We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice golf experience”

The King and Prince Golf Course
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The King and Prince Golf Course, on the northernmost reaches of this famed barrier island is golf and all its pleasures at their very best. This 18- hole Bermuda Grass course was built in 1989 by designer Joe Lee. Golfers arrive to find a relaxed balance of those things that make the game memorable: the serenity of extraordinary natural beauty and the challenges of one of coastal Georgia's great courses. Emerald fairways, ancient forests, vast salt marshes, island holes, premier instruction, gracious dining, a warm and welcoming clubhouse and staff are combined to make your next round a quality experience on an ideal course “Where You Can’t Just Play Once”.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very nice golf experience”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The staff was great. The greens were very good and the course lay out was great. Very scenic through the marsh. Good value. Remember to bring insect repellant!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DBS5687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick M, General Manager at The King and Prince Golf Course, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Many days a breeze helps with the insects on the north end of the island. It is a small problem when you are able to play a layout like this one. With four holes located in the marsh the views are wonderful and create a special day for our guest. Customer service is important to us. Thanks for letting us know we did what we were supposed to do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    16
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful course”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This was my second time playing the King and Prince in a year. A beautiful course, most holes were relatively easy but some were very tough. There are 3 or 4 holes out on an island surrounded by miles of marsh - just gorgeous. The course is well kept and was not very busy on a Friday. I would definitely play here next time I'm on St. Simons. Bring your own balls because the pro shop has a very limited selection of 3 packs. We played 18 holes in about 3 1/2 hours.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GynoDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick M, General Manager at The King and Prince Golf Course, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
We appreciate a return customer. The beauty and quality of the product is something that people enjoy and return again and again. Our ball inventory has increased and we have sleeves from $7 to $13 of different brands. Pace of Play has improved since we remodeled in 2009. Opening up many of the fairways helped customers locate their ball and keep moving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip to play”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The front nine was not anything special , but the back nine was special with some interesting holes on the marsh. Pretty course. Glad we could cross it off our bucket list.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 01sashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Beautiful but basic golf service”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This was a gorgeous course, winding through the marshes and water features, with lots of nature and wildlife. It was deceptively challenging as well...I really struggled on a couple of holes! It also wasn't that hard to get a tee-time during the week, and wasn't terribly expensive. However, the service was pretty basic. Nobody to take your clubs to or from your car, no beverage cart, no starter, no GPS. There wasn't even a hole description/layout on the score card, so you went into each hole blind. Lunch didn't offer many choices, but was good. All that said, we would definitely return just for the beautiful views.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Youvegottaread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Terrific Course and Beautiful Views”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We've been playing Hampton Club and now King and Prince Golf Club for years and every trip to Saint Simons we can't wait to play it again. The front nine mostly plays through the trees with Spanish moss hanging from the branches and then most of the back nine is out on the marshes with spectacular views. The course is always in great condition and is very playable. Not overly difficult which creates an even more relaxing round to enjoy the atmosphere, but go out and play it from the back tees on a windy day and it will call for all of your best shot making. Finally, the staff is always very friendly and extremely helpful.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JTM125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The King and Prince Golf Course also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Sea Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to The King and Prince Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing