We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Owner - Joe Mcdonough”
Review of Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 May 2011

This incredible 15 room hotel is well located for incredible ocean views (to include shipping lanes and breathtaking sunrises); wonderful ocean breezes that blow daily, and short hop to village and great restaurants. The decor borders extravagant, yet cozy and comfortable. As 'spot on' as this hotel is, the real treat is its owner - Captain Joe Mcdonough. Captain Joe is a colorful native of the Georgia Coast, and keeper of many stories about his beloved coast...most of them true! If you are looking for the rare combination of great accomodations provided by a great host, you are in for a unique experience. Cannot leave out the staff...simply the best!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claysikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2011

My wife and I traveled with another couple who vacationed at the Ocean Resort several months earlier. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff, services, and suite were first class. We are looking forward to returning to Ocean Lodge in the future and will definitely recommend the resort to others.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wallycovington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

My husband took me to Ocean Lodge as a birthday gift. We spent three days relaxing and enjoying the comforts and calm of this beautiful place. Upon entering the lobby I saw about a dozen places I could cuddle up with my Kindle and be perfectly content for hours.
Our room was lovely, plush and well appointed with a great deck with lounge chair and a great view. We found the his and hers bathrooms very nice and spent many hours reading on the porch.
Breakfast was always a cooked-to-order delight with friendly staff and few distractions.
Dinner at the rooftop restaurant - during the Full Moon Party was very enjoyable and the live music was great. There is very little I would change about this place except to make the weekends longer.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LBPeronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

If you are looking for an intimate boutique hotel, this is the place to stay. With just 15 suites with all the amenities you could hope for, Ocean Lodge delivers. Your stay will have you believing you are in an Italian villa. The suites have 2 full baths, a full kitchen, and balconies that overlook the Atlantic Ocean. The decor is very upscale Italian but homey.
What truly surprised us was the great breakfast that is included. This is not a continental breakfast ... the offerings were fritattas, eggs benedict, blueberry pancakes ... with all the sides you could ask for. We were greeted by name as we entered the dining area this morning. Jacki is truly an asset to this hotel. Her service is so personalized. You would never get this at a big resort hotel.
Last evening we went up to the roof top restaurant for a light dinner since we had a late lunch. The menu is extensive and service second to none.
We highly recommend this hotel for lovers as a getaway...you will love the luxury.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElaineFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

From the moment we arrived, we felt welcome,but pampered. The decor is lavish, yet comfortable. The views are lovely. The staff is clearly dedicated to making sure that you are comfortable, informed and happy. A couple of the staff members spent some time with us to make sure that we had what we needed. The restaurant was closed for the holiday, but the chef was there to recommend a restaurant in town! It was spot on! The rooms are sumptuous, with every detail considered. This holiday weekend, it was uncrowded, so I loved having the rooftop fitness room to myself to watch the sun come up as I exercised. Swim-in-place lap pool looked interesting - didn't have time to try it. Breakfast was made to order and served very graciously. Every minute was lovely. Very glad we discovered it!

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayakers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Everyone could not have been more accommodating - the rooms were beautiful and extremely comfortable. The breakfast included in your stay is delicious and all the employees are kind and focused on customer service. They have beach cruisers that you can use and we didnt use our car while we were there. The hotel is in a great location and you can ride the bikes almost anywhere! It would be perfect for a destination wedding or honeymoon and we loved it for a vacation

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpw5105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Really loved our stay at the Ocean Lodge. We stayed Sunday and Monday for which we got at half price. No kids, bikes provided, ocean views, onsite parking, comfortable beds, and made to order breakfast. The only negative was no pool. First class!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romanwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
5.8 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
515 reviews
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
622 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
6.4 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge

Address: 935 Beachview Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-5014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range: £263 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Lodge is nestled in the Golden Isles of Georgia, just steps from the shores of the Atlantic Ocean. Stunning architecture ignites your passion for Old World beauty and continues to unveil itself with impeccable detail throughout your stay. Ideally located a mere whisper from the heart of quaint St. Simons Island, this unique boutique hotel awaits your arrival! Whether delighting the luxury-seeking vacationer, providing a refreshing change for corporate retreats, or dazzling wedding guests with spectacular rooftop receptions, this special place will be uniquely yours… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing