We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“now what we expected”
Review of Callaway Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Callaway Gardens
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pine Mountain
Canton, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“now what we expected”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

website said was completely renovated in 2013, did not look refurbished on the outside. on the inside the rooms they looked okay but not like the pictures on the website. when we turned the sheets back to go to bed they were dirty. front desk did send housekeeping but they went thru 6 sets of sheets to make 2 beds they all looked as if they had just been folded not laundered made you feel nasty. only had 2 towels and 2 wash cloths even tho room was reserved for 4 people then on saturday night during the night the AC quit working not good. when we complained the new manager on duty apologized but only gave us a $50.00 credit
I would recommend checking out some other places and forgo this place . and the WiFI was intermitting
and pool was in need of a good scrubbing !

Room Tip: dont rely just on the hotel website check out places like TripAdvisor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MommaJacquie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallawayGardens1, Public Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
We are so sorry to hear that you are disappointed. I'm surprised that the pool "needs" scrubbing as the entire pool complex was renovated renovated the last week of July 2014. The Inn was completely renovated in 2013 - the interiors of all of the rooms were taken down to the concrete and rebuilt. And, since then, the exterior walkways and breezeways have been repainted, an intensive landscape renovation was completed and now there are flower boxes and potted containers throughout the complex. Had the building been taken down and started from scratch - we would not have used the word "renovated." We have plenty of satisfied customers. Again, we're sorry to hear that you were disappointed. We do offer two-bedroom cottages, two-to-four bedroom Villas and vacation homes that are little more finely appointed and more spacious. If you would like to email info@callawaygardens.com with more information such as your name, we would be happy to have our general manager respond with regards to the linen and air conditioning as you didn't mention if the team repaired the air conditioning during your visit. We like to respond to those guests as promptly as possible - assuming the guests interest is to have the repair happen immediately. We do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future and perhaps consider one of those lodging options. We appreciate your post as we use guest feedback for making improvements. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    169
    136
    87
    57
See reviews for
245
175
10
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jasper, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We wanted to enjoy the last few days before school. The trip was relaxing and we were able to enjoy biking, swimming, the gardens, every shop on main street and other nearby attractions such as The Little White House and the National Fish Hatchery in Warm Springs. We enjoyed eating at Hunter's Pub, The Aspen Grill, the Country Store, and Eddie Mae's. We also found the Meriwether Steak Co. which we are going to try next time. It was just great to be with everyone!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank familyfromthecountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallawayGardens1, Public Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
It sounds as though y'all had a great visit. We are glad you and your family chose to close out the Summer at Callaway Gardens. Best wishes for a great academic year. We hope you are able to find some time to getaway and visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

i love it here the only thing that sucked about it is not having many options to eat. The room was tiny but it got the job done. The cable absolutely sucked and you cant rent movies which is dumb so we were pretty bored at night. It is kind of pricey to eat on property but thats what you expect when traveling. All the freebies you receive for staying there make up for all the other stuff.

Room Tip: expect it to be small and confusing to find your room intitally
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coupongangsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallawayGardens1, Public Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed the Gardens but we're sorry to hear that you were frustrated when you couldn't visit the Gardens. We have opted to not have movie rentals because we are a family destination - so of the options without those movie rental machines aren't very family friendly. With eight dining options, we're not sure what other options you might have been looking for. Next time may we suggest calling our "Consider It Done" option and perhaps our team can help you find what you are looking for nearby - if it's not available on property. Thank you for your post. We do hope that you are able to visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This resort has a lot of different activities, from a man made beach, a zipline, a butterfly garden, and hiking trails to water sports such as fishing, canoeing, and water skiing.
We stayed at one of the cabins, they were spacious with a full kitchen, a large living room, and a nice back porch with back yard.
Our water heater gave out during our stay, the hotel staff and outside staff were in and out of the room the next 2 days trying to fix it, while we had industrial fans running trying to keep the carpet dry. The staff was attentive and listened to our complaints, they tried to make the situation better by offering us a different cabin, however the amount of people and luggage we had was too many to just up and move.
Other than the problem with the water heater I think this resort is top notch, the have extensive activities, and they have good upkeep.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davidccs87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallawayGardens1, Public Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your post. Again, we apologize for the hot water heater situation but we appreciate your patience and working with us to get it repaired. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and so many aspects of Callaway Gardens. We appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts with this post. We look forward to you visiting again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Family of 4; two daughters, ages 13 and 11, stayed two nights in early August. Fun getaway close to Atlanta (1.5 hrs). Our kids start school later than most this year, so we figured a couple weekdays wouldn't be crowded and we were right.

Great biking trails (paved, not too hilly, except for one part up to the cottages). Tree Top Adventure was a blast and the staff was friendly and helpful. We also did a one-hour boat rental which included an instructor who was in the water w/ the girls to help them w/ knee-boarding and water skiing. Again, the staff was cheerful and helpful. The kids had fun on Aqua Island as well. We did not eat at any of the restaurants; brought our own food and made meals in the cottage. Only meal out was dinner at Bon Vivant in nearby Pine Mountain (separate review).

The cottage we stayed in was the same unit we had three years ago (our only other visit). It seemed as though nothing had been updated and it felt outdated back then. The price was reasonable, but I think Callaway should invest more in the units even if it required slightly higher room charges.

Overall, we really enjoyed our time at Callaway and recommend it for families.

Room Tip: The Lodge and Spa would have nicer rooms, but is run by Marriott, not Callaway, and doesn't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeremyATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallawayGardens1, Public Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your post. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your visit. We appreciate your comments. The Southern Pine Cottages are owned by individuals and put into our rental program. They decide as a group when to update them. In fact, they just finished updating the bathrooms and installing granite counters, etc. They are in the process of updating the bedding. And, they are in the process of updating all of the televisions to flat screens. So, they are making improvements. We're sorry to hear that there wasn't enough for you to notice. We're confident that they will continue to make improvements. We look forward to your visiting again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zebulon, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I bought a season pass to Callaway. We went to spend the dayat the beach area 6/30/14. The prices were absolutely ridiculous for the activities. They advertised on the price board $10/hr per child for Aqua Island---and they actually only allow you 45 minutes play time. I have 4 children. That is $40 for one hour. You can purchase White Water tickets for $35 per person for the entire day and there is much more to do. No kind of discount was offered for a season pass nor any type of military discount for these activities. It ended up being a ridiculously expensive day even with a season pass. I will not be back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank sherry t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallawayGardens1, Public Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your post. We are sorry to hear that you are disappointed. You are correct that the main benefit of an Annual Pass is free general admission for up to six people most every day of the year and half-price to special events. Normal admission is $18 per adult and $9 per child. So, in less that two visits you will be saving a huge amount of money on gate admission. There are not discounts for the other activities that are at the beach. Some of those are owned and operated by third-parties and it would become very confusing. And, you are correct that by the time guest process the guests at Aqua Island, it ends up being about 45 minutes - that is why we use the language that it is for one session and they start on the hour. Having had the hour and pricing structure for more than five years, we have found that the most people are done about all they can do in the time frame offered and they are ready for a break. We are sure that - if you are able to visit frequently - that you will find value in your Annual Pass. It also offers workshop and overnight lodging discounts. We appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smyrna, GA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My family took advantage of the Summer Beach package offered at Callaway Gardens for a 2-nights stay. It includes most of the attractions and lodging for a great rate. Our family of three - Grandma, me and my 4-year old son had a blast.

We enjoyed the renovated pool at the Mountain Creek Inn and the seafood buffet on Friday. On Saturday, we had the buffet breakfast and then headed to Robin Beach for the day. My son enjoyed the lake/beach, the giant water slide, miniature golf, paddle boats, various rides and the grown ups enjoyed the Beach Bar! For dinner, we went to the Kountry Kitchen Restaurant to get a more relaxed meal that was less expensive. The store itself had lots of goodies which we picked up as well. It reminds you of a Cracker Barrel layout, just smaller. There's a wine shop too!

On Sunday, we did all the land attractions. Discovery Center, Birds of Prey show, Treetop (little one), bike riding and then ended the day at the Butterfly pavilion. We hit the road after picking up some trinkets at the butterfly gift shop. We were home in under 1.5 hours so it was well worth the drive and time spent together.

I'd recommend it to my friends with children and couples. For singles, there's not much to do after 9 PM but I'm sure you'll get creative! Bring board games, music or check out the fitness center. Also, the Discovery Center area has the best selection of bike rentals - avoid the front desk at Mountain Creek Inn.

Room Tip: Request a pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AzizMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallawayGardens1, Public Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your post. We are so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit! We appreciate your taking the time to post. We hope you are able to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pine Mountain
1.4 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens
5.1 mi away
Mountain Top Inn
Mountain Top Inn
#1 of 2 in Warm Springs
224 reviews
1.5 mi away
Valley Inn Resort
Valley Inn Resort
#4 of 5 in Pine Mountain
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham LaGrange
15.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lagrange near Callaway Gardens
16.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callaway Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callaway Gardens

Property: Callaway Gardens
Address: 17800 US Highway 27, Pine Mountain, GA 31822-2393
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Pine Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pine Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Callaway Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Callaway Gardens is a special place to make memories whether with friends, family or business associates. The Gardens offers unique experiences with floral displays, zip line/obstacle courses, bicycle and walking trails. Traditional resort amenities include golf courses that have hosted 12 PGA Tour events. Banquet and meeting facilities provide for most any size meeting or conference. Featuring more 2,500 acres of 6,500 acres for self-guided experience, the variety of facilities, including accommodations, dining, make for quality time and quality experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Callaway Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Callaway Gardens Georgia
Callaway Gardens Resort
Callaway Gardens Hotel Pine Mountain
Callaway Gardens Pine Mountain
Callaway Resort Pine Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing