We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete relaxation!”
Review of Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Complete relaxation!”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed July 31-August 2nd to celebrate my husbands birthday and had a wonderful time! Everything is EXACTLY as it is marketed so no bait and switch going on here! The staff was beyond courteous and helpful all the way to the owner! We were just blown away and the Island is great so much to do if you choose to... We loved it and will be sending our parents for Holiday! The New Mr. & Mrs.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    57
    21
    10
    9
See reviews for
43
413
10
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hockessin, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My husband, son and I just returned from a week's stay at the Ocean Lodge. I agree with every other review you have seen before this in that it's a beautiful Hotel, great location and wonderful little Island. The rooms are beautiful, clean and the bed incredibly comfortable. But the service is what sets this boutique Hotel apart. Special thanks to Michelle, Gloria and Jackie who alternately made our beds daily and served us breakfast. Breakfast is included every day and is made to order. They have a great selection of choices and the service, again is above reproach. The room where breakfast is served has beautiful views of the ocean and it was a wonderful way to start every day.
Our only complaint is that the rooftop restaurant was above our room and so it could be quite noisy in the evening. But we were so tired from swimming and our daily excursions to the wonderful little town nearby that most nights we were able to sleep through the noise. There were lots of good restaurants in town and much to see. Great shopping too! All in all, it's a wonderful place to stay and we would certainly go back again! Loved St. Simon's Island. Thanks for everything!!!

The Merena Family.

Room Tip: Best views of the ocean from the top floor. Avoid staying under the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annmarie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This is a very beautiful and nice luxury hotel. The staff there is also very helpful and friendly. I was a little disappointed that it was not right on the beach when we arrived. I was under the impression that it was, it is actually across the street. I think it is a bit over priced, because you do not get anything more there than you would get at a hotel like the Hilton. There is not even a very good size pool for you to get in. You also have to tell them when you want your bed changed. They give you a card to place on your pillow if you want it changed, but never come and check it to see. The Rooftop Hotel had very good food and service there, along with a great view. They allow anyone to come and eat at the restaurant which is fine, but they need to have alternate parking there for these visitors. You are limited as it is on parking as a guest there,and because of the restaurant it is even harder to get a place at night when you come back. When you pay $430 a night to stay somewhere you should night have to worry about finding somewhere to park at the place in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gagirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at the Ocean Lodge Easter Weekend! What an amazing slice of Heaven. The accommodations were oppulent we were on the 4th floor and our room was amazing. I have been told there are 5 floors and the highest floors offer the nicest accommodations. Though all of the rooms are beautiful! The room rate was a splurge at roughly $500 a night but it was well worth it. This Boutique Hotel is without a doubt a 5 Star hotel. The rooms are well appointed and are a deluxe suite complete with full kitchen, living space and a Lanai off of the Master Suite and living room. The front desk doubles as concierge and at our time of check-in the hotel manager was reservations, front desk, concierge and Manager on duty and he was amazing at all of them. Please be aware the area of check-in is a small secretary desk and fills like you are checking into an inn or B&B but once you get your keys let the decadence begin. The exterior looks like a beautiful Italian Castle with all the Grandieur of Tuscany. With the ocean in its backyard and the sleepy, chilled relaxation of St. Simon's Island with its southern charm and down home fixins, this place has the best of all worlds. The Ocean Lodge is a divine pleasure and if anyone is afforded the opportunity they should spoil themselves in its luxurious accommodations. The Ocean Lodge should be a must do for all couples the romance in air can't be denied! My husband and I will treat ourselves again in spring. Who would have known a piece of Heaven is a flight into Jax, FL and a peaceful hour and a half drive away!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

loved this hotel. a boutique luxury dream. every detail matters, they thought of the little things. every detail on the walls of the room was had painted. Bath salts, candles, matches. ., every little thing! breakfast was included in our rate and it was delish, skip the restaurant for dinner, slow service, mediocre chocolate cake, no show stopping entrees.... but the French onion soup was awesome.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdrobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My wife found the Ocean Lodge on the internet and decided we needed to go and get away for two days. It was an awesome idea and the Ocean Lodge was an awesome place to do just that. We have traveled and stayed in many places but I will have to say this one ranks with the best places we have ever stayed. The detail and décor of the Lodge is just outstanding and there is no way I can explain it good enough. You just have to go and stay for yourself to appreciate all the Ocean Lodge offers. Our room was just so nice! The mattress was perhaps is best one ever and we even got the model number off of it to order for our house. There is not a huge number of rooms which made it nice because we never felt crowded like we do at most places. There is a restaurant upstairs and we had dessert there one night. It has to be good because both nights there were cars everywhere with people just there to eat. Breakfast is also included in your stay and was really good. My wife enjoyed the fresh scones every morning. One thing people might not like is the beach is across the street and you can not really see much of it from the room we was in but that didn't bother us.

Now for the island itself. I hate to brag to much about the island because I don't want to see it get to crowded but for us this island is the one place that reminded us of the Caribbean. People here just seem to take a step back and enjoy life. One of the best things about Ocean Lodge was that you are a bike ride away from seeing so much of the island. We spent all day riding around the island. The village is only ten minutes away on the bike with so much to do. Only staying for a short period with so many good places to eat we did something that we thought was fun. We picked three places one night and had a different course at all three places. First was an appetizer, second was dinner, and third was dessert. It actually worked out great because when we were done I didn't have that I ate to much and can't move feeling. One really cool thing we did was get up early one morning and you can walk onto what is a little island because of the low tide right across the street from the lodge. Just get back before the water raises though or you will be swimming. I could probably write a book about our two day visit. All I can say is go, visit, and enjoy life here!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaribbeanSidewinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Beautiful building, check in process was pleasant. Room was breathtakingly beautiful. The smallest details were paid attention to and nothing looks out of place. The staff found out it was our honeymoon and provided free turn down service with chocolates and fruit... Bed most comfortable I have ever experienced in a hotel. Daily breakfast was very good and the service was also top notch. A few things to be aware of, you need to cross the street to get to the beach also the restaurant on site is not that good. It does however have beautiful views, I recommend vising the restaurant for drinks (ask what the daily specials are) and desert.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
0.5 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ocean Inn and Suites
Ocean Inn and Suites
#8 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#4 of 9 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#3 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge

Property: Ocean Lodge
Address: 935 Beachview Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-5014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Lodge is nestled in the Golden Isles of Georgia, just steps from the shores of the Atlantic Ocean. Stunning architecture ignites your passion for Old World beauty and continues to unveil itself with impeccable detail throughout your stay. Ideally located a mere whisper from the heart of quaint St. Simons Island, this unique boutique hotel awaits your arrival! Whether delighting the luxury-seeking vacationer, providing a refreshing change for corporate retreats, or dazzling wedding guests with spectacular rooftop receptions, this special place will be uniquely yours… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing