We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“southern hospitality , beautiful landscape.....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Columns Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Columns Motel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pine Mountain
Tucker, Georgia
1 review
“southern hospitality , beautiful landscape.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

this was my husband's 2nd trip to callaway gardens and white columns motel , this year i joined him with some good friends , this place was very cozy, clean and quiet!!! it reminded me of the motels i use to stay in when my family use to travel , the grounds were clean and spacious with old fashion lover's swings!!! the manager was very nice and we felt so comfortable there, we walked the grounds at night , sat in the swing and fell asleep like a baby as soon as we hit the pillowtop mattress!!!!! nice bagels and coffee that you could enjoy outside in the fresh air or inside your room...... we will be back...

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diane5222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    32
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
19
28
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2010

Last year after consulting Trip Advisor reviews and the hotel's own website, we chose this hotel for lodging. The pictures on the hotel website looked great, and the trip advisor rating was #1.

For $74 we stayed in a clean dump. It looked clean, but I never walked barefoot in the room -- it felt too creepy. The TV was Very small. The furniture was ancient. The lighting was dim. The bathroom was tiny but clean. The walls were painted concrete blocks.

The people were nice, but the room was totally misrepresented -- it looked nothing like the pictures of the rooms on the hotel website. We felt cheated -- shame on the owners who misrepresent their hotel. We have stayed in much nicer rooms at other hotels for the price. How could anyone rate this place a 5? In future, it might be advisable to look at the other reviews of a reviewer.

The free breakfast was worth about $1 each -- a dry bagel or a honey bun with juice or coffee. It doesn't in any way make up for the cost of the room. The lodging was not worth more than $50.

If we ever return to Pine Mountain, we will stay in Warm Springs or La Grange. No way would I ever recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelsOfTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2009

First of all, if someone came here expecting the benefits of a hotel, they will be disappointed. This is a motel and one should not be having high expectations. Yes, the decor in our room was unmatched and the walls were basically painted cinder blocks, but the heater was working (we came in from a cold night at Callaway Gardens and when we walked in the room, it was extremely warm-- it was on high heat), the beds were very comfortable, and the room seemed very clean. The bathrooms were very small and the towels were extremely thin and small also. The soap left a film on your skin that was hard to get rid of. The breakfast which consisted of packaged flat sweet rolls, plain bagels, coffee, and orange juice was served on a table outside of the office. Now that was VERY disappointing. Wish the orange juice was 100% at least... For those of you traveling with babies or kids and need a pack-n-play or a crib, you'll have to bring your own as they do not have any here. It was pretty quiet and the owners are very nice, honest, helpful, humble, kind, people. With your room receipt, you get a discount at some restaurants around the hotel. If you're looking for a no frills place and just need a place to rest your head while visiting, this is the place. However, $59 still seemed a bit too steep for a night... especially when you can get a 4 star for $59 on priceline in other towns/cities. Be blessed!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank calebswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2009

I visit Callaway Gardens often, staying at this motel before and will continue to do so each time, as you cannot beat these wonderful accommodations for the price.
We found our room very clean and furnished with beautiful antiques: four-poster bed, dry sink/wash stand, and more! We enjoyed a nice continental breakfast (which was a very nice surprise since it was Christmas day) and had a wonderful visit with the owner.
If you are planning on a visit to the Pine Mountain area, I highly recommend the White Columns Motel, especially if you are like me and on a budget!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momof3Birmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

Yikes! This place was scary!!! I was afraid to take a shower or walk on the carpet without shoes! I slept with one eye open all night long!!!! The decor was unmatched, looked kinda like various items were picked up from thrift stores and yard sales. Long story short, don't stay here!!! I felt dirty for a week!!!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daiseegirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
room 12
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

My wife and I have been visiting this motel for the past three years and we now consider the owners part of our extended family. Their friendliness and careing attitude have never before been found in any of our travels. This place is just a fantastic place to visit whenever you are in the area.

We are "Forever Friends"
"The Carver a d Quilter"

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carver_Quilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warner Robins, GA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2009

This is an older motel, but clean and very comfortable. Very friendly staff and good location. Excellant price, $49, owner upgraded to king room at no extra price.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eaglesax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pine Mountain
3.2 mi away
Valley Inn Resort
Valley Inn Resort
#4 of 5 in Pine Mountain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mountain Top Inn
Mountain Top Inn
#1 of 2 in Warm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham LaGrange
13.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Lagrange near Callaway Gardens
14.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites LaGrange / I-85
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Columns Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Columns Motel

Property: White Columns Motel
Address: 524 S Main Ave, Pine Mountain, GA 31822-2360
Region: United States > Georgia > Pine Mountain
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pine Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Columns Motel is a quiet and peaceful lodging in Pine Mountain for more than 50 years. Walking distance to nearby restaurants and close to nearby attractions Callaway Gardens, FDR State Park, Wild Animal Safari and Butts Mill Farm. Travelers awake refresh and enjoy coffee with breakfast in the lovely landscaped lawn with blooming plants such as azalea, hydrangeas, tulips, gardenia and a magnificent Magnolia tree with a swing hanging from its limb. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your White Columns Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Columns Hotel Pine Mountain
White Columns Pine Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing