We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exhilarating and Fun!”

Penrith Whitewater Stadium
Attraction details
Guam
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Exhilarating and Fun!”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We headed out to the Whitewater Stadium from Sydney and the train ride takes an hour. It was another 10 minutes by taxi to the stadium. We had four people in our group and three of us had never been whitewater rafting before. We had tons of fun! Our guide was fantastic and took very good care of us on the course. A few of us did get tossed in the water, but that was just part of the fun. The only reason I don't give it an excellent rating is that it was $94 dollars each for 90 minutes plus the cost of wetsuits if you didn't have one. This just seems a little expensive, but our overall experience was great.
Also, we wished they had set up a few cameras on the course so that we would have a few pictures of the trip, maybe that's something they can add.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MGreen403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    20
    4
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good even without the water”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We had a look at this facility while there was no water and walked around the stadium. Fascinating to see how it all works and how easily they can change the way the water flows. Lunch at the cafe was very nice and worth the visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A Great "Safe" Day Out”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Experience the force of nature in a safe and controlled environment. One of our group was a non swimmer and we notified the staff and they were extremely helpful and encouraging, advising when things might get "hairy" and also offering them inclusion in more strenuous tests but fully advising everyone especially the non swimmers of what to do. I have to say I would never go white water rafting without training for it at such controlled centres having done the course as I now realise I am not physically strong enough and in the wild would probably panic.

You can hire wetsuits etc on site.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank helenam8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casula, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Whitewater Stadium”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

It's a long way from the city centre, and will take more than an hour by car but if you like white water rafting it's a good place to go. The course was used in the Sydney 2000 Olympics and is an artificial man made course. It's therefore short but it's certainly action packed.

Helpful?
Thank NuggetSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“whitewater rafting in the city”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

What an adventure! We had a fantastic time. Well organised and relatively safe. Definitely worth a try.

Helpful?
Thank MrsYellaLot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Penrith Whitewater Stadium also viewed

Penrith, Greater Sydney
 
Penrith, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Penrith Whitewater Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing