We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amatierra Retreat and Wellness Center
Nearby Hotels
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barons Resort(Atenas)(Great Value!)
US$202
US$190
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$168
US$164
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Colinas del Sol(Atenas)(Great Value!)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cerro Lodge(Tarcoles)(Great Value!)
US$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Robledal(Alajuela)
US$95
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Rosa de America(Alajuela)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
US$53
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveller rating
286
45
12
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
286
45
12
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsama tierracosta ricayoga studioat homeget awayother guestsmy friendperfect placemorning yoganational parkgreat experiencelife changingnew friendsspa treatmentswonderful hostscan't wait to go backchicken
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
299 - 304 of 350 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2007

Clean rooms, free internet access in the lobby, free DVD rentals (no TV otherwise), Great food (though a bit expensive, especially since you are charged an additional $3 for a glass of wine at dinner). If staying here, plan a trip to Tuburai park--otherwise not much to do here.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank birds11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2007

My husband and I live in the busy Central Valley of Costa Rica. We wanted to have a weekend getaway to relax and be with nature. We not only found the perfect spot but found some great people, the owners.
Jill played the piano beautifully and we joined in with some singing,
she also showed us her fabulous garden. Bill is a conversationalist and a master a cribbage. We couldn't have asked for a more relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank keldak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2007

Bob and Jill are very friendly and welcoming! We stayed for two nights at Amatierra and had a wonderful time. It was a beautiful area located very close to Turu bari park--a must see!! We enjoyed our meals on the balcony overlooking the amazing landscape.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank catherine_hanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2007

The views from the hillside setting are spectacular. But Jill and Bob Ruttenberg make staying at Ama Tierra a carefree, luxurious delight. Everything shows their caring touch: gracious staff, clean well maintained rooms, imaginative cusine made with locally produced natural ingredients, and manicured grounds. Meals are generally shared with other guests and of course, Jill and Bob who are consumate entertainers. Nothing is lacking at Ama Tierra.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Wes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2007

Friendly, caring hosts Jill and Bob made us feel right at home during our week's stay. Plenty of privacy in our modern hillside casita meshed well with shared meals on the balcony overlooking the hills for both breakfast and dinner. Nice way to get to know the other guests. The food was unsurpassable! Restful setting, and plenty of places to walk and hike when you aren't taking advantage of the massages, horseback riding, dips in the pool or yoga classes. Photographer's heaven. Excellent location for taking day trips, especially to Turu Ba Ri Park. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ReadyToGoGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews