We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of May Fields Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sindlesham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
May Fields Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Sindlesham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stevenage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at May Fields extensively over the last couple of years when working away from home, and can't fault it.

Paul and Lesley are extremely friendly and helpful, and go out of their way to make you feel at home.

The rooms are well priced, freshly decorated, and cleaned to a high standard every day. The beds are comfortable and there is a choice of duvets, blankets, and pillows to suit. Tea, coffee, and water are provided too, and there is a dining room with a fridge and microwave for your evening meal if staying in. Getting a good nights rest here is not a problem.

The house is located within walking distance of Winnersh station, the local shops, pub, and the gym. There is also plenty of off street parking on site as well.

May Fields has gathered a great reputation, which is thoroughly deserved, so my advice would be to book well in advance of your stay.

Well done Paul and Lesley! :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank GolfAMV75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfields4, Owner at May Fields Guest House, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for your very positive feedback, it is most appreciated. We are pleased that you have been so comfortable staying with us for such a long time, especially when you consider that you stay at May Fields longer than at home. We hope that you will continue to stay with us in the foreseeable future. All the best Paul & Lesley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
44
24
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Our second stay here and its never long enough!! Paul and Lesley are wonderful hosts making sure we had everything that we needed. We cannot speak highly enough of their standards. Thank you for accomodating us!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfields4, Owner at May Fields Guest House, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for your very positive review, it is most appreciated, and we were pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will choose May Fields Guest House gain in the future when in the area. Take care and many thanks, Paul & Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I have stayed at this B&B on numerous occasions, primarily for work purposes, as it is an ideal location for getting into Reading. Paul and Lesley are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMMistry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfields4, Owner at May Fields Guest House, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for your very positive review, it is most appreciated, and we were pleased that you enjoyed the many nights that you stayed at May Fields Guest House. We hope that you will choose May Fields Guest House again when in the area. All the best for the future, Paul & Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mödling, Austria
Level Contributor
82 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I stayed at Mayfields guesthouse for a period of half a year while working on a project in UK in 2013/14. A family house in a residential and pleasant neighbourhood converted to a B&B with 7 guest rooms. Some rooms are with bathroom en-suite, some with shared bathroom (large), one larger room suitable for (small) families.
Rooms are rather small, but bright, spotlessly clean and furnished adequately, although no space for table or desk for doing evening homework in the room.
A common breakfast room is available with fridge, microwave, plates and cutlery for preparing your own evening meals. Good WiFi connection throughout the house, lousy cell-phone coverage (...at least for Three.uk network)
Quiet neighbourhood, own car advisable. Bus-stop, train station and supermarket in 1km distance. Sports- and playground very nearby, good jogging opportunities along closed-off roads.
The owners, Leslie and Paul, made me feel welcome from the very first day and were always available and helpful, be it with buying a bicycle, recommending weekend trips, putting bandaid on cut fingers and laundry services. Occasionally, very enjoyable weekend breakfast company was provided by their 5-yr old grand-daughter Scarlet.
It feels very much like a place "coming home" to, as opposed to a typical hotel environment. I stayed there much longer than initially planned, just because it feels so nice and friendly to be there.
Highly recommended for business and leisure trips alike.

Room Tip: Rooms out to the garden have the morning sun. :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markus U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfields4, Owner at May Fields Guest House, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your very positive review, it is most appreciated. Folding tables are provided for working in the bedrooms (if required) and a number of our guests do use these, or alternatively the breakfast room is available in the evening, as you know, as you used this facility frequently. Around 15% of our guests arrive by rail, with the station a short walk (1km) from the guest house. We wish you all the best for the future, and hope that you would chose May Fields Guest House again if visiting the area, for business or leisure. Best wishes, Paul & Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chagford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed one night, made to feel very welcome by Lesley and Paul. My room was very clean and bed was very comfortable. Lovely breakfast , so everything was excellent. We also took advantage of having dinner at the Wallace Arms , food was delicious enjoyed with the complimentary bottle of wine, because "Mayfields" booked it for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfields4, Owner at May Fields Guest House, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your very positive review, it is most appreciated. We were also pleased that you enjoyed your meal at the Walter Arms, only a few minutes walk from the Guest house. We hope that you will choose May Fields Guest House again when in the area. Best wishes Paul & Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We were a party of three couples who stayed at Mayfields for two nights in March whilst attending a family christening nearby. We were all very pleased with the cleanliness and facilities in the rooms. It's lovely to have a comfy chair to sit in whilst watching tv in the room, also a proper hairdryer was also much appreciated. Shower gel was provided in the en-suite, but if I was being picky some shampoo would've been nice too. Breakfast was lovely with lots of choice...and yummy omelets! Also plenty of tea, coffee and toast. Mayfields is in a quiet location with ample parking. Thank you once again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ANC567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfields4, Owner at May Fields Guest House, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your very positive feedback it is most appreciated and we were pleased that you enjoyed the stay with us. We have also re-introduced shampoo to the bathrooms. Wishing you all the best and hope to see you all again when in the area. Kind regards, Paul & Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I have been staying at May Fields Guest House for 9 months as a contractor working away from home and I can't recommend May Fields enough. From the first night's stay to the last Paul and Lesley are very welcoming and happy to help with any additional requirements you may have. The room is clean, spacious and well decorated with a modest but high quality flat screen TV as well as a large mirrored/sliding wardrobe which is ideal for longer stays. Each room has a large selection of teas, coffees and hot drinks as well as bottled spring water. Breakfast is always good with a large selection of cereals, fresh fruit and hot food as well as a large selection of breakfast juices and hot beverages. All in all this guest house it an ideal place to stay and I could not ask for more - highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Callum B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfields4, Owner at May Fields Guest House, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for your very positive feedback, it is most appreciated. Time has flown by in those 9 months that you have been with us, and we hope that your work will remain local and that you will continue to stay with us. All the best, Paul & Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sindlesham
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Reading Moat House
0.6 mi away
Pheasant Inn Hotel
Pheasant Inn Hotel
#3 of 3 in Winnersh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cantley House Hotel
Cantley House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Wokingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hilton St Anne's Manor, Bracknell
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10
4.3 mi away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May Fields Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Fields Guest House

Property: May Fields Guest House
Address: 4 Mayfields, Sindlesham, Wokingham RG41 5BY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Wokingham > Sindlesham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sindlesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
May Fields Guest House is family run, and well suited for business or leisure as close to Business Parks and national attractions. With 6 double bedrooms, 4 luxury with en-suite facilities and 2 high standard with shared bathroom. All rooms come with flat screen TV, DVD, tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryer. All rooms have blinds/blackout blinds. Ample off road parking and secure cycle storage facilities. Large garden available for guests. Iron, fridge and microwave available for guests. Fridge also available in Windrush Room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
May Fields Guest House Sindlesham, Wokingham, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing