We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step into the past”
Review of The York House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The York House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Rabun Gap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We recently spent a long weekend at The York House Inn. It is truly an historic inn with the charms and pitfalls that accompany such an old building. It is immaculately clean, very nicely furnished and the rooms are quite large, but the walls are thin and noise does carry. Stan was extremely accomodating to our group and quick to provide whatever we asked for. Breakfasts were delicious. The first morning he got up early so we could have something to eat before heading out to our whitewater rafting adventure, serving us an hour and a half before the usual 8:30 start time. Happy Hour in the afternoon was an added bonus, wine and cheese and bacon wrapped shrimp. We gathered every afternoon and evening after dinner on the second floor balcony and enjoyed some wine of our own while rocking in the chairs provided. We are all animal lovers so we enjoyed the house dog and cat, both very sweet and friendly. The location of the inn is very convenient with plenty of off street parking. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms had air conditioning and were farther from the main house activity and the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loves2fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YorkHouseInn, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thanks for flying in for the weekend...yes many might be surprised that you can fly your plane to your friends house at Heavens Landing and then stay at the York House.

We are so glad that you all had a pleasant visit...we hope to have you fly back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

In typical B&B style this Inn is filled with charm, history and a quirkiness all it's own. You must roam the back yard, read the history, pet the roaming dogs and enjoy the award winning trees. The breakfast was tasty and you get to hear Stan whistle a tune while he prepares breakfast.

We really had everything we needed and thoroughly enjoyed thrifting in downtown Clayton, touring Highlands and hiking Glen Falls and seeing Dry Falls. Such a charming get-a-way.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CFPJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YorkHouseInn, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for the nice review!

Anyone who knows me would laugh about the whistling comment. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to greeting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at the York House Inn over the July 4th weekend. We were delighted to find that Georgia's oldest bed and breakfast offered a clean, comfortable, and very historic place to stay. The inn has a country feel and is located between Clayton and Dillard. It was nice to find the inn furnished appropriately for the period when it was built but also with modern comforts like central heat and air. The bathrooms are small but adequate (common in historic properties) and the thick bath robes that are furnished were nice. We enjoyed the fact that there was no phone or tv in our room. Wi-fi is available but did not work for streaming video when we tried it. We are normally picky when it comes to mattresses, but we were satisfied with the bed in our room (the Rose Room, #11, on the second floor). The mattress was firm but was softened by a mattress pad which was totally adequate. The pillows were comfortable. There were mini-blinds in all the windows and it was dark enough at night. A ceiling fan provides additional cooling if needed. We appreciated the fact that our hosts take quiet hour seriously. Even though it was July 4th and lots of people were out on the porch talking, the lights on the porches went out promptly at 10 pm and everyone went inside.

Inside our room, we could hear birds chirping outside, but we never heard anyone in the neighboring rooms and the inn was full both nights we were there. The people who live next door to the inn had large outdoor parties both nights when we were there, but noise was not an issue at all. The large porches that run the entire length of the front of the inn were probably our favorite feature of the inn. We enjoyed sitting in the rocking chairs, feeling the cool mountain breezes, and talking with other guests.

Because of the layout of the inn, you will almost certainly encounter other guests here throughout your stay when you're going into or out of your room, having breakfast, or enjoying happy hour. We were delighted to meet the family dog and cat, who are very friendly. These animals were around because this is their home, but they were not in the way or present in the dining room when meals were going on. We didn't see any kittens.

Stan and Christine were able to accommodate special meal needs that we had and we enjoyed fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, ham, and sausage for breakfast during our visit. There were also muffins and other breads, granola, and Yoplait yogurt available as well as coffee and a good selection of teas. It was nice that there was a fresh plate of cookies daily in the entryway.
The couple is happy to assist with restaurant recommendations and have a restaurant book containing menus from local area restaurants for you to consider. We highly recommend LaPrade's Chophouse at Lake Burton for dinner and Grapes and Beans in Clayton for lunch.

Room Tip: We suggest getting a room upstairs to ensure quiet. If you are seeking extra privacy, get a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 60742Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YorkHouseInn, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for the nice review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

After reading the recent reviews we were excited to stay at The York House Inn, however disappointment quickly set in once we arrived. When we arrived, at the time we said we would, there was no one to be found. Finally the owner, Stan, appeared and showed us to our room. He did not offer to help carry any of our belongings to our second floor room! Our room, although clean, was lacking. Yes it was decorated nicely, however the bed was VERY uncomfortable. The mattress springs poked into your back when you laid down; we definitely did not get a good nights rest. The shower stall, which they do not provide pictures of on their website, was small and dark. The blinds on the window were the wrong size, so anyone walking by could see in. Don't expect quiet surroundings; sounds of cars passing on the highway and a neighboring house with dogs barking through the night. Our room did not have a t.v. and the wifi was hit and miss. For breakfast Yoplait yogurt, fruit, and Cheerios along with the fancied ham and egg on an English muffin...which was tasty until we watched the kitten jump up on the dining tables, walk across the tables, and proceed to drink from the milk servers. I could not believe they allowed animals inside the dining area! If you are allergic to cats, or animal dander, DO NOT stay here! There is no way this would be considered a 4 or 5 star Bed and Breakfast! Wish we would have paid a little more and staid at the Dillard House.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Regarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YorkHouseInn, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

We were so sorry to learn that your stay was not a pleasant one.

I wish we had had the opportunity to correct anything that was not up to our standards or yours, but alas nothing that would indicate a stay or situation that was not to our standards or yours was mentioned.

While we would certainly like to resolve any situations, I am unfortunately unable to identify your stay or room.

We apologize once more and would love to be contacted with more information as your stay certainly varies from those of our many previous guests.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

As visitors from Atlanta, we have had the opportunity to stay at The York House a couple of times in the last few months while in the area. Although our stays were altogether too short, we always look forward to our visits as a welcome respite from stressful rush and noisy traffic of the city. Tucked away amongst tall hemlocks in a shady corner of the Rabun Gap area just minutes off of Hwy 441, yet close to quaint Clayton Georgia's historic downtown area, this is an excellent place to spend the evening rocking on the wide front porch while enjoying the view with a glass of wine or a game of shuffleboard. Large enough to provide some anonymity, but small enough to enjoy chatting with other guests if that is what you prefer, The York House is an example of truly authentic B&B's in a sort of old fashioned "New England" style of inns with it's large L-shaped 2 story white home fronted by double porches and old stone fireplaces. After being greeted in by Stan, we like to explore the area, and surprisingly excellent choices are available for dinner in the Clayton area-that rival some of the 4 star restaurants here in our area of North Atlanta- ( we highly recommend Zeppelins for it's inventive menu and excellent food.) Breakfast never disappoints either with innkeeper Stan serving up delicious hearty meals (if you're lucky enough to get his eggs benedict you are in for a treat!) along with fresh fruits and steaming coffee. He and his wife, Christine have created a warm and relaxing retreat for their guests in this historic inn and the clean, comfortable guest rooms offer plenty of space for working on laptops, etc. (be aware that there are no televisions in the rooms, although one is provided in the living/lobby area for guests), wonderfully comfortable beds and private baths. This lovely inn is located in a charming historic home, with warm and welcoming innkeepers serving a delicious hearty breakfast in a lovely, peaceful setting- what more could one want in a B & B!

Room Tip: As a small Inn located in a pastoral setting, surroundings are exceptionally quiet, although as in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Booder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YorkHouseInn, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for the nice review!

We are certainly pleased when our guests enjoy so many aspects of our Inn and delightful location.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I first stayed at the Inn in 1969 when MS Fannie was running the Inn. It was amazing place for a 13 year old. Over the the years I have come back to visit the Inn and this visit was the best. Stan and Christine took over the Inn last year and their touches from happy hour to Breakfast are superb. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. We will back soon.

Room Tip: Room on the top floor have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frank k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YorkHouseInn, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

It is such a pleasure to have guests stay with us over the course of so many years!
We have come to expect repeat guest visits, some with as much as 70 years of
York House memories.
Thank you for the nice review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

What a wonderful time we had at The York House Inn!! "Happier Hour" was a delight visiting with Stan and Christine - the Innkeepers! Breakfast was great! The room was very comfortable and quiet. We enjoyed visiting various wineries in the area. Enjoyed dinner at Lake Rabun Hotel Restaurant. Also enjoyed lunch at Grapes & Beans in Clayton.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YorkHouseInn, Owner at The York House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rabun Gap
11.9 mi away
Lake Rabun Hotel & Restaurant
13.1 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
226 reviews
5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Mt. Chalet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Highlands Inn
Highlands Inn
#5 of 7 in Highlands
179 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rabun Manor
Rabun Manor
#1 of 2 in Dillard
62 reviews
2.2 mi away
Historic Sylvan Falls Mill Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York House Inn

Address: 416 Yorkhouse Rd, Rabun Gap, GA 30568-2418
Region: United States > Georgia > Rabun County > Rabun Gap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rabun Gap
Price Range: £98 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The York House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgia's oldest Bed and Breakfast Inn since 1896 is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Located in the North East Georgia Mountains we have a long history as a large ideal country home. The Inn has long been known for mountain spring water, and large verandas with views of the Little Tennessee River Valley. Beautifully decorated and romantic rooms and one suite offer a variety of plush bedding arrangements, all have private baths and luxury amenities and some have fireplaces and private porches. You will find that we have all the amenities that you would expect, including EV charging stations and an honor bar. Weddings, Anniversaries, Birthdays, Meetings or any special occasion are welcome. Special Packages are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your The York House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing