We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Getaway”
Review of Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 January 2009

We can not say enough about how much we love everything at the Ocean Lodge. The staff goes out of their way to make every detail of your stay just right. From the time we first met them in July 08 to every minute of this stay, they treat you like family if not better! We stayed on the 4th floor of this fabulous property and had a huge balcony. The view is amazing and we enjoyed a first night's dinner on our private balcony with views of the ocean and a beautiful starry night. The suites are breathtaking as well. The suites feature luxurious furnishings, every amenity including aromatherapy soaps, plush robes, candles, snacks, drinks, even turn down service with slippers and chocolates! Breakfast was amazing with lots of choices beginning with fresh fruit and coffee. The views from the rooftop lounge are amazing as well and the workout room enjoys a nice breeze. We have lots of opportunities to visit St. Simons and we will always stay at the Ocean Lodge. In fact of all the places we have ever stayed (we travel a good bit), this is now our absolute favorite.

Stayed: January 2009
1  Thank Thomas_Lakeland_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2008

Our son’s wedding weekend at the Ocean Lodge was an experience we will not soon forget. It could not have gone better (perhaps a tiny bit warmer). St Simons probably set a record low for the weather on November 21st and 22nd, 2008 - the wind was 20 mph!

The hotel event staff was amazing. They made changes in the setup for the rehearsal dinner at the last minute to shield the guests from the wind. It was beautifully arranged, The chef did a great job with the food, and the serving staff was so friendly and accommodating.

The wedding was on the lawn the next day. Thankfully the wind subsided a little - but it was still very cold. Again, for the reception, the staff made changes at the last minute to shield the tables & guests from the cold and wind. The camaraderie and the food were great; the setting -- breathtaking.

It was wonderful for both the bride's and the groom’s families and friends to all stay together at the Ocean Lodge, share the breakfast hour each morning, and get to know one another over the weekend. The food was delicious and the staff gracious and friendly.

We had such a great time and made memories that we will cherish forever.
Thank you Ocean Lodge for those memories.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank emsGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2008

My sister got married at the Ocean Lodge in November and I can honestly say that it was truly fabulous! The hotel is just beautiful with so many extras. It was very romantic. The food there was top notch. Breakfast every morning started off with a fruit plate with granola and yogurt and great coffee (available all day). The made to order breakfasts were all delicious. My sister had her rehearsal dinner (a BBQ -- awesome), her wedding ceremony, and her reception there at the Ocean Lodge. Our family just couldn't have been more pleased with the location, the amenities and the highly attentive and professional staff. I highly recommend the Ocean Lodge.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MTKTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2008

Our family had the pleasure of having our daughter's wedding at the Ocean Lodge in November 2008. The staff was very professional, friendly, and extremely competent in handling all of the planning and details of the entire event....from the rehearsal dinner through to the beautiful reception on the rooftop terrace. They definitely know how to execute a very classy affair. The atmosphere at the Ocean Lodge is first class, its decor that of an Italian Villa. Many of the guests stayed at the Lodge and the accommodations were superb. Each suite had plenty of room and all of the amenities. No detail was left undone. Each morning we could order a delicious breakfast which was served in the lovely parlor area.
As a guest at the Lodge, I will definitely return and I wholeheartly recommend the Ocean Lodge as a wonderful venue for any special occasion.....especially weddings.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geminiFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2008

Overall fantastic stay at the Ocean Lodge. Pros: The staff went out of their way to make sure everything was top notch. You will find attention to detail throughout your stay. Breakfast was better than any Ritz or Four Seasons, sheets 100% cotton, plenty of complimentary snacks, waters, and soft drinks in the room. Huge suite and huge balcony with ocean views. Cons: I did not like the decor & the light switches were hard to find in some spots (I can live with both). This lodge is a great value for this island. I will stay here again because of the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank cng08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2008

The Ocean Lodge was a fantastic escape from the everyday! Our favorite way to relax was to lounge on the sundeck at the top of the hotel -- there was a wonderful crossbreeze even on the hottest day. The staff was attentive but not intrusive, and they made sure we enjoyed our stay and had everything we needed. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripsralwaysfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2008

You are wowed as soon as you arrive, the lobby provides you the welcome to a first class reception. The staff was perfectly accommodating, met me at the car and delivered my luggage to my room. Rooms are almost better than being at home, full kitchen, 2 baths, 2 flat screens with dvd, wifi, and the most comfortable bed I have slept in away from home. Breakfast is top notch with choices to please even me. Will definitely reccomend.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Davis53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
5.8 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
514 reviews
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
623 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
6.4 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge

Address: 935 Beachview Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-5014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range: £263 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Lodge is nestled in the Golden Isles of Georgia, just steps from the shores of the Atlantic Ocean. Stunning architecture ignites your passion for Old World beauty and continues to unveil itself with impeccable detail throughout your stay. Ideally located a mere whisper from the heart of quaint St. Simons Island, this unique boutique hotel awaits your arrival! Whether delighting the luxury-seeking vacationer, providing a refreshing change for corporate retreats, or dazzling wedding guests with spectacular rooftop receptions, this special place will be uniquely yours… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing