We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than we expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Winnie Amusement Park

Lake Winnie Amusement Park
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Rossville
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
knoxville
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Better than we expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

This was our first visit to Lake Winnie. Despite what people I know that have been there in the past told us about the place (old, boring, ran down) we loved it. While it is not Dollywood and shouldn't be compared to it, it was perfect for my 10 and 12 yr olds. They actually thought it was more fun than Dollywood since the lines were nearly non existent which allowed them to ride multiple times on their fav rides. My only suggestion would be have a slightly lower admission price for those such as us that have no intention of going to the water park and are only there to ride the rides. It is a great value if you are going to visit both the water park and the amusement park but we had no plans or desire to visit the water side. Great place and my guys are asking when can we go back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dpchurch1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    114
    41
    25
    33
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Varnell, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
129 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Better than I thought”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Lake Winnie impressed me with how they have cleaned up the park and added attractions over the last few years. Although the price is high you do get the pleasure of visiting the original park and the new water park for one price.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Water park adventure!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We go to Lake Winnie twice a year...just got back from our 2nd trip there this year...this of course is the 1st year for the new Soakya Water Park...my 4 year old daughter loves nothing more than swimming and being in the water so if she isnt happy this wont be a great trip...have to say she was super excited by the water park and what it offers...the kids area is perfect with enough slides to keep them amused...the circular "river" is great as they have floats of all sizes and you can ride or walk as you like...I didnt go on any of the big water slides as its all about her but I really enjoyed the "river" as well...seats go quick so recommend getting one early or you'll be looking around for one...the one downside is the $11 locker rental which when you return your key they give you $5 back...overall for $31.95 to access both parks its way worth the money if you have little ones vs $50+ per person to go to 6 Flags and have kids who cant do anything there

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ton of Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

This was our 2nd visit to Lake Winnie and the first visit since they opened the waterpark. Nothing had changed in the amusement park, and although its nice and clean, it could use a few updates. We had a blast, it is very family friendly and budget friendly.....where else could you bring a cooler full of food and drinks in with you! Parking is free and its easy to walk back to you car if you want to leave swim suits there until your ready for them (they also have locker if you don't want to walk to the car). The waterpark is new and very nice, not the largest we've been to but wonderful to jump in when you get too hot for rides in the amusement part. The "Crazy River" is the best, they also have 4 slide (not including the little kids additional 4 slides and pool). Lots of fun and a perfect break in the middle of a hot day riding rides. I recommend a day here....fun and easy!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jen5054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great fun for whole family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We spent an entire day (open to close minus a couple hour break at home for a bit) at Lake Winnie and it was a lot of fun. First off, the water park was great! Sure, it's not huge and doesn't have a big pool (ie: wave pool or whatever) but does have a small kiddie area, a pair of moderate sized slides (good for our 6.5 year old), a pair of slides where you go down on a 2 person float, plus a big set of slides for older adults/teenagers. They have a nice lazy river with waves that turn on maybe every 15 minutes or so. They have an entrance area to that which has a very shallow entrance and the lazy river has water falls and sprays and the such. It was very clean (including the water), MANY tubes (especially in that shallow entrance) and everything was in great shape.

The rest of the park was about what you'd expect. Nice and lots of fun, but just about every square inch could use some attention. I continuously thought of ways, while I was there, that the park could get volunteers and such to get it to where it needs to be. It could use about 1,000 gallons of paint everywhere. I guess the "Antique Cars" looked their part with rust, peeled paint, etc. Of course, that doesn't detract from the fun, but when you see the number of visitors and do the math, certainly they could afford to do some offseason work.

Costs were very reasonable beyond the entrace fees. They have a $7/$8 annual drink thing with $1 fillups which is half of what Six Flags charges. Free Parking (versus $10-$15+). Food was very reasonable: $7 for a hamburger meal (burger, fries, drink), $2 vending machines (including PowerAde, Monster was $3), etc.

Workers were typical teenage workers. They seemed nice and certainly weren't "rude". In fact the bumper car worker was a little too nice as he wanted to position everyone properly when there was a line when he really should've been trying to get the riding going quickly and get people through the line.

In terms of crowds, we were there the Saturday before TN schools start and 1-3 weeks before GA started. As is typical, getting there early (or very late) is key. Really! At 10am, you could hop on rides with no wait. At 11am we went to the water park and again, no lines. Even as late as 12:30pm, you could do just about whatever you wanted. BUT, but about 1:30-2pm it was pretty crowded. Lines all the way down the stairs for slides, kids area packed and lazy river bustling. Still not as stressful as a White Water and no hour long waits like you might see at Six Flags, but definitely 15-20+ minute waits for things. Keep in mind during the week they often have half price after 5, so it might get busier then too. It remained pretty crowded throughout the evening and then up until 9pm as the waterpark closed and families migrated into the rides area. 9pm it was pretty calm, but then you only had an hour to finish up before park closing. Again, get there right at opening and hit everything you want early and get done as much as you would by noon as you would throughout the rest of the day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kirk H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Winnie Amusement Park also viewed

 

Been to Lake Winnie Amusement Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing