We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Getaway”
Review of The York House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The York House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Rabun Gap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 March 2014

York House Inn was the perfect choice for our early spring stay in the North Georgia Mountains! Stan and Christine were amazing. The "Happier" Hour lasted well into 7pm in the "Man Cave". My friend and I agreed it was much more like close friends or family hanging out, talking, sharing funny stories and experiences. The room was warm and toasty with lots of cover on the bed; the room was beautiful. Huge porches with rocking chairs, fun trail in the back of the inn, the breakfast was amazing! Close enough to other northeast georgia areas to make this worth the little bit of extra drive to stay. I will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YorkHouseInn, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for the kind review!
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Stan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband and I chose the York House Inn for a Valentiines weekend getaway. We were so glad we did. The Inn is charming and clean, clean, clean. The breakfast was stupendous and abundant. The innkeeper was welcoming and pleasant. There were all kinds of unexpected little extras that made us feel at home - like shortbread cookies and chocolate-covered strawberries waiting for us when we arrived.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damaris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YorkHouseInn, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for the kind review!
We hope to see you again when it is warmer.

Regards
The Pentons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We found The York House Inn online and were intrigued that it was the oldest B&B in GA. The new owners, Stan & Christine, were so inviting and just the perfect hosts! We enjoyed their "Happier Hour" located in the amazing downstairs "Man Cave", where we enjoyed wine, snacks and getting to know the owners and other guests! The eggs benedict breakfast was wonderful. Our room was nicely decorated and spacious for a B&B. Another nice touch, cookies and port wine available in the hallway. We truly enjoyed our visit and will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 407FloridaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

I had learned about the York House Inn while doin some research and I was very excited to stay at the inn. I made my reservations which was easy and picked my room. This Inn has tons of character and charm to take inn. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. If you enjoy historic inn this is the place to go

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lenoxcircleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YorkHouseInn, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thanks for the nice review...
We were so pleased to meet a real frequent Inn traveller!
Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I had a wonderful time staying at the York House Inn. The owners were so welcoming and helped us figure out how we wanted to spend our time in the area. The room we stayed in was clean and pretty, complete with local wildflower body lotions and soaps. I loved sitting in the rocking chair outside my room (and every other room) and looking out into the mountains. Such a beautiful landscape. I can't recommend this place highly enough! I had a great time going with my friends, but it would also be perfect for a romantic weekend, a family reunion, or any time you are looking for a cute, historical getaway. Thank you for a great stay!

Room Tip: Every room has its own history and its own unique style. Look on the York House Inn's website to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molllllyyyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My daughter and I spent the last weekend of December at The York House Inn and had a wonderful time! The inn is gorgeous and comfortable. We love the North Georgia mountains and the York House Inn is located close to Tallulah Falls and quaint downtown Clayton. The Pentons were so friendly and helpful and even invited us to sit by the fireplace with them one evening. Our room was immaculate and beautifully furnished; even the soap and shampoo smelled great! We had pancakes for breakfast one morning and eggs benedict the next; both were delicious! I would highly recommend The York House Inn and definitely plan to go back, hopefully this spring or summer! Thank you, Stan and Christine!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyStump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YorkHouseInn, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again in the Spring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Excellent bed and breakfast, and a one-of-a-kind experience! The hosts are extremely hospitable, and give you a true southern experience while staying in a gorgeous house. The rooms are all different and very well kept. If traveling to this area, the York House is definitely the place you want to stay to get the true Northern Georgia experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rabun Gap
11.9 mi away
Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Historic Sylvan Falls Mill Bed and Breakfast
3.4 mi away
Mountain Aire Cottages & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Rabun Manor
Rabun Manor
#1 of 2 in Dillard
62 reviews
5.3 mi away
Fire Mountain Inn
Fire Mountain Inn
#1 of 7 in Highlands
473 reviews
4.6 mi away
Beechwood Inn
Beechwood Inn
#1 of 7 in Clayton
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York House Inn

Address: 416 Yorkhouse Rd, Rabun Gap, GA 30568-2418
Region: United States > Georgia > Rabun County > Rabun Gap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rabun Gap
Price Range: £97 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The York House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgia's oldest Bed and Breakfast Inn since 1896 is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Located in the North East Georgia Mountains we have a long history as a large ideal country home. The Inn has long been known for mountain spring water, and large verandas with views of the Little Tennessee River Valley. Beautifully decorated and romantic rooms and one suite offer a variety of plush bedding arrangements, all have private baths and luxury amenities and some have fireplaces and private porches. You will find that we have all the amenities that you would expect, including EV charging stations and an honor bar. Weddings, Anniversaries, Birthdays, Meetings or any special occasion are welcome. Special Packages are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your The York House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing