We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed.”
Review of Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Green Bay, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very disappointed.”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We booked a two night stay at the Ocean Lodge with great expectations. The staff was very friendly and courteous. However we found the hotel to be terribly overpriced and not of the appropriate value. We found the common areas including the restaurant to not be clean. The rooms appeared to be poorly constructed and maintained. It was surprising to see a hotel at this price in this condition. One of the exit stairways was even unusable, packed with chairs and other stuff (not exactly fire code). We actually left early and went to the Beach Club on Jekyll, which at a substantially less price provided us with a much more enjoyable experience.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank mpollatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    58
    21
    10
    9
See reviews for
44
419
10
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Hotel was a perfect retreat for a few days of rest and relaxation. The staff was attentive and friendly. The room was a suite consisting of a bedroom area, two bathrooms and a living area that includes a kitchen. Very comfortable for either an elongated stay or a stop over. The roof top restaurant/bar was very convenient with good service and food. The price did include a full menu breakfast that included some great wait staff. I would go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babybuzz_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manning, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

ALL THE POSITIVE REVIEWS ARE 100% CORRECT. It is truly" a home away from home". The staff is just remarkable. They make the entire trip so very worthwhile. --Jackie, Michelle, Anne, William are stars--- and they report to a hands- on dynamite manager- Mac. You can see the beauty and care of the hotel itself. Mr. McDonough, the owner, rightfully has pride and he looks to every detail. It has been 2 weeks but the spirit and interaction is still with us.
You will be amazed by the rooftop dining-& Brandon is the man. Just fabulous food, sea views and 2 fireplaces and a balcony- this beats any of the other restaurants. Do not miss this!!!
Move quickly to be part of their family....Michelle knows all- and that breakfast- whoa. It is included with your room...have a fabulous stay !
ME Fuller/P. Ridgeway

Mary Ellen Fuller/ P. Ridgeway

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank premierblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My wife and I just returned from short stay at the Ocean Lodge . This is a one of a kind location that lives up to its reputation in every way. The rooms/suites are beautiful , the second bathroom is a nice touch, the outside deck is large and a great place to have a glass of wine and look at the ocean. Don't miss the sunrises.

The staff is truly interested in trying make your stay perfect. Jackie and Will when you check in and Gloria set a standard that other 5 star locations could learn from. No doubt they are following the leadership of Joe the owner who has created a gem and is obviously involved in keeping it polished.

Also don't leave without enjoying the restaurant / lounge on the roof. Just a great romantic , first class getaway location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We had been here before--well, not exactly, it was in the rolling hills of Tuscany. But we have not experienced the service provided at Ocean Lodge anyplace in the world.

Some may be overwhelmed by the grandiose decor, oversized and overstuffed furniture and bedding with limited dresser space. But it was great to have the lovely sitting area opening to the balcony with room for company to enjoy the limited second floor ocean view while enjoying a cocktail. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms (two) nicely appointed. The kitchen was sufficiently equipped and if you wanted something that wasn't there you need just ask. The plentiful complimentary bottled water was replaced each day along with coffee and tea enjoyed before breakfast. Cozy robes and slippers are provided as well.

But the staff! The proprietor explained that they had five minutes of training during which it was explained that they were to treat their guests like their mothers had treated their friends when they were growing up. I would wager anyone who fails to get that message is gone by the end of the day. Seeing the boss roll up his sleeves to help clear the dinner tables surely is a great motivator. Cudos to Joe for his management smarts.
Jackie at the front desk does it all, a full service concierge- maître d rolled into one. She makes it happen. The housekeeping staff does what you expect and more, a teapot and lemon tea appearing in addition to refreshed Keurig supplies. The wait staff remembers your favorites and peculiarities, and serves up a delightful breakfast (eggs anyway you want them, frittatas, omelettes, pancakes, fruit platter, and scones right out of the oven) while discussing your day's activities. Gloria offered to give me her funky earrings when I admired them! Holly on the rooftop managed to arrange a table for dinner on a Saturday night when we made a last minute decision to dine (during a full-house birthday party for the entertainer who seemed to be a favorite with the St Simon locals). We mention a few but everyone was exceptional.

Our bucket list is long, but somehow we need to find a reason to come back here. Thank you all at Ocean Lodge for a splendid stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SVFirstEdition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We are so happy we found this jewel of a hotel. We arrived at 8:30 at night and had rooftop dinner reservations, so Michael, who checked us in took all of our luggage to our room and sent us upstairs to begin relaxing. The dinner was wonderful and the breakfast was perfect. We enjoyed shopping in town, walking on the beach,and sitting on our private porch reading our books. We were greeted like we were old friends and definitely look forward to returning to Ocean Lodge in the future.

Room Tip: The higher you go the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Springs, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

This place is great! But the staff is even better! Everyone has one purpose in mind, to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

The rooms are large, beautiful luxury, very comfortable. Balcony is a bonus. His and hers bathrooms.

The rooftop restaurant is wonderful. Had diner under the moon light. Food is great.

Then when it doesn't seem it could get better, they serve you breakfast cooked to your order. Don't miss the scons!

We WILL stay again!
*************************************************************************

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank garitchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
0.5 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
512 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,219 reviews
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
0.6 mi away
Ocean Inn and Suites
Ocean Inn and Suites
#9 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
319 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge

Property: Ocean Lodge
Address: 935 Beachview Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-5014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Lodge is nestled in the Golden Isles of Georgia, just steps from the shores of the Atlantic Ocean. Stunning architecture ignites your passion for Old World beauty and continues to unveil itself with impeccable detail throughout your stay. Ideally located a mere whisper from the heart of quaint St. Simons Island, this unique boutique hotel awaits your arrival! Whether delighting the luxury-seeking vacationer, providing a refreshing change for corporate retreats, or dazzling wedding guests with spectacular rooftop receptions, this special place will be uniquely yours… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing