We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel Good Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sindlesham
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Hotel Good Location!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a mix of new and old. The executive rooms are situated in what was an old mill. The standard rooms are in the newer more hotel like bit.

One of the nice things about the Moat House is that it has it's own excellent pub 'the Poachers Inn' situated towards the back of the hotel accessed over a small bridge (watch out for traffic) the food & drink is great here and you can add it to your room tab.

Standard rooms are your general hotel type not unlike any other large hotel. Executive rooms are slightly better finished. Rooms can be noisy from slamming doors etc as can the air conditioning.

Food is of a good standard with 'meal deals' if you are on a budget.

Breakfast is in the form of an all you can eat buffet serving the 'Full English', fruit, cheese, pastries and good quality coffee! Somewhat Disappointingly there were no croissants on my last visit. However the breakfast at the Moat House is fulfilling and of a good quality.

There are two disabled spaces right outside the front of the hotel but cannot understand the location of the other disabled parking in the general car park a fair distance away!

We have used this hotel as a base to take the kids to legoland, Harry Potter Studio and trips into London.

Legoland is only half an hour away but can take an hour on a Saturday and Sunday if traffic builds up.

The Harry Potter Studio is an easy 45 minute drive via the M4 & M25

Again the hotel is only half an hour away from Hounslow West tube station where an adult day rider ticket is £9 (much cheaper than a train from Reading or Slough) it has a large car park to boot that at the time of writing is free on a Sat and Sun!

Summing up the Moat House is a good hotel with excellent service from attentive staff. Ideally situated for your days out and about. But take your ear plugs if you are a light sleeper!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DennisOdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    243
    102
    39
    21
See reviews for
152
235
27
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The rooms are excellent, especially the executive rooms. The bar and restaurant area is open and modern. The food quality is exceptional, I can highly recommend the mixed grill and the room service menu is awesome. My favourite from the room service menu was the tomato and pancetta soup followed by the chicken jalfrezi. I was upgraded on my second night, free of charge, to an executive room overlooking the river.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel looked good from the website and on arriving.
The food was very disappointing, I had to send back lunch from their pub The Poachers Inn and in the evening I sent my dinner back.! My husband's meals on both occasions were fine.
The room walls were very thin, we were woken up by all the comings and goings.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Got a smart exec. room which we were not expecting. Good spec.of fixtures and fittings only let down by mucky bed runner and annoying air con. fan just below the window. Stream below looked fascinating but a bit diminished by the detergent sludge build up. Good staff attitudes and very nice breakfast grub!! Meal in the Poacher pub nicely done. Bit worried about the Rickety rackety bridge to get to the pub - avoiding speedy cars - saw vizi jackets provided!! Enjoyed the stay might do it again to visit nearby relatives.

Room Tip: Try for exec.room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazzachuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We use this hotel frequently when we travel to france. Always a pleasure to stay here. It was a sat and yes there was a wedding. Didnt affect our stay. Wife uses a wheelchair and the stair lift was broken. No worry as you can use the back door to gain access. Meal was great. Service very friendly. Disabled room was fine. A bit tight but great bathroom. Would always stay here when travelling in this area.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hampton1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here for a few nights while visiting parents. There were 4 of us. 2 adults and 2 teenagers. The room was big for a double bed and 2 singles. It was very quiet and a very good location. Would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazzzbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sindlesham
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10
4.4 mi away
Hilton St Anne's Manor, Bracknell
2.6 mi away
Cantley House Hotel
Cantley House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Wokingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel
1.0 mi away
Pheasant Inn Hotel
Pheasant Inn Hotel
#3 of 3 in Winnersh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel
Address: Mill Lane, Sindlesham, Wokingham RG41 5DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Wokingham > Sindlesham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sindlesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Reading Moat House Hotel Wokingham
Best Western Wokingham
Wokingham Best Western
Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel Sindlesham, Wokingham, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing