We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun 7th Birthday”

Lake Winnie Amusement Park
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Rossville
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Collegedale, Tennessee
Level Contributor
192 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Fun 7th Birthday”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My 7 yr old wanted more then anything to go to the new water park at Lake Winnie. The price is a bargain since you get the rides and a full day at the water park. We started with the rides, she was not tall enough for the more fun rides such as coasters and bumper cars. She did ride all the boats, cars, bumble bee and the elephant ride. She loved the crazy caterpillar mini coaster and the antique cars you can drive yourself. Plus the paddle boats and a leisure ride in the air. Even the Farris wheel. The train can take you all the way around or it can drop you off at the water park.
Next we went back to the car for our huge pool/beach bag. Note * THE RENTABLE LOCKERS ARE VERY TINY!!! We had to keep our bag on a table but, no one bothered it. My daughter was tall enough for all the water rides. They each ended in a small amount of water so no alarm for drowning. The lazy river was lots of fun! the wave pool part is only 1 corner of the turn of the lazy river so not much too it. The kiddie area was a little crowded but fun as well. They have many chairs to pick from and they have excellent hamburgers, They also have popcorn and chicken fingers. We had lots of fun and my daughter wants to go back on her next Birthday!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank flipflopsbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    115
    42
    25
    34
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
knoxville
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Better than we expected”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This was our first visit to Lake Winnie. Despite what people I know that have been there in the past told us about the place (old, boring, ran down) we loved it. While it is not Dollywood and shouldn't be compared to it, it was perfect for my 10 and 12 yr olds. They actually thought it was more fun than Dollywood since the lines were nearly non existent which allowed them to ride multiple times on their fav rides. My only suggestion would be have a slightly lower admission price for those such as us that have no intention of going to the water park and are only there to ride the rides. It is a great value if you are going to visit both the water park and the amusement park but we had no plans or desire to visit the water side. Great place and my guys are asking when can we go back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dpchurch1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varnell, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
132 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Better than I thought”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Lake Winnie impressed me with how they have cleaned up the park and added attractions over the last few years. Although the price is high you do get the pleasure of visiting the original park and the new water park for one price.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Water park adventure!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We go to Lake Winnie twice a year...just got back from our 2nd trip there this year...this of course is the 1st year for the new Soakya Water Park...my 4 year old daughter loves nothing more than swimming and being in the water so if she isnt happy this wont be a great trip...have to say she was super excited by the water park and what it offers...the kids area is perfect with enough slides to keep them amused...the circular "river" is great as they have floats of all sizes and you can ride or walk as you like...I didnt go on any of the big water slides as its all about her but I really enjoyed the "river" as well...seats go quick so recommend getting one early or you'll be looking around for one...the one downside is the $11 locker rental which when you return your key they give you $5 back...overall for $31.95 to access both parks its way worth the money if you have little ones vs $50+ per person to go to 6 Flags and have kids who cant do anything there

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ton of Fun”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This was our 2nd visit to Lake Winnie and the first visit since they opened the waterpark. Nothing had changed in the amusement park, and although its nice and clean, it could use a few updates. We had a blast, it is very family friendly and budget friendly.....where else could you bring a cooler full of food and drinks in with you! Parking is free and its easy to walk back to you car if you want to leave swim suits there until your ready for them (they also have locker if you don't want to walk to the car). The waterpark is new and very nice, not the largest we've been to but wonderful to jump in when you get too hot for rides in the amusement part. The "Crazy River" is the best, they also have 4 slide (not including the little kids additional 4 slides and pool). Lots of fun and a perfect break in the middle of a hot day riding rides. I recommend a day here....fun and easy!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jen5054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Winnie Amusement Park also viewed

 

Been to Lake Winnie Amusement Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing