We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Understaffed and Overworked?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah I-95 North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah I-95 North
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Port Wentworth
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Understaffed and Overworked?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We arrived at this hotel after another eight to nine hour drive and were feeling road weary. Despite arriving after 6:00 PM we were told that housekeeping hadn't quite finished our room and we'd have to wait. This seemed very strange, but the hotel seemed new and the front desk person was friendly so we patiently waited.

The physical structure seemed new and clean, but something seemed off. We finally got to our room and it was clean and nicely furnished. The housekeeper was still cleaning our neighboring rooms despite it being three hours past check-in.

Why I gave this hotel only two stars is because of what I saw the next morning. I went to breakfast and saw that they front desk person was also the breakfast person. Strange. As I made my coffee I saw a notice from the health department. I couldn't help but read the report and one of the issues was a lack of hand washing facilities (or something like that). I then glanced over and saw the front desk woman taking out the breakfast area trash. OK. As she was taking out the trash someone asked her about getting more eggs. You could sense her frustration, but she said she'd get to it after taking out the trash. So my mind started to process. Health report. Hand washing. I wonder if this worker is going to wear gloves when getting the food? Sadly, as I walked over she wasn't using gloves and it didn't look like she had washed her hands after taking out the trash. Ugh. I might be jumping to conclusions or just plain wrong, but this is one of those situations when you pray you don't get sick by a lack of cleanliness from the food worker.

This was kind of our entire experience at the hotel. Something seemed off. The next morning as we were leaving one of the housekeepers actually had their baby with them as they were cleaning the rooms. Granted there may have been a childcare issue that morning and glad the housekeeper felt they could bring their little one to work with them, but we got the sense that there were lots of unusual situations like this happening at this hotel.

Crazy thing is the previous night we had a stayed in a much older Country Inns & Suites in Fredericksburg and it was one of the nicest hotels we've ever stayed in. Another proof that you can't judge a hotel by it's exterior.

Room Tip: Double check the A/C when you check in to make sure it's producing cold air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dan4636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsheth912, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah I-95 North, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. The report which had 97% (A) that you saw in our breakfast room said 'Adequate hand washing facility accessible" it was because we had boxes on top of the sink at the time of inspection. I can assure you that there is no cleanliness issue at our hotel. As you explained that the we do keep a very nice and clean facility and thrive to keep it that way. I have addressed these issues with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.


Sincerely,

Ursula Cooper
Country Inns &Suites
912-964-2300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    69
    62
    40
    27
See reviews for
130
80
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very friendly and professional staff. The most comfy king sized bed. Awesome breakfast! Will definitely stay again when in the area. Thank you for making our 1 night stay as we passed thru a relaxing and restful one!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed one night,staff were not overly friendly. Room was clean but very tired looking and hallway was a bit smelly. Breakfast wasn't the best. Not in the best area, but very close to Savannah. I would not stay here again. Will try Pooler area next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BDM164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
704 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Renovation in progress. Excellent deal for a suite in the Savannah area. About 8 miles from historic district, but easy drive there. Not on the best side of town. Staff was very friendly. Our room was clean and fully functional. Super breakfast. I more often stay at their midtown location, but it is more expensive and not close to the expressway unlike this location

Room Tip: Ask if your room has been renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank william s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown
Level Contributor
105 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel because it was pet friendly. ($20 pet fee). From the outside it looked brand new, but upon entering we realized it was one being renovated. They must have redone the outside first. The lobby was nice and the halls were clean. The pet room we received was on the 1st floor which was convenient. The beds were not too comfortable, too soft. The duvet cover was dirty and covered with pet hair as was the curtains. The bath was clean but the door lock was missing and the fan was LOUD. The walls were well insulated. The big screen tv was nice too. But the big winner was the amazing breakfast the next morning. Huge selection! Sausage, potatoes, eggs, waffles, cereals, fruit, yogurt, pastries, juices, milk, coffee, tea, and hot chocolate. AMAZING! We used the pool and hot tub, too much chlorine and not warm enough, plus a lot of stuff cluttering the area. Not impressed. Keep on renovating as this place certainly has potential to be a wonderful hotel with some more work. We will try it again next time we travel and see how the renovations went.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dink1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

The place seems pretty new, my room was clean and quiet. The people at the front desk were friendly. I would stay again. Breakfast was just the usual fare. All in all, a good value for the price (I paid $76 with a coupon from the travel book at the rest areas) It is getting hard to find a nice clean room for under a $100, so I was satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwood
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed there twice 8 days apart. The front end staff is outstanding , Unfortunately the state of the hotel is nowhere near the Carlson hotel standards.
Broken or missing window screens, bathroom fan unusable because of noisy bearings, lock on pool men's toilet door unserviceable, just general poor maintenance on a Motel 6 level.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Wentworth hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS North Savannah
BEST WESTERN PLUS North Savannah
#4 of 12 in Port Wentworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Savannah -  I-95 North
Hampton Inn Savannah - I-95 Nor...
#1 of 12 in Port Wentworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 12 in Port Wentworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Savannah North I-95
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn I 95 North Savannah
Sleep Inn I 95 North Savannah
#8 of 12 in Port Wentworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Mulberry Grove
Inn at Mulberry Grove
#9 of 12 in Port Wentworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah I-95 North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah I-95 North

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah I-95 North
Address: 200 Raley Road, Port Wentworth, GA 31407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Port Wentworth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Port Wentworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah I-95 North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Inn & Suites, I-95 North (Port Wentworth) welcomes you to a smooth check-in in our cozy lobby and comfortable rooms. Complimentary hot breakfast served daily to start your mornings right. Our heated indoor pool and hot tubs are just some of the added amenities we have to offer. Let our staff make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Expedia so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah I-95 North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Savannah i-95 North Hotel Port Wentworth
Country Inn And Suites Savannah i-95 North
Country Inn Port Wentworth
Port Wentworth Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing