We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Base in Berkshire”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sindlesham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
May Fields Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Sindlesham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Perfect Base in Berkshire”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

May Fields Guest House is well located for Reading, Wokingham and within easy driving distance of many attractions and National Trust properties. We stayed there last November and were made very welcome. Paul and Lesley were very happy to facilitate our arrival and departure times. The house is modern, immacuately clean and very well decorated. Our room - The Loddon - was spotlessly clean and well furnished. Having stayed in many guest houses over the years it was appreciated that there were no owners ornaments in the room thus leaving space for us to put our things when we unpacked. This is a pet-free home suitable for those with allergies. Whenever we need a base in this area we hope to stay again.......book early its very popular!

Room Tip: Rooms are as seen on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfields4, Owner at May Fields Guest House, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for your very positive review, it is most appreciated. We were pleased that you enjoyed your two night stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the near future. Wishing you all the best for 2014, best regards Paul & Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
69
48
25
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014

What a brilliant find, clean & spacious room well worth the cost, Paul & Lesley were very welcoming. We stayed in the Thames which had its own en-suite, comfortable bed nice surrounding furniture. Breakfast was lovely I had cereal followed by omelet and Amanda had scrambled egg with baked beans on toast, I had additional toast afterwards both having a pot of tea which certainly set us up for the day.
Mayfields was only a few hundred steps away from our evening venue so a big plus for us.
We will definitely book again.
Chris & Amanda Bowler

Room Tip: Different standards of rooms look at the web site
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfields4, Owner at May Fields Guest House, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for the very positive review, it is most appreciated. We were pleased that you enjoyed your weekend stay, and your function was only a very short walk. We hope that you will book with us again when in the area. All the best for 2014, best regards Paul & Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Paul and Lesley were very welcoming and provided us with an excellent ensuite bedroom in a friendly way. The price was very reasonable and we'd happily recommend this B&B. We arrived quite late but that was not a problem. They were happy to answer questions. We were happy with the breakfast but they do not provide the traditional full English. Allen was very happy with his scrambled eggs!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfields4, Owner at May Fields Guest House, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you very much for the positive feedback, it is most appreciated. We hope that you enjoyed your visit to Waltham St Lawrence, and continue your investigations on Shakespears 'ghost' writer, this is fascinating stuff. Your findings may change history and this area becomes the new 'Shakespear' country. We wish you all the best for 2014, and hope to see you again. Best wishes, Paul & Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed at Mayfields last weekend whilst visiting family and was amazed at the lovely room and bathroom and facilities at Mayfields. Very friendly and helpful and the food was lovely. Definitely will stay again and recommend it to everyone. The bed was more comfy than ours at home and excellent walk in wardrobe in the Windrush room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abean001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfields4, Owner at May Fields Guest House, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for your very positive review, it is most appreciated. It was good to meet you both and we were pleased that you enjoyed your weekend stay with us. Hope to see you again in the future, when visiting the area. All the best for 2014, Paul & Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We enjoyed a great stay at May Fields Guest House thanks the combination of many elements: among them, an excellent location, close to public transport (train) and main roads, a true sense of hospitality displayed by our hosts, a magnificent breakfast with a real menu full of of tasty options and a really fair price. We will come back next time we'll be in that area and we will keep on recommending that place among us !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobGale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfields4, Owner at May Fields Guest House, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for your very positive review, it is most appreciated. It was good to meet you again, and we were pleased that you enjoyed your weekend stay with us. Hope to see you again in the future, when visiting the area. All the best for 2014, Paul & Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Thank you for another great stay at the May Fields Guest House where we were 'yet again' made very welcome by our hosts Paul and Leslie. We highly recommend May Fields as long as there is a room available for us on our next visit to the area. Thank you Paul and Leslie

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffB2390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfields4, Owner at May Fields Guest House, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for your very positive review, it is most appreciated. It was good to meet you again, and we were pleased that you enjoyed your weekend stay with us. Hope to see you again in the future, when visiting the area. All the best for 2014 Paul & Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Having stayed at Mayfield's Guest House for 9 months due to work as a contractor, I can genuinely recommend this guest house to any other traveller / contractor wanting to stay in the area for a short or long stay. The house is clean, well decorated, and the room was quiet and comfortable for a good night's sleep. The hosts, Paul and Lesley, are very welcoming and were more than happy to accommodate any additional requirements I had during my stay, including a small fold up desk for use in my room allowing me to get on with work during the evenings. There was a great choice of breakfasts ranging from cereal to hot food, which was all served in a clean spacious dining area with a flat screen TV to catch up on the news and weather for the day! For the high level of comfort, service, and quality provided, the room rates are extremely competetive relative to other nearby lesser quality hotels/guest houses and are therefore likely to be popular with company finance department also. Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfields4, Owner at May Fields Guest House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your very positive review, it is most appreciated. We were pleased that you enjoyed your 9 month stay with us, whilst working locally, and noted that you have tried many of the local restaurants and eating places located nearby. We look forward to meeting you again in February 2014 when your work returns to the area, but in the meantime, we wish you all the best. Paul & Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sindlesham
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10
0.6 mi away
Pheasant Inn Hotel
Pheasant Inn Hotel
#3 of 3 in Winnersh
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hilton St Anne's Manor, Bracknell
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Winnersh Triangle
2.0 mi away
Cantley House Hotel
Cantley House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Wokingham
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May Fields Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Fields Guest House

Property: May Fields Guest House
Address: 4 Mayfields, Sindlesham, Wokingham RG41 5BY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Wokingham > Sindlesham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sindlesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
May Fields Guest House is family run, and well suited for business or leisure as close to Business Parks and national attractions. With 6 double bedrooms, 4 luxury with en-suite facilities and 2 high standard with shared bathroom. All rooms come with flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryer. All rooms have blinds/blackout blinds. Ample off road parking and secure cycle storage facilities. Large garden available for guests. Iron, fridge and microwave available for guests. Fridge also available in Windrush Room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
May Fields Guest House Sindlesham, Wokingham, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing