We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful setting takes a back seat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amatierra Retreat and Wellness Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amatierra Retreat and Wellness Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Pablo
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful setting takes a back seat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2007

The views from the hillside setting are spectacular. But Jill and Bob Ruttenberg make staying at Ama Tierra a carefree, luxurious delight. Everything shows their caring touch: gracious staff, clean well maintained rooms, imaginative cusine made with locally produced natural ingredients, and manicured grounds. Meals are generally shared with other guests and of course, Jill and Bob who are consumate entertainers. Nothing is lacking at Ama Tierra.

  • Liked — The owners
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NC_Travler_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    39
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
22
84
98
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2007

Friendly, caring hosts Jill and Bob made us feel right at home during our week's stay. Plenty of privacy in our modern hillside casita meshed well with shared meals on the balcony overlooking the hills for both breakfast and dinner. Nice way to get to know the other guests. The food was unsurpassable! Restful setting, and plenty of places to walk and hike when you aren't taking advantage of the massages, horseback riding, dips in the pool or yoga classes. Photographer's heaven. Excellent location for taking day trips, especially to Turu Ba Ri Park. Can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — personal attention, tranquil environment, great food
  • Disliked — can't think of anything!
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ReadyToGoGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oro Valley, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2007

I must say the one thing that is so memorable, besides the wonderful managers, is the delicious food they serve. All natural and organic from the local area markets.
My partner and I stayed in a private, very clean casita that was surrounded by the magnificent rain forest and the many wild birds and small animals indigenous to the area. You're truly in mother-nature land !! On the property there is a hiking trail that leads to a meandering creek if your're adventurous. Your camera will not stop clicking, trust me on this one.
Our hosts (Bob & Jill) were amazing. Always around if you had a question or just wanted to chat.....
Be Ready To Enjoy A Good time.... !!

We're planning our next Costa Rican Adventure soon !!

  • Liked — Great Food & Hospitality
  • Disliked — A few Mosquitos
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROJOHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2007

My wife and I spent two wonderful nights at Ama Tierra while in Costa Rica travelling on our honeymoon and had a wonderful experience. The part I loved the most was dinner in which all eight guests and the owners sat at one table and enjoyed a lovely dinner along with great conversation. The room we stayed in was very nice, nestled almost in the side of the mountain gave you a feel of being isolated from the world. If you want to get away just to relax beside the pool, have a magnificent view of mountains and valleys, be within 20 minutes of Turabi park where you can go on zip lines, rock climb, repell, or go on a nature walk, and have a chance to meet different people over a wonderful dinner this is the place to go.

  • Liked — Group dinner where you get a chance to converse over a great meal with all the other guests
  • Disliked — Don't try and take short cuts in Costa Rica it will only get you lost.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ronfretz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, AK/Tucson/AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2007

I had a perfect week at Ama Tierra. From the moment I got there I felt at home. The hosts are wonderful and the food spectacular. We did Yoga usually twice a day, but there was plenty of time for sight seeing and relaxing. I would go again in a flash. In fact I am planning on it next year.

  • Liked — The nature setting, wonderful food, atmosphere
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore,Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2007

My daughter and I spent 2 nights at Ama Tierra, our only regret it's we didn't stay longer... Bob and Jill were the perfect host. We felt like we knew them from before.
We will certainly go back and this time will extend our stay...it's all you need in a home away from home...

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank voyageur101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2007

My wife and I stayed four nights at Ama Tierra. We loved it! I booked our stay in October and had an email correspondence with Bob and Jill, so we felt like we already knew each other when arrived. Bob and Jill are fantastic hosts. They find out your interests, make suggestions and open your eyes to possibilities you may never have known existed.

Jill is a fabulous massage therapist, yoga instructor and herbalist. We started each day with a morning poolside, gentle yoga session. Afterwards, we would have a wonderful breakfast on the patio (fresh fruit, eggs cooked to order, etc.) overlooking the mountains with great music softly playing in the background. My wife and I were amazed by the sound therapy session each of us had with Jill, as well as our massage sessions. Very restorative, healing and eye opening as to alternatives to conventional western medicine.

Bob has an encyclopedic knowledge of music--he even attended Woodstock! He is great fun to talk to about a multitude of subjects and I guarantee that he will turn you on to some new music that you will want to have at home.

Dinners are simply the best. We were blown away by Jill's ceviche (we had it at several other places in CR but none could compare with Jill's) and yellow fin tuna that had been caught the morning it was served. The Saturday evening we were there Bob and Jill had some local friends over for dinner and we had so much fun meeting a tico/tica couple, who even gave us salsa/merengue lessons! A very special treat.

Ama Tierra is the perfect place to begin or end your Costa Rican adventures, or as a destination for one of their seminars. We came as guests and left as friends. After four days we felt as though we had achieved the three "r's", rested, restored and rejuvenated. We hated to leave but promised ourselves (and Jill and Bob) that we would return, and we hope to be able to do so soon. Brian from Boston

  • Liked — Hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pablo
18.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Colinas del Sol
Hotel Colinas del Sol
#1 of 2 in Atenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
20.5 mi away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 44 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
15.3 mi away
Asclepios Wellness & Healing Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amatierra Retreat and Wellness Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amatierra Retreat and Wellness Center

Property: Amatierra Retreat and Wellness Center
Address: San Pablo De Turrubares, San Pablo 40901, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Pablo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Pablo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Amatierra Retreat and Wellness Center 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10 room Eco Mountain Retreat Center 50 minutes from the San Jose Airport who specializes in healthy foods, Yoga Retreats, meditation, and many other wellness services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Amatierra Retreat and Wellness Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amatierra Hotel Province Of Puntarenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing