We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sindlesham
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here for one night while visiting relatives in the area. I had high hopes for this hotel as Best Western are usually very good. To be fair, the hotel was lovely, and staff were pleasant. We stayed with our dog and what a treat for him to have a bowl of biscuits waiting for him when we arrived, a really nice touch, as we've never had that before. Room was decent size and clean.

Unfortunately, there was a 'themed Motown' night in the hotel on the evening, which wouldn't have been a problem for us except for some of the inconsiderate guests who attended this, and happened to stay in rooms across from ours and down the corridor. We were in our room from about 10pm and every 10 minutes these guests were coming back to their room, in and out, slamming doors, talking in the corridor. I phoned reception at midnight to ask when the 'themed night was finishing' and was informed it was 12.30am. I told them of the problem and they said they would monitor it. I phoned again at 3am as the constant 10 minute visits to each others rooms, knocking on their doors, talking and laughing continued. Reception advised they would speak to the people. Out of sheer exhaustion (we had been up since 4am) I fell asleep but my husband still heard noises at 4.30am! We had a rotten night and would not stay here again, I cannot recommend this hotel either after our experience.

A shame as it is a nice hotel and would have been handy for visiting our relatives in the future. I think maybe a sign in the corridors reminding people to be quiet after 10pm would be a start, and I think someone at the hotel should have spoken to these people the first time I phoned. I am not sure if anyone from the hotel spoke to them to address the problem, if they did, clearly it made no difference, as the matter was not resolved.

I gave this hotel a rating of 'Average' - it's better than that, but due to our experience, which was terrible, I feel this is all I can give.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanetteHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall B, General Manager at Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

JanetteHP

Very disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. I have written to you under separate cover, and hope that the team and myself will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Regards

Niall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 773 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Martyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Niall B, General Manager at Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Hotel excellent even though we had to wait for our meal because of a large party, the staff were very good and kept us informed to how long we would have to wait for our starters. They gave us bottles of wine, port and cheese and biscuits free of charge because of the inconvenience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank linda a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall B, General Manager at Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

linda a

Thank you taking the time to review your recent stay at the hotel. Although it was concerning to read that there were service delays I am glad that the team were able to resolve this to your satisfaction. Delighted that you left with a positive impression and the team and myself hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards

Niall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Super service, lovely room and excellent food :O) We went for a scrabble weekend which my son as taking part in. Although the hotel busy we had not problem with any of the services the hotel offered. Probably one of the best hotels we have stopped in for a long time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank TPal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall B, General Manager at Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Tpal2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent experience at the hotel. It was very pleasing to read that you had an enjoyable weekend and than the service you received exceeded your previous stays in other hotels.

Best Regards

Niall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We have had several Sunday Lunches and midweek bar meals at this hotel and have alweays been thoroughly satisfied. We decided to stay for a night and the hotel did not disappoint and provided comfortable accommodation with a relaxing atmosphere. Our evening meal in the restaurant was excellent with cheaper options at £29.99 for two providing great vfm. The quality of the buffet hot breakfast was excellent.

Staff were attentive throughout even though the restaurant service was a bit on the slow side it did not spoilthe occasion.

Room Tip: Our standard room was very good and the hotel seemed quiet throughout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall B, General Manager at Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Geler

Thank you for posting such positive comments on the Tripadvisor website. Naturally I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with comfortable accomodation and attentive service from the team. I hope that we will continue to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Niall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Niall B, General Manager at Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Bit jaded with hotel stays recently but this far surpassed our (admittedly low) expectations. Lovely welcome from lady at reception on arrival.
3 of us. 2 rooms. 2 dogs. Nice size rooms on the ground floor for ease of access. Two dog bowls waiting in each room with a welcome biscuit. Hotel pub welcomes dogs and there is a dog poo bin in the grounds.
£10 fee per dog but the rooms were lovely and clean. Have stayed in some (travelodge) where rooms are not clean ( with human hair and dirt) and there's a £20 fee per dog.
Rooms were also well equipped with spotless bathroom.
Only negative, which didn't spoil our stay at all) was food in pub quite expensive for the quality. Fab coffee though and excellent service.
Having recently stayed in a hotel charging 3x this I really appreciate how good this hotel is.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thisbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall B, General Manager at Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

thisbe

Thank you for taking the time to post such glowing comments regarding your stay at the hotel. It is always pleasing to read that we have exceeded guest expectation and to hear that they would be delighted to return.

Best Regards

Niall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sindlesham
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10
2.6 mi away
Cantley House Hotel
Cantley House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Wokingham
606 reviews
1 mi away
Pheasant Inn Hotel
Pheasant Inn Hotel
#3 of 3 in Winnersh
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hilton St Anne's Manor, Bracknell
3.4 mi away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
644 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Winnersh Triangle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel

Address: Mill Lane, Sindlesham, Wokingham RG41 5DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Wokingham > Sindlesham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sindlesham
Price Range: £45 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Reading Moat House Hotel Wokingham
Best Western Wokingham
Wokingham Best Western
Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel Sindlesham, Wokingham, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing