We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walked Away Disgusted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magnolia Inn & Suites Pooler
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Pooler
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Walked Away Disgusted”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

After reading positive reviews here on tripadvisor, I phoned the hotel to make a reservation a week prior to our stay and was quoted $69 plus tax. Received my confirmation number and supplied CC number to hold the room. We arrived at 9pm to check in after hours of driving and was told they did not have a room for us. The woman at the front desk stated the credit card was declined when they ran it that morning, but offered us an upgraded room for $129 per night. I told her that was not acceptable and wanted a room at the quoted rate. She said that was not possible and she was sorry. She further explained it was their policy to run all credit cards the morning of check-in. I was never informed of this policy when making my reservation - so beware. There was no problem with the credit card when I used it to pay at the Holiday Inn Express a few exits down the road (at $104). I didn't care to argue with the woman any longer and walked away disgusted. Lesson learned: I will only reserve with the major hotel chains from now on to avoid this type of upsell scam.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doglover136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia Inn & Suites Pooler, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
I am truly sorry for all the confusion about your reservation. It is normal procedure by all hotels to run (check) all credit cards the morning of arrival, otherwise, the hotel will loose revenue when the card is declined. and the guest is a no show. If the card is declined, the reservation is cancelled at the cut off time.(normally 4 PM or 6 PM depending on the hotel requirements)
Again, I am sorry that this happened to you.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    46
    31
    13
    16
See reviews for
38
69
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here in the jetted tub suite the hotel needs some updating the owner was unbelievably rude after we spent our evening in downtown Savannah we returned to the front doors locked when our key would not work for the side doors we returned to the front finally the owner came out instead of letting us in on this cold night she had the nerve to tell us to go back around to the side door I explained to her my key card was not working she finally with attitude let us in. The so called breakfast was horrible and for a rate of $156 I expected so much better than what we experienced the bed was even uncomfortable

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia Inn & Suites Pooler, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
I am sorry you were not pleased with your recent visit to the Magnolia. We will certainly use your comments as we train and improve all our services.
Thank you for staying with us.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We enjoyed our one night stay recently. Our room was quiet and extremely clean.

We want to commend Nikkie at the front desk for her help and patience. She is a definite asset to this hotel.

Very convenient to travel to Savannah's Riverfront and return to the hotel.

Only negative thing we saw was how small the breakfast room seemed to be. Even though we woke up too late to have breakfast at the hotel the breakfast room is smaller than any other breakfast room we have used at other hotels. Can't imagine all the hotel guests in there at the same time!

Room Tip: Ask for room on top floor away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia Inn & Suites Pooler, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your comments about the Magnolia in Pooler, Ga. We appreciate your business and hope you will visit again when you are in the Savannah area.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

The front desk folks were very nice but the owner/manager was very rude, I was told one rate on the phone and given a different one when I arrived. The owner was extremely rude to me about this. Not a good place for families, does not appear to have any security and there was a wide gap between the door and door frame which allowed light to enter and you could lie in bed and see the hallway. I would not recommend to anyone especially since the manager did not stand by her word and the hotel itself did not seem secure.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iamdisappointed2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia Inn & Suites Pooler, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your visit to our hotel. Your comments are not typical of the facility, the manager or staff. We are a very secure property and have not had any complaints about the security, however, if you felt unsafe, I do apologize.
We have reviewed this post with our staff and manager so we are aware of the situation.
Gloria M Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

The location of this property is excellent, and the price is surprisingly affordable. The only conditions that prevent this from being a prime selection is that it is experiencing growing pains. The couple that has taken over the Inn is young and still learning. There is probably no better bargain for a short stay, and the owners/managers are polite, friendly, and helpful. The issue is that there are some cosmetic items such as the broken access pavements behind and in front of the units that should be addressed. The advantages are that for such a small price, one gets many amenities not expected in the room: microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, and an excellent mattress. Watch this place grow...if the price stays affordable, it will eclipse all others in the area. Highly recommended for a motorist on a short stay agenda.

Room Tip: Try to inspect your room before unpacking, as there are both good and better accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia Inn & Suites Pooler, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for your review of our facility. The items you mentioned will be addressed with the staff for review and correction. We strive to offer affordable, comfortable and clean rooms.
We appreciate your business and look forward to having you visit again soon.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Had an enjoyable stay at this hotel. Quite an improvement over the popular economy chain motels. All rooms are accessible through the lobby and elevator. Room is modern, bathroom has nice shower and exhaust fan, TV has large number of channels, bed is firm and comfortable, has a nice lounger chair and window, friendly staff, very clean appearance and competitive rates. The breakfast is adequate although the breakfast room is a bit small. Not easily accessible from I-95 but well worth the trip there. I'll stay here in the future when in Pooler.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank IHS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia Inn & Suites Pooler, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for posting this review of your visit to the Magnolia in Savannah GA. We strive to give great southern hospitality and clean, comfortable rooms.
We appreciate your business and look forward to future visits.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

We just left the Magnolia Inn after having waffles and fruit for breakfast. Didn't expect such a nice morning. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff is lovely. Well worth the price. Will stay again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank anneholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Magnolia Inn & Suites Pooler, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for your review of our facility. We are so pleased that you found our hotel to meet your needs and that you enjoyed your stay.
We truly appreciate your business and hope you will make us a regular stop when you travel to Florida.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pooler hotels
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Airport - Pooler
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Pooler
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Savannah Airport Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Pooler/Savannah
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Savannah-Pooler
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Pooler - Savannah I-95
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Inn & Suites Pooler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Inn & Suites Pooler

Property: Magnolia Inn & Suites Pooler
Address: 107 San Drive, Pooler, GA 31322
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Pooler
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Pooler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnolia Inn & Suites Pooler 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnolia Inn & Suites Pooler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing