We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend escape”
Review of Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Booked our stay during a promotional special Ocean Lodge was offering. From booking our trip, checking into the hotel, breakfast service & eventually checking out the staff was very helpful & accommodating. The breakfast that was offered was absolutely delicious. I'm still talking about the grits they served. Would stay there again!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzieqilvyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 597 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

The motif may be Mediterranean but the style is definitely Southern. The facility is filled with phenomenal furnishings with all of the modern amenities one would expect of a hotel of this stature....the Swimmers Pool, the work out room, the spectacular views from the Roof Top Restaurant, and beautiful furnishings. The staff remembers your name after a short stay and is glad to see you every time you reappear at the Hotel with shear Southern Hospitality. It was a very relaxing experience. I look forward to my next stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwhutson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

You can not put into words the experience of staying at this Gorgeous Lodge. This is a truly must see to believe experience. Once the rooms are booked you are hooked. This is the best place we have ever stayed in from all the way from Key West to St. Simons.

Room Tip: A little tip , room 401 was the best and it appears to be the same room as the Penthouse but one flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We visited in August 2013 for our 25th Anniversary and didn't want to leave. We chose the Lodge because the suites looked so luxurious and romantic - we were not disappointed! They are very spacious and absolutely gorgeous. The beds and pillows are sooo comfy that you don't want to get up but you do because the breakfast is out of this world! They serve the best grits I have ever tasted! The morning light through the windows in the breakfast room, and the plush cushioned chairs are a perfect way to start the day. Our first night, we went to the Rooftop for dinner and sat there for hours enjoying the view and the ocean breeze. The food was excellent, as was the service. Everyone there is so friendly. We also enjoyed relaxing on our huge balcony with comfy chairs and beautiful Tuscan decor. The location is convenient to everything and St. Simons Island was a gracious, relaxed place to take some time off. We definitely plan to return!

Room Tip: Rooms ending in "01" are furthest from the restaurant and have bedroom on ocean side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

After an enjoyable weekend in 2012 we couldn't wait to return. Our trip was the end of July 2013.

The suites are magnificent, beautifully decorated, comfortable with everything you could ask for including a full size fridge. The bed is so magnificent you won't want to leave it!

Even better than the suite is the service. The Ocean Lodge staff are more like a B&B staff. They remembered us from our earlier trip. Everyone from the Innkeeper to the breakfast waitresses were warm and friendly. You couldn't dream of a more welcoming group.

We will be returning this fall -- the Ocean Lodge just draws you back with fabulous suites and outstanding service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricnJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Arrived for a quick drink at the Full Moon Party planning to head to Savannah... Had an amazing dinner and spontaneously decided to stay for the night. Will stand out as my favorite trip to St. Simons!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank planesmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My husband and I just returned from what he said was one of the best surprise birthday gifts ever, a trip to St. Simeons Island enjoying five days at the Ocean Lodge. We had a wonderful time at the Ocean Lodge during our first visit to St. Simons Island. The lodge is beautiful, warm and inviting. The art throughout the lodge as well as in our room (301) is fabulous. The decor and the amenities leave nothing to be desired. I loved the bath gels and lotions, the scent was perfect! We slept soooo good, the beds were perfect, you just snuggled into these huge soft pillows and the rest was history. The balcony was wonderful, it was also huge. They really do know how to do things BIG at OL.

The morning complimentary breakfast was delicious each day. My husband a Grits eater said the Grits were some of the best he's had. Michelle, Gloria and Suzanne went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed and more while dinning. I'm not a coffee drinker but indulged every morning because it was some of the smoothest tasting coffee I've had in a while.

All of the people at Ocean Lodge are amazing, starting with Joe, the owner, all the way to the parking lot attendants. It's very nice when you have employees that truly represent the establishment. We felt like we were reuniting with old-time friends.

The rooftop restaurant provides a great atmosphere whether you're there for a romantic dinner, afternoon lunch or dinner party. Seeing the full moon rise over the water was a stunning site. The food was very good, my favorite appetizer were the egg-rolls. What I wouldn't have given to take some of those home frozen for me to cook on my home turf!

Hats off to Joe, Joann, William, Suzanne, Michelle and Gloria, what a great group of people! I also met some awesome people at the Rooftop Restaurant, I certainly don't want to leave them out!

I highly recommend Ocean Lodge and will definitely look forward to returning.

Room Tip: I loved my room 301 but would like to experience the penthouse suite on my next visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
5.8 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
518 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
139 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
776 reviews
0.4 mi away
The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort
The King and Prince Beach and Go...
#3 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge

Address: 935 Beachview Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-5014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range: £258 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Lodge is nestled in the Golden Isles of Georgia, just steps from the shores of the Atlantic Ocean. Stunning architecture ignites your passion for Old World beauty and continues to unveil itself with impeccable detail throughout your stay. Ideally located a mere whisper from the heart of quaint St. Simons Island, this unique boutique hotel awaits your arrival! Whether delighting the luxury-seeking vacationer, providing a refreshing change for corporate retreats, or dazzling wedding guests with spectacular rooftop receptions, this special place will be uniquely yours… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing