We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small Restaurant - Huge Flavours” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sal's Neighborhood Pizzeria

Sal's Neighborhood Pizzeria
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Come on in and join us and become part of Sal's family! On behalf of my staff and I we will do everything we can to make sure you enjoy your meal and time with us! It's a family tradition that goes back to our roots in Italia! So come on in and break bread with your family, friends, and myself along with my wonderful staff for a dining experience unlike any other you will find! We will do everything we possibly can to ensure that you are completely happy! So come on in and see why Sal's "Neighborhood" Pizzeria is truly the place; "Where new faces become old friends and our family tradition is to serve you the very best you food you can find"! Mangiare bene e godere! (eat well and enjoy!)
Alpharetta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
512 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Small Restaurant - Huge Flavours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We went to Sal's for lunch while on vacation. We went there about 11:50 PM and came to realize that the restaurant opened at 12 Noon. And there was a line for 15 people at the door. Seeing this we knew this place had to be good.

We were seated luckily - it's a small restaurant - seats only about 40 people inside and out. But the food is superb. The fried ravioli was yummy...The Neapolitan Pizza was just amazing - the flavor from the capers and basil was extremely good. washed it down with a couple of peroni beers. My 3 year old loved his cheese pizza slice.

This place packs big flavor. If you are worried about cramped quarters - get the pizza to go. But this is a restaurant worth visiting on the island.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shanker B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    509
    123
    49
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cordele
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The real deal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Although it may take you up to an hour to get seated at Sals it's definitely worth the wait. The salad with home made creamy Italian dressing is out of this world, the bread is fresh and you can tell the sauce is made with fresh tomatoes... But the pizza steals the show.... It puts any other pizza joint out there to shame... The cheesecake that sal has imported from NY IS AMAZING! GIVE IT A TRY YOU WILL. NOT. BE. DISAPPOINTED.!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnbwebb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best pizza I've had...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We ate at 5 different places while there on vacation and this place topped them all. We live in savannah, and I will be going to st simons more often just for the pizza... Sal is very interactive with customers and is fun to watch. Not sure why he does not get a bigger place, as the place is small, but it adds to the atmosphere, as everyone can hear Sal. The service was not top notch, but was good..and is the only reason I don't give them a perfect 5.. Better get there early or expect a wait, we lucked up and got there at 530 and had just a small wait.. Sal, well done...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gokatsgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, horrible service and tight quarters.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

The Pizza and food is great. The home made creamy Italian dressing is excellent! The service is slow and forgetful. The building only seats thirty, maybe, and there is always at least a 45 min wait. The servers have forgotten food and orders on a number of occasions. Bottom line... order it to go, and enjoy it at home.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“NYC pizza in Georgia!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Actually, the pizza was better at Sal's than several I have had in NYC! Fresh ingredients, perfectly thin and crispy crust. Friendly wait staff, reasonable prices, great pizza and owner singing as he makes your pie. What are you waiting for? My husband and I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sheri723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sal's Neighborhood Pizzeria also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Sal's Neighborhood Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing