We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Mexican Food for St. Simons Island”
Review of Bubba Garcia's

Bubba Garcia's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice Mexican Food for St. Simons Island”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My wife and I had other plans for dinner on Saturday night but finding our chosen seafood place packed with an hour or so wait, we decided to try Bubba Garcia's.

We have eaten at many Mexican restaurants in the Atlanta area, California and Mexico. We would not ordinarily choose a Mexican restaurant in St. Simons Island because we prefer seafood fare here. Nonetheless Bubba Garcia's offers tasty and flavorful Mexican food at reasonable prices. The guacamole appetizer was fresh, authentic and worth the $5.00 price. The salsa had some heat and was freshly made. My chille rellano was filled with ground beef, fresh onions,and green and red peppers with cheese.Although this dish was made differently that what I was used to at Mexican restaurants in the Atlanta area it was a good choice for dinner. The size of the portion was more than enough to fill my stomach for the evening. It exceeded my expectations for St. Simons Mexican food.

I would recommend Bubba Garcia's if you want an alternative to seafood and you enjoy Mexican food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulNewman90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    71
    21
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunn, North Carolina
Level Contributor
197 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great lunch and service”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Went for lunch and ate on the patio. Not a lot of seating room but it's a quaint cantina. We ordered the Carne Asada taco's and the Chicken & Pineapple taco's. Both were very good and plentiful. Our meal started with the normal Mexican fare of complimentary chips n salsa. With our 2 soda's our total bill was $28 with tip. Service was very good as well - always attentive. Would recommend and would go again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sensgirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Take out”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

My husband & I are staying in a friend's condo near Bubba Garcia's. We wanted a quick bite to eat last night before heading to Jazz in the Park. We got one order of shrimp tacos for take out, and they were a perfect light dinner. The shrimp weren't over cooked and all the toppings were fresh and delicious. The black beans and rice were also really good. We haven't eaten @ the restaurant in a number of years, but based on the quality of the food we had last night, I'd gladly eat there again soon!

Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Mexican”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The food was good and the portions are large. They do charge extra for splitting, but it's would still be cheaper than ordering two separate dishes. The salsa was good and spicy. They use black beans which taste better to me than re-fried beans. Loved the outdoor/covered seating.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank katthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Not Happening Here”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Food was awful. Even the salsa. Difference between eating inside or outside is a piece of plexiglass. HaHA.Picnic tables, so not made for any comfort.
Bartender good guy and fixed strong drinks. Place was nasty. Not clean. So, eat at your own risk

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rocky423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bubba Garcia's also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Bubba Garcia's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing