We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not staying there again....” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Mulberry Grove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Mulberry Grove
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Port Wentworth
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not staying there again....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2010

We had made reservations w/ requests. They did acommodate our three parties in adjacent rooms, but two of them didn't have a fridge that we NEEDED!....My door key didnt work and had to go back to lobby to change it. It was cold and dark and with kids...I know it's a small detail, but still an annoyance. When coming into the room ,it seemed ok.....BUT....as we settled in....a funny smell kept creeping up....The room smelled like sweaty feet!!!...No kidding!!!!.....Another minor detail I didnt like was the fact that the toilet seat in the bathroom did not have a lid....It sounds silly, but with kids you need that thing closed!.....There were not enough towels also......Noise wise was pretty good. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was ok; sitting was kinda tiny.....All I know is I'm not staying there again; my personal experience. And I know people write more of the negative experiences than the positive ones, but for this hotel I felt I had to warn people and let them know they are better off staying somewhere else.....

Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank alka33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    101
    56
    39
    36
See reviews for
90
125
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

We ended up here by sheer luck after a bad experience at the hotel next to them. Our first impression was very favorable, as the desk clerk was friendly and there were no check in problems here.

The rooms did have outside doors, but unlike other reviews we did not notice a ton of noise from outside at all.

Rooms was large, clean, and comfy, with LOTS of outlets - and high up on the walls. My husband was very impressed with that. lol

There was sink outside the bathroom, shelves a plenty, fridge, and coffeepot

Breakfast was hot breakfast. Waffle makers, bisquits and gravy, eggs, sausage, grits, cereal, juice, and fruit. Plenty of food and fresh made

The staff was just great, from check in to check out, and the breakfast area staff. All were friendly and just very nice.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Badnana2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

We stayed at the Inn at Mulberry Grove for two nights while visiting Savannah. We were very impressed with the room quality for what we paid for the room. It was very nice, clean, and everyone there was friendly. The breakfast was good with biscuits, gravy, grits, eggs, waffles, cereal, and apples to choose from.
We were extremely pleased with the stay. The hotel is about 10 minutes from downtown and an easy drive into the city. Oh and the beds were very very comfortable!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

We bet through hotwire and got a very decent price of $39.99. For this price, I had low expectation, and the hotel actually exceeded my expectation in many ways, so I felt it was a very good choice we've made.
The hotel is about 20km from the Historic District of Savannah, so it is only suitable of you travel by car.
The staff working was friendly. I definitely appreciate the Southern hospitality.
Room is clean with a faint smell of something, but it doesn't bother me that much. The bed was comfortable and it came with everything you'd expect from a hotel.
Next morning we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast, which includes sausage, eggs, biscuits....very typical Southern food. Delicious and fresh.

Overall, I think some of the negative reviews are unfair and too extreme. It is a cheap hotel, so you really shouldn't expect 5 star services and rooms.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monkeybutt88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas, GA
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

This is not a 2.5 star hotel; it's a motel with outside door entry. Eighteen wheel trucks parked in vacant lot adjacent to motel so it's noisy.
The room is okay but linens were worn out and needed to be replaced. i will say, the blackout curtain are great in the room, nice a dark.
Cleaning crew left a washrag in the toilet.
Breakbar in the lobby has maybe 5 tables and that's crowded. Forget carrying on a conversation.
NO SWIMMING POOL - so not a place for a family visiting Savannah.
No exercise facilities.
Closet for office.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaye240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Wentworth hotels

Poplar Bluff, Missouri
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

We booked our room through priceline for two days. When we arrived we were informed that the online price did not include children. We were charged $10 per day per child, which amounted to about $45 more than we had already paid through priceline. We couldn't cancel our reservation because Priceline did not care what the hotel did (they already had our money). We were very upset! There is not a pool, the breakfast area is in the lobby, there is a sign in the room to be quiet after ten, and we were only allowed four bath towels, two hand towels, and two wash cloths per day. The beds were old and were very uncomfortable. When children wake up complaining about the bed, you know it is bad!! The room doors are on the outside, and it is VERY close to the interstate. The motel was not even close to being full, but yet we were put on the second floor at the top of the stairs. We were able to hear every person that entered or left their room. They also put an envelope in our room for us to tip the person who cleaned our room. There is no way that this should be listed as a 2 1/2 star hotel. This was the worst 2 days of our trip!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie_2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

We are currently staying here (day 2 of 4) and so far, it's been great. We had a late check-in and our first room didn't have a refrigerator, but as soon as I told the front desk clerk, she apologized and switched our room - no hassles at all. The staff has been very friendly, the rooms clean, and the location just off I-95 is very convenient. Also, breakfast this morning (served until 9:30) was far better than what I normally see when I'm on the road - biscuits and sausage gravy, waffles, eggs, sausage, grits, cereal, toast, fresh fruit, juice and coffee. Since our third night is free, the price is very budget friendly.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karenboles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Wentworth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Savannah -  I-95 North
Hampton Inn Savannah - I-95 Nor...
#1 of 12 in Port Wentworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS North Savannah
BEST WESTERN PLUS North Savannah
#4 of 12 in Port Wentworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn I 95 North Savannah
Sleep Inn I 95 North Savannah
#8 of 12 in Port Wentworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah I-95 North
0.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Savannah North I-95
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 12 in Port Wentworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Mulberry Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Mulberry Grove

Property: Inn at Mulberry Grove
Address: 101 O'Leary Road, GA Highway 21 @ Interstate 95 Exit 109, Port Wentworth, GA 31407
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Port Wentworth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Port Wentworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Mulberry Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Setting budget boutique hotel benchmarks, the new showplace Port Wentworth hotel blends designer travel comforts, complimentary amenities (including southern breakfast, fast/secure internet and guestroom door parking, internet cafe/business center), privacy, handicap-friendly accommodations and the convenience of easy-in-and-easy-out Interstate 95. Located near the world-class Gulfstream Aerospace and Georgia Ports Authority (Port of Savannah), plus access to the area's cheapest gas (Pilot Truck Stop) and great restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Inn at Mulberry Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Mulberry Grove Hotel Port Wentworth
Hotel At Mulberry Grove
At Mulberry Grove Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing