We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic!”
Review of Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The most beautiful and luxurious setting I have ever seen in the states. The accommodations rival those I've experienced in Europe and Brazil.

But more that the beauty and enormity of the space, is the atmosphere created by the staff - Jackie, Michelle S, Jack - the list goes on!. I have never been treated so well. We had a problem with our return flight The staff did everything within their power to secure our ride, and offered to take us to the airport, if necessary. I almost wished we had to stay an extra day!

Last but not least, the Roof Top Restaurant and Bar is both gorgeous and accommodating. Mack, the manager, is awesome. The rest of the staff is great. I could not review this fabulous place without adding a special thanks to Adam, who makes the best key lime pie you will ever eat.

Thanks again, to everyone. Hope to get to see you all again!

Room Tip: Trust Jackie to make your accommodation choice. Just tell her what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    58
    21
    10
    9
See reviews for
44
419
10
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Camillus
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Our stay at Ocean Lodge was second to none. It is a beautiful hotel with spacious suites, large ocean
view balconies and everything you would need for one night or longer.
The deluxe suite has two bathrooms, one with a fabulous shower and the other with a unique jet tub.
The kitchen has state of the art appliances and is complete with all dishes and cookware. The
counter tops are different in each suite and the art work is also different in each suite with a hand
painted murals on the wall. The furniture is Mediterranean style with large pillows decorating the
sofa. The floors are Mediterranean style tile. Lighting is unique and on the balcony there are craved
lion heads. Sitting on the balcony you may see a cruise ship or a freighter carrying cars from Europe.
The view of the moon over the ocean is a fabulous sight.
In the breakfast area the ceiling has hand painted maps. The waitress we had, Leigh and Michelle
were friendly and knowledgeable about the hotel and the area. Every bit of the hotel is just beyond
beautiful.
On our last day, our car shut down, in a rain storm. We had it towed to a garage and called the hotel
to see about shuttle service. They do not have it , however the Restaurant manager, Mac came to
get us in Joe's Suburban. By the time we arrived back at the hotel the entire staff knew of the problem and were offering to help in any way they could.
Jackie, at the front desk told us not to worry, we could stay there until the car was fixed. Later the
hotel owner, Joe came to our room and said the keys to his Suburban were at the front desk if we
needed to go anywhere. That evening Anne, also from the front desk called our room to say if we
needed a car we could use hers. When we registered our surprise at all this help, we were told......
"you are in Georgia now and this is how it is done"......this is more Southern hospitality than we have
ever experienced. We did discover you can walk into the village at low tide...not very far and a fun walk.
The stay ended 2 days longer than planned and during that time everyone was so helpful and interested in how the car was being fixed...especially since the first part flown in from Texas was
faulty.
The day we left, Suzanne the event planner took us to pick up the car. Joe who owns and designed
every detail of this hotel must also have hand picked his staff, as they are all as wonderful and caring as he is. Joe sang..."on the road again"...(and quite well) as we left.
In summary, having car trouble on vacation is not something you plan on but it happened and to us.
Ocean Lodge was a perfect place to be....with people who care and treat you like family.
This hotel is special and so is the staff...looking to be relaxed and surrounded by great people
go to Ocean Lodge at St. Simons Island, Georgia.

Room Tip: Ocean Lodge has standard and deluxe suites...their all perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CamilusTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This beautiful boutique, all suites hotel has newly built, large, clean, comfortable, nicely furnished, modern suites with a genuinely friendly staff. My wife and I stayed at the Ocean Lodge for 3 nights during the first week of October. We ejoyed our stay immensely. It is a beautiful facility only 100 feet from the beach. The staff, especially Jackie at the front desk, are all very nice and.accomodating. We usually stay at the Ritz or Four Seasons or nice boutique hotels and i will add this to our list. I recommend it wholeheartedly to those staying on St. Simon.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rejoyceWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2013

What can I say...the amenities and guest service here are awesome! My wife and I enjoyed total relaxation for 3 nights to celebrate out anniversary. We ate at the rooftop restaurant once and it was very nice. The food I'd give a B+ but the ambiance was very to romantic. We enjoyed the included breakfast 2 of the 3 mornings we were there and it was excellent as was the staff. The decor of this place was stunning. The owner even came around at breakfast to mingle and wish us a safe trip back! Ocean Lodge does ALL the little things to make your stay memorable. We will definitely return. Also, the chocolate covered strawberries I ordered and had waiting in US in the suite were the best we've ever had....ANYWHERE. A++++++++

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

From the first hello to last goodbye this was an amazing experience. The hotel was absolutely gorgeous and our room was just as pictured. We were greeted by the warmest smile and shown personally to our room. Breakfast was exceptional and you'd never leave hungry. The Island was beautiful and we had great weather. Dining on the rooftop was awesome and wine down Wednesday was fun! I hope to return.....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeangel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We just returned from a 3 day get away at Ocean Lodge in St Simons island,Ga. We were warmly greeted by the staff and take to our suit. Our luggage was delivered promptly to the room. The decor was un believable. The style was Italian. The master had a huge bed with a beautiful carved headboard. The bath was well appointed with everything you could want. We had dinner in the hotel and it was first class. The staff could not do enough to ensure our dinner was to our liking. The weather was crappy both days but we found some museums and great restaurants. The one restaurant was Crabdaddys. It was a sea food house and served outstanding food. All in all I would recommend Ocean Lodge for an enjoyable getaway.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeflen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

After the big storm thwarted our New York Stay Fall 2012, my wife and I scrambled for a weekend getaway and chose this based on all the excellent Trip Advisor reviews. Overall we were quite pleased - very nice couple runs the place and are very friendly. Dined on the rooftop and found it "ok." In fairness to the restaurant, it was high school homecoming weekend and all the high schoolers (and their fawning moms) were there. Food and service were both 3.5 out of 5. Enjoyed the complementary bicycles which we used to explore the island. Downstairs breakfast was also a nice experience. If you're in the area, this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbreeze1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
599 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
509 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
104 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
6.4 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#4 of 9 in Jekyll Island
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge

Property: Ocean Lodge
Address: 935 Beachview Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-5014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Lodge is nestled in the Golden Isles of Georgia, just steps from the shores of the Atlantic Ocean. Stunning architecture ignites your passion for Old World beauty and continues to unveil itself with impeccable detail throughout your stay. Ideally located a mere whisper from the heart of quaint St. Simons Island, this unique boutique hotel awaits your arrival! Whether delighting the luxury-seeking vacationer, providing a refreshing change for corporate retreats, or dazzling wedding guests with spectacular rooftop receptions, this special place will be uniquely yours… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing