We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view, beautiful grounds, nice rooms”
Review of Epworth By The Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Epworth By The Sea
Metro Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Amazing view, beautiful grounds, nice rooms”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We took a long-weekend to St. Simons for a family birthday outing. Epworth is a retreat location that we had been to in the past for both Church related events and work events. It has extensive grounds with hundred year old live oaks, Spanish moss, walking and biking paths, pool, tennis courts, basketball court, playgrounds, and cafeteria. The rooms are basic. They are not the focus and are not intended to be luxury accommodations. The grounds, atmosphere, and other parts of the facility more than make up for the basic nature of the rooms. We stayed on the 3rd floor of the Robertson Building at the end overlooking the dock and marina that is next door to Epworth - breathtaking view! Lovely staff, nice cafeteria, and a very relaxing atmosphere that is excellent for families because there is no alcohol allowed on the campus. We were the only people in the whole building but they opened it and had maid service because I wanted to be overlooking the pier. What a great group of people run Epworth.

Room Tip: Talk to the reservation clerk. They only do reservations by phone and the people there are wonderfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Docrwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    29
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
15
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The chapel is absolutely beautiful and sets the stage for the serene atmosphere that is Epworth by the Sea. It is the perfect place for a conference or personal retreat. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful! Tiffany Benson is the sales director and is a joy to work with. I highly recommend Epworth to any Meeting Planner.

Room Tip: All rooms in Turner Lodge face the Frederica River
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I stayed in their cheapest room because I had to be there 2 nights for some meetings in Brunswick. My room was spotless, had wifi, cable TV and a good bed. The outside of the area I stayed in was also spotless and the setting is amazing. I was there alone but felt very peaceful and told my husband that when we go back to St. Simons Island, I want to stay at Epworth again.

Room Tip: I stayed in the oldest part of the place and in the cheapest room and it was spotless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lbmgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I stayed at the Epworth By the Sea Conference & Retreat Center, St. Simons Island, Georgia. I was on business for the Singles Enrichment Retreat 2011. It was a spiritually uplifting x-perience.

My room was comfortable, the food was enjoyable and the scenery on point.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xquizit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Let me preface this review by saying that the rooms are old and BASIC. For the price, however, you can't beat Epworth, especially when traveling with a family. The two-room suites in the Reynolds section were perfect for our family of four, and at $94/night, the price can't be beaten! The grounds are lovely; quiet, mysterious, and walkable. My children particularly enjoyed the stained glass windows in the tiny belfry prayer chapel and the status of Jesus in the garden. The 30-minute church service at Lovely Lane Chapel was nice, too. If you go to Epworth expecting luxury, you'll be disappointed. If you know the rooms are basic but that the atmosphere is quiet, friendly, laid-back, and family-oriented, you'll be happy with your stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fredandkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Beautiful grounds and great food. Very clean but could using updating.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We stayed in Abbot Lodge, probably the most modern of all the facilities (but I haven't seen any of the other buildings). It is the one pictured on the waterfront. It's a lovely building; I think all of the rooms have private balconies on the water side. The rooms are very quiet with no heating/cooling unit fan providing white noise. I highly recommend this building.

Room Tip: Ask for Abbot Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TigerLily203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Simons
Best Western Plus St. Simons
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
110 reviews
1.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
116 reviews
2.7 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island
Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's ...
#10 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
60 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sea Palms Resort & Conference Center
Sea Palms Resort & Conference Ce...
#8 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Epworth By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epworth By The Sea

Property: Epworth By The Sea
Address: 100 Arthur J Moore Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-2201
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Epworth By The Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Epworth is known for its natural scenic surroundings, complete retreat accommodations, state-of-the-art facilities and wide range of food service options. Among America's most popular Christian retreat and conference centers, Epworth is one of the most beautiful and graceful vacation spots in the magnificent Golden Isles. Whether you are planning a small meeting, large conference, retreat, training session, family vacation or reunion, or just an individual getaway, you can count on our friendly, experienced staff to handle all the details with style. We have housing facilities accommodating up to 900 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Epworth By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epworth By The Sea Hotel Saint Simons Island
Epworth Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing