We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”
Review of Epworth By The Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Epworth By The Sea
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I stayed in their cheapest room because I had to be there 2 nights for some meetings in Brunswick. My room was spotless, had wifi, cable TV and a good bed. The outside of the area I stayed in was also spotless and the setting is amazing. I was there alone but felt very peaceful and told my husband that when we go back to St. Simons Island, I want to stay at Epworth again.

Room Tip: I stayed in the oldest part of the place and in the cheapest room and it was spotless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lbmgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    29
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
15
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I stayed at the Epworth By the Sea Conference & Retreat Center, St. Simons Island, Georgia. I was on business for the Singles Enrichment Retreat 2011. It was a spiritually uplifting x-perience.

My room was comfortable, the food was enjoyable and the scenery on point.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xquizit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Let me preface this review by saying that the rooms are old and BASIC. For the price, however, you can't beat Epworth, especially when traveling with a family. The two-room suites in the Reynolds section were perfect for our family of four, and at $94/night, the price can't be beaten! The grounds are lovely; quiet, mysterious, and walkable. My children particularly enjoyed the stained glass windows in the tiny belfry prayer chapel and the status of Jesus in the garden. The 30-minute church service at Lovely Lane Chapel was nice, too. If you go to Epworth expecting luxury, you'll be disappointed. If you know the rooms are basic but that the atmosphere is quiet, friendly, laid-back, and family-oriented, you'll be happy with your stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fredandkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Beautiful grounds and great food. Very clean but could using updating.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We stayed in Abbot Lodge, probably the most modern of all the facilities (but I haven't seen any of the other buildings). It is the one pictured on the waterfront. It's a lovely building; I think all of the rooms have private balconies on the water side. The rooms are very quiet with no heating/cooling unit fan providing white noise. I highly recommend this building.

Room Tip: Ask for Abbot Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TigerLily203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

I booked this room based upon the reviews on trip advisor. Everyone raved about how beautful the grounds are. I must agree the complex is situated on a very pretty piece of property but I was wery disappointed by my room. I felt like I stepped back in time and entered a late 1960s beach motel. I stayed in the Reynolds Apartments and I was disappointed from the moment I opened the door. They said it can sleep 6 but we felt so cramped. Even the kids said they would have had rather camped than to stay there. The beds were hard as a rock! The kids slept on the pull out sofa and they said it was also very uncomfortable. Also it was a mess taking a shower because the shower head sprayed out over the curtain wetting the bathroom floor. I didn't complain to the front desk I guess I should have. The front desk staff was very nice and the grounds were clean. Also the room was clean and bug free those are the only real positiveb I can give Epworth by the Sea.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank reeseysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Every July, for the past three years, my wife and I have traveled to St. Simon's for a retreat at Epworth. (Hence the Leisure purpose of the trip... technically I suppose it is really business since I am a pastor and it is a pastor's school that we attend)

Epworth-By-The-Sea is indeed "A Great Place to Be!"

The first year we stayed in the Reynolds Motel. It was clean and very utilitarian in its features, circa 1960's or so, it had two full size beds and little else but since it was a retreat we figured what the heck.

The last two years we have stayed in the Pitts/Booth motel and it is quite a step up from Reynolds. I would classify Pitts/Booth as more of a Days Inn circa 1980 feel. Clean rooms, comfortable (not dreamy) beds and basic amenities (ironing board, 19" remote TV, telephone, and ICE COLD a/c).

We are considering staying at the Turner Lodge in the future, with a lobby and inside entrances to the rooms I suspect that it is an exceptional value with above average accommodations for a retreat setting.

We usually go down a couple of days before the retreat and make a mini vacation out of the trip. The food in the dining hall is quite good although seating is pretty much where ever you can find a seat, with whomever may be sitting at the table. We found the front dining room to be a bit more cozy although at the time we have been going it gets quite noisy with all the campers dining too (NOT a problem, just felt you ought to know).

The view of the marsh and the Frederica river are spectacular and the sunsets are gorgeous. Epworth is a nice bicycle ride away from the Village of St. Simons (3.5 miles, very flat, and a nice wide sidewalk on which to ride). The beach rivals any in Florida (in my humble opinion, and there is plenty of fine dining to be found all around (both on the island and the mainland).

Any time I plan to travel to St. Simons, Epworth-By-The-Sea will be the place I look to for clean, comfortable, quiet rooms at an economical price. In fact I am wondering if I really want to post this review, I sort of hate to let the secret out!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bigdouga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Simons Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Simons
Best Western Plus St. Simons
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
100 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
599 reviews
1.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
509 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#4 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
588 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island
Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's ...
#10 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Epworth By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epworth By The Sea

Property: Epworth By The Sea
Address: 100 Arthur J Moore Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-2201
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Epworth By The Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Epworth is known for its natural scenic surroundings, complete retreat accommodations, state-of-the-art facilities and wide range of food service options. Among America's most popular Christian retreat and conference centers, Epworth is one of the most beautiful and graceful vacation spots in the magnificent Golden Isles. Whether you are planning a small meeting, large conference, retreat, training session, family vacation or reunion, or just an individual getaway, you can count on our friendly, experienced staff to handle all the details with style. We have housing facilities accommodating up to 900 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Epworth By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epworth By The Sea Hotel Saint Simons Island
Epworth Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing