We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Impressed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Potro Mexican Restaurant

El Potro Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #51 of 119 Restaurants in Pooler
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Clinton, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Atmosphere was cheap, food was poor and the margaritas were weak and expensive. $4.29 for an 8 ounce drink? PASS. Food was hot but tasteless. I was craving mexican and this did not satisfy at all. Everything looked good but that's as far as it went.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Right off of I-95 in Pooler Great Food & Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Every time we go here the place is clean, portions are large and fresh and you can't beat their happy hours. They also have lunch and dinner buffets. I have not eaten on those but it seems that they are popular. So just jump off of I-95 and have a GREAT meal!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kwikkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
150 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Pretty good, reasonably priced Mexican food; fun and friendly place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

I hadn't been to El Potro in maybe 4 or 5 years and some friends of mine encouraged me to try it again, so we all met there last weekend to see what they had to offer. I live in Savannah and don't get to Pooler often but I was curious, so I met them there. I was a little late so they had already ordered and were very enthused about the chicken soup, to which they added fresh chopped cilantro and onion and slices of avocado--it looked and smelled wonderful so I'll give them props on that. One item I use to judge how good a Mexican place is: guacamole--here, I believe, they fell rather short--the guac was a bit soupy, didn't taste particularly fresh and desperately needed salt; it was just bland; I also look at the salsa--again, soupy, not pleasantly chunky (I like to see small chunks of fresh tomatoes, onions, etc), barely spicy and just average in flavor. For the entree I like to try something other than standard Mexican restaurant fare (such as burritos, tacos, quesadillas, etc.) so I chose the Veracruz Chicken, and this dish deserves kudos: two, flattened, grilled chicken breast, very tender, topped with sautéed onions and shrimp, it was flavorful and needed very little, except I exchanged the flour for CORN tortillas, which simply have a better, more intense taste and are more authentic,--and added some fresh chopped cilantro (available on request). The refried beans had good texture and flavor and just the right amount of queso (white cheese) on top--some places flood the beans and everything on the plate with this sauce and it always makes me wonder what their hiding underneath--El Potro's chefs use the sauce to good effect though. The rice was OK, nothing special; the Mexican guacamole salad was nice, though average in quality I think, because of the mediocre guac. I also ordered a tamal (the singular of 'tamale') and found it very good, moist, full of flavor and BIG! Tamales are a tricky item in restaurants because they must be prepared ahead, and many places reheat them in such a way that they come out dry and with burned and crumbling ends, then disguise the appearance by pouring on a meat sauce--that was not the case here: the tamal was well-cooked, the meat sauce complimented, rather than hid, the flavor, and the texture was near perfect, firm, but not at all dry--its also big enough, along with chips and salsa or a a salad, to make a hearty lunch! Their flan is quite good and comes in a little ruffle-edged molded shape, sitting in the saucer surrounded by a delicate caramel sauce--a nice finish: sweet, but not too much so, and not as heavy as some of the fried dessert offerings would be. The margeritas were strong enough without knocking you out, though I like them a little more tart. The owner was friendly and helpful and acknowledged that this was the first Mexican restaurant that had arrived in Pooler, so it has taken a little while to feel out local tastes. He mentioned that he would to introduce some more authentic dishes such as barbacoa (chicken marinated in a spicy red sauce, wrapped in individual packages and steamed) or menudo, a traditional Mexican stew of tripe, potatoes, tomatoes and spices that is very delicious, but was unsure if Americans would like them--I encouraged him to expand his menu. It's always good to see more authentic dishes on the menu, from an owner who isn't afraid to branch out a little and expand the American palate with true, tasty, authentic cuisine! I would definitely go back; it's a great place for friendly gatherings, the wait staff is attentive and smiling, the owner watches over this place well, it is clean and organized, and the service is quick. The prices are reasonable as well, so a whole family can enjoy a night out or lunch without breaking the bank.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heart_of_Imladris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Taste and Value !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have been here several times. The food is great, nice size portions and priced right. You know their food is great and has not been "Americanized" because of the number of local Hispanics that eat there. The Margaritas are great too. We will continue to be repeat customers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kwikkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very Good Food! Fresh Lime, cilantro!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

Very good food! I got the pork tacos! Yummy, fresh! Served with hot tortias, lime and cilantro! We will definitely go here again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DeeGist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Potro Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Pooler, Georgia Coast
 
Pooler, Georgia Coast
Pooler, Georgia Coast
 

Been to El Potro Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing