We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turner Lodge”
Review of Epworth By The Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Epworth By The Sea
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Turner Lodge, the upscale retreat center at Epworth by the Sea is awesome! I planned the annual summer workshop of the Southeastern Writers Association this year at Epworth and booked our rooms in the Turner Lodge and we were really pleasantly surprised by how nice it was, especially for the price. Every room is positioned to take advantage of the sunsets over the marsh which are amazing! Turner Lodge is beautifully landscaped and the rooms are spacious and very nice. The overall atmosphere is peaceful and enjoyable. I encourage meeting planners and travelers to check out The Turner Lodge at Epworth by the Sea on St. Simons Island, Georgia!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have balconies overlooking the Frederica River and Marshes of Glynn.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Epworth By The Sea
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed here as part of a Road Scholar tour. As I always do, I checked Trip Advisor reviews and was satisfied that we would be happy with the accommodations. WAS I EVER WRONG!!! And I do not fault Trip Advisor. The problem was that Road Scholars did not house us in Turner Lodge that is pictured here, but rather, in a 60's motel type place overlooking the parking lot. There were concrete dirty steps leading up to the tiny dingy rooms that had thin, scratchy towels. There is also an on-site meal plan that we had to purchase which is described as a "dining room with buffet". It's a cafeteria with cafeteria-quality food, so do not plan to eat there. If you are not a red meat or pork eater, you may have no entree for dinner. Also, the cafeteria doesn't serve alcohol and you are not allowed to BYO.

Room Tip: Make sure you are staying in Turner Lodge and do not plan to eat there.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

During a roadtrip up the coast, we stopped in at St. Simons Island. In talking with the Trolley driver he recommended Epworth as a place to stay for a great value. After checking around town - pricing and availability - we decided to check out Epworth by the Sea. Grounds are absolutely magnificent, very peaceful right on the river, lovely bell tower and views. We stayed at the Robinson building - down by the Riverside. While the rooms was very spacious, it was also very dated. It was clean and had 2 recliners as well as the king sized bed; however, you just felt like you had stepped back in time. The curtains were straight out of the 60s

Price however was great - we got one of the end rooms facing the water and paid $104 for the night....great deal considering the grounds.

Room Tip: I think next time I would try the newest addition with the balconies just because our room was very...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TampaAbuela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

If you are looking for a peaceful stay, beautiful sunset, and great food, you've come to the right place. We stayed at Turner Lodge on this campus and our time there was perfect. All of the rooms have a river view and are a short walk from everything on campus. The rooms are neat and clean with a welcoming balconey. You are also a short drive from the beach, Ft. Frederica National Monument, and a nice little downtown area. This isn't a spectacular resort, but it is really, really nice. So what are you looking for?

Room Tip: Turner Lodge is a great place to stay.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FarmerDaveMarble_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I was very disappointed in my stay at Turner Lodge. Have been going to Epworth for 15 years and stayed at 3 different properties.The Turner Lodge is lovely with large rooms, all with balconies and all facing the river. However, the rooms are not soundproofed and you can hear talking, TV, and doors closing all the time. The toilet flushing sound is the loudest I have ever heard--not just from your own room but from the neighboring rooms. I will not stay here again but will choose another of the nice accommodations on this beautiful property. It is the best place for a Christian retreat conference or to have time to reflect, pray, and study. The food in the dining hall on site is wonderful! Purchase tickets at the front desk. Very reasonable prices and huge variety for three meals a day.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FloridaGal3740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I attended a conference at Epworth by the Sea, excellently maintained and beautifully located right on the water and surrounded by spectacular groves of Spanish moss covered live oaks. A perfect place to take in the beauty, breathe the fresh air, commune with nature, and reconnect with God. I stayed at the Pitts Booth Motel, which is one of the lodging options at Epworth, and that is what it provides - lodging. It is located right in the center of the complex, convenient to all meeting rooms, chapel, dining room, etc. The room itself is basic, two beds, table and chairs, tv, and a small desk. No extra amenities like fitness room, refrigerator, etc.; wifi is spotty, and no cell phone service, one ice machine for the whole complex, so it stayed empty. The walls are paper thin - I could hear the people in the room beside me as if they were right in the room with me. Meals are provided with the room, and they're okay, a lot like the high school cafeteria, but a good salad bar. I truly enjoyed my time at Epworth, a real period of physical and spiritual renewal, and if you're just looking for a place to sleep and shower, Pitts Booth is it - clean and safe, but don't expect anything more.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingfromDixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

(Most importantly! I am reviewing the "Turner Lodge" accommodations at Epworth - not any other options that Epworth by the Sea has!)

The Turner Lodge is modern with HUGE rooms, all facing the Intercoastal Waterway, all with spacious private balconies, very fast free Wi-Fi, a modest flat screen TV, two sinks, etc. The beds are kinda spongy. Rooms are immaculate. Complimentary coffee, Espresso and tea on the first floor open lobby. Free parking. Excellent location about 3 miles from St. Simon Village and a 3 mile ride to East Beach. Food plans are available in a communal setting, and the dining is an incredible value. Peace, beautiful sunsets, waterside walkways......Just OUTSTANDING! The best value on the island hands-down!

Room Tip: We liked the 3rd floor (2368) but all rooms are excellent.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadTripper516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Simons
Best Western Plus St. Simons
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
114 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
622 reviews
2.8 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
122 reviews
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island
Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's ...
#10 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Epworth By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epworth By The Sea

Address: 100 Arthur J Moore Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-2201
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Saint Simons Island
Price Range: £110 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Epworth By The Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Epworth is known for its natural scenic surroundings, complete retreat accommodations, state-of-the-art facilities and wide range of food service options. Among America's most popular Christian retreat and conference centers, Epworth is one of the most beautiful and graceful vacation spots in the magnificent Golden Isles. Whether you are planning a small meeting, large conference, retreat, training session, family vacation or reunion, or just an individual getaway, you can count on our friendly, experienced staff to handle all the details with style. We have housing facilities accommodating up to 900 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Epworth By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epworth By The Sea Hotel Saint Simons Island
Epworth Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing