We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Very nice hotel, friendly staff, clean, great location!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natandkyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2011

Service was fantastic, rooms were great, and breakfast super!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vkbfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our 30th anniversary. The room was nicely decorated. In fact, I am going to use some of the ideas in a remodeling project. Location was convenient to shops, restaurants and points of interest. Bed was very comfortable and both of us slept very well - rare anyplace but home. Everyone was very nice and helpful. We left very early on our checkout date (due to 12 hour drive home - not because there was something wrong with the hotel.) Even though it was before 6 am when we went down to check out, Dedria had coffee and most of the continental breakfast ready. She even packed a 'goody bag' for us to take with us since we were starting so early. If we ever stay in the area again, we will definitely stay at St. Simon's Inn by the Lighthouse.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank american_exlorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

My future hubby and I stayed here on Thursday night to "scout" out wedding venues and determine where guests can stay. This was our first stop on the search and the hotel fell short. Upon arrival the outside of the building was as expected in a good location near lighthouse and village shops with a yellow paint color and covered parking. There was a small pool off to the left of the building but it wasn't clean (though it is a little chilly to be in it anyways). The elevator from the garage went up to each floor wothout having to pass by a front desk or security, that concerned us both! Check-in was normal and the young teenager checked us in and gave us our jeys. He was very sweet and professional. We opted for a "deluxe" suite and ended up in the one with the large upolstered headboard and glass shower. upon entering the hotel room initial viewing looked fine. But after going into the bathroom to shower for the night there was a dirty rag sitting in the sink with hair on it and the shower walls were covered in soap scum, it was bad enough to want to wear sandals in the shower. It took 3-4 minutes to get hot water in the shower and the small tv in the bathroom only picked up a few channels, most were to filled with static to view. The bed area looked nice, but when you walked onto the rug area near the bed we would hear crunching and loose boards. When you lift up the rug (cut carpet, not a rug) you can see sawdust as well as multiple plywood boards covering the floor under the rug. I am not sure if this was done to save money on tile in the room or because of another issue, but it was just creepy. The balcony overlooked parking spaces and had a view of the dirty pool and the lighthouse. We opted to stay at another hotel for the rest of our long weekend. Overall the room was just OK, nothing special, I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShelleyATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Really nice rooms with the feeling of home. The staff also makes you feel like part of the family. The location is within walking distance to great restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ric109876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

What fun it is to stay in a "condo" hotel where each room has been decorated by the owner of the room. You can view the rooms and pick one that suits your style. Our room was spacious and comfortable....loved having a coffee pot and microwave in the room! You can also get coffee and wonderful cucumber water all day in the lobby......and juice, bagels, etc. in the mornings. Ths is a small Inn with only two floors so the lobby is
small ...but added to the charm of the hotel.
We were in St. Simons to explore, shop and eat. After only a few minutes of walking from the hotel, we were on the main street of town where we found many cute shops and good restaurants.....and another few minutes of walking put us right on the pier overlooking the water. The location of the St. Simons Inn proved to be a huge bonus to having found a small, charming place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cece19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We stayed in Rm. 204 which was beautifuly decorated. The staff was very friendly & helpful. The hotel is within walking distance to restaurants & shopping in the village. The beach is across the street from the hotel & the pier is also within walking distance. Can't wait to go back & stay in another room as I understand each room is decorated differently.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jking0619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
0.5 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#5 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
595 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
632 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Simons
Best Western Plus St. Simons
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ocean Inn and Suites
Ocean Inn and Suites
#9 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
324 reviews
3.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
129 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse

Address: 609 Beachview Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-4804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range: £104 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saint Simons Inn, in the shadow of a centuries-old lighthouse, is easily within walking distance to all the shops, restaurants, ocean and the fishing pier. There are 34 spacious guest rooms, each equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, and cable television. Enjoy a host of complimentary amenities, including continental breakfast, high speed wireless internet, coffee and donuts, and a swimming pool. We also have one pet friendly room (room 303 only) available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Simons Inn By The Lighthouse Hotel Saint Simons Island
Saint Simons Brunswick
St Simons Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing