less than five minutes to Callaway Gardens, quick efficient check in, clean and well maintained rooms. What more can you ask for?

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for floor level if you have problems walking up stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tcobb31408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Awesome! We love to hear that our guest enjoyed their stay with us at Mountain Creek Inn. The rooms at Mountain Creek Inn were renovated earlier this year. It sounds like you had a very enjoyable stay. We hope you enjoyed Fantasy In Lights and the Christmas Village as well. Your business is greatly appreciated and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This is our fourth visit to enjoy the fantasy of Lights. A very cold night but very enjoyable. Made the trolley ride exciting.
Christmas is always a must visit. Unique gifts. Always have hot cocoa when you get off the trolley. Need warming.
Will go again in a couple of years. Make a few change each time we have gone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JERRY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Fantasy In Lights. Fantasy In Lights is a great way to start off the holiday season. The light show, Santa Claus, and hot coca make for a full night of family fun. Your visit with us is greatly appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here 11/26/13 because of a $99 deal that included a trip through their Christmas light display ( which was awesome). Check in was fine, and desk clerk was friendly. Room was clean, with the exception of a used washcloth hanging over the shower curtain rod, yuck. Went out for light show and dinner at Eddie Mae's Kountry Kitchen, mom/pop place, good food. The next morning....I was lying in bed thinking about my return trip back home and Thanksgiving the next day. Then comes the housekeeping lady beating on the door at 8:24 am. I used 'beating' on purpose, because it certainly was more than a knock. I had placed the 'privacy please' thing on my door, she said it had blown off, it wasn't on the door any longer. But still, check out is 11:00 am. Why are they knocking on my door if they haven't verified that I'm gone via front desk? I've seen more beat up hotels than this using Wilkie-talkies for this purpose many times. I told her to come back later. Called front desk, she replied "We have no control over that." Haven't checked out yet.

Room Tip: Did not use spa, clicked by mistake, can't figure out how to unclick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you so much for recently staying with our property and experiencing our new rooms and Fantasy in Lights. Your feedback is very important to us as we have already taken this back to our team for action because the dirty wash cloth and early interruption is unacceptable on our part. Unfortunately these days many guests do not check out via the front desk and many rooms will sit empty ready for cleaning for hours unless our teams start knocking which is acceptable after a decent hour but not at 8:30am so again I apologize.

We are glad you were able to take advantage of the great offer we were running and that you will come back and see us again in the near future!

Happy Holidays,
….

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pine Mountain
1.4 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Resort & Gardens
5.1 mi away
Mountain Top Inn and Resort
Mountain Top Inn and Resort
#1 of 2 in Warm Springs
225 reviews
3.2 mi away
Valley Inn Resort
Valley Inn Resort
#4 of 5 in Pine Mountain
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lagrange near Callaway Gardens
16.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham LaGrange
19.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callaway Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callaway Gardens

Address: 17800 US Highway 27, Pine Mountain, GA 31822-2393
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Pine Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pine Mountain
Price Range: £109 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Callaway Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Callaway Gardens is a special place to make memories whether with friends, family or business associates. The Gardens offers unique experiences with floral displays, zip line/obstacle courses, bicycle and walking trails. Traditional resort amenities include golf courses that have hosted 12 PGA Tour events. Banquet and meeting facilities provide for most any size meeting or conference. Featuring more 2,500 acres of 6,500 acres for self-guided experience, the variety of facilities, including accommodations, dining, make for quality time and quality experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Callaway Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Callaway Gardens Georgia
Callaway Gardens Resort
Callaway Gardens Hotel Pine Mountain
Callaway Gardens Pine Mountain
Callaway Resort Pine Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing