We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking”
Review of Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

My husband and I just loved this place! Great for a quiet getaway. Our suite was upscale and large. If you love Mediteranian style, you will want to redecorate your home! We slept great on the beautiful bed. They had comfy robes and slippers. We had a jacuzzi tub and the housekeeping leaves a candle to light along with bath salts and a loofa. The products were great. We had spring water for our frig. and great coffee. The breakfast was included in our room rate and it was yummy. We had fresh baked scones and Eggs Benedict on the terrace. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The restaurant had heat lamps outside and a fire pit with chairs, great to sit near and have drinks. What more can I say? The Ocean Lodge sets the standards high. :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SVZ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    58
    21
    10
    9
See reviews for
44
419
10
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My husband and I are VERY picky and this establishment was WAY above average in every way! Not only was it beautiful, but the staff is SO, SO, SO friendly and helpful. Don't go here if you are looking for mass-produced anything: decor, service, food.....everything is very individualized with attention to detail being the total focus. Names to mention: Michelle, William, Tina, Jeff, and both Jason's. We met Joe, the owner, and didn't even know he was owner....so very down to earth. We can't wait to go back! Side note: if you love the feel of Savannah (which I do) but want to be at the beach, St. Simons is the place! I just love the live oak trees. Also - take the St. Simons trolley tour - Kevin is HILARIOUS and tremendously informative. :)))

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We spent a 3-day weekend at the Ocean Lodge in St. Simons Island, GA with another couple. The accomodations were fabulous; we took the advice of other travelers and got a corner room with a large balcony on the 4th floor. Our fellow travelers had the penthouse above us. The separate bedroom, and luxiourious bathrooms (including fluffy, warm towels and robes) were warm and comfortable. The jetted tub was complete with a "tray" for reading books and enjoying the scent and soft glow of a candle. The furniture in the living room was very comfortable - I felt right at home curling up in an armchair with a cup of hot tea and a good book! Jackie, at the front desk, was incredibly friendly and helpful. I had a horrible cold and when I did not come down for breakfast our first morning there, Jackie asked my husband if she should go get some chicken soup for me! When is the last time that happened to any of us at a hotel?? The food and service at the Rooftop restaurant were excellent. There is a firepit on the rooftop and even though it was quite chilly (end of March - used the BOGO special), the fire was warm, the guitar players were fantastic (played well together and were our age), and we were encouraged to sing-along. The owner was present and, along with the whole staff, very personable and engaging without being intrusive. All in all, it was a great, fun weekend. We look forward to going back!

Only downsides are that it is not right on the ocean, and it is set amidst a rather depressed area, but from our balcony we had some good glimpes of the ocean. Also, the TV did not work in either the bedroom or the living room. There was a DVD player, but no DVDs. I suggest that, if you want to watch TV, you take some DVDs with you. Maybe the owner will start a DVD "library" in the lobby.

Room Tip: Get a corner room on the 4th floor, or the penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eagle75-76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2013

From our initial contact for reservations until our check out, the customer service was second to none. Our suite was very clean & exceptionally comfortable. Jackie, Michelle, William, Mary, and other staff members made sure everything met and exceeded our expectations. Our rooftop dining experiences provided beautiful views, great service, and delicious meals. Kudos to Ocean Lodge!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oraybon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weston,ma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Stayed at Ocean Lodge at admittedly, not the best time of year (Mar 20-21). The weather was cool and almost fall-like but the sun shined. My husband and I strolled into the downtown to explore and found the area not ready for prime time. Stores seemed generically touristy and every restaurant had the same menu. Ocean Lodge unfortunately backs a fairly depressed area with a barking dog roped up to a tree next door and not just a few for sale signs. Alternatively, staying at Ocean Lodge was an oasis. We immediately loved Jackie at the front desk who was unbelievably kind and helpful. Thereafter, we met a lovely waitress in the Rooftop Restaurant, Pam, who was very personable and down-to-earth. Our salmon dinner was so delicious, fresh, and well-prepared that we ordered it again on our second evening at the restaurant (I have never done that before!). Michelle was the friendliest housekeeper we have ever come across. We stayed in the penthouse with glorious view of the Atlantic and stupendous sunsets. The amenities in our accommodations were very nice and I especially loved taking a jacuzzi bath and reading my novel with a tea light burning!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theresa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Spacious and luxurious accommodation, just one block from the seafront; there were sea glimpses from the large balcony, and it was a delight to sit there.

Our apartment had a large seating area, separate bedroom and everything was extremely comfortable, with a continental feel. We were on the first floor and were rather glad, because the lift seemed to take an age to come and it was easy just to walk up.

Breakfast was enjoyable with a choice of dishes.

Management seemed to take a personal interest in your comfort.

Room Tip: Better views higher up in the building, but not sure how long the lift will take to come.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2013

This luxury boutique hotel had very beautiful and spacious suites. We would and will definitely return as the property and service was AMAZING! We stayed for our 1st year anniversary and the staff went above and beyond with some last minute chocolate covered strawberries and Champagne. Thanks again guys!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
597 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
509 reviews
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,200 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
6.4 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#4 of 9 in Jekyll Island
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge

Property: Ocean Lodge
Address: 935 Beachview Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-5014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Lodge is nestled in the Golden Isles of Georgia, just steps from the shores of the Atlantic Ocean. Stunning architecture ignites your passion for Old World beauty and continues to unveil itself with impeccable detail throughout your stay. Ideally located a mere whisper from the heart of quaint St. Simons Island, this unique boutique hotel awaits your arrival! Whether delighting the luxury-seeking vacationer, providing a refreshing change for corporate retreats, or dazzling wedding guests with spectacular rooftop receptions, this special place will be uniquely yours… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing