We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ivette G” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Inn and Pub

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Village Inn and Pub
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Dora
2 reviews
“Ivette G”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We were looking for B & B to just relax and take it easy for a couple of days, and this certainly was the place.
I had to some while on vaction and I had wifi conection.
The room was very comfortable and clean. The restaurants and shops within walking distance.
Continental breakfast was great did have to leave the premises first thing in the morning to get some coffee.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    112
    34
    11
    6
See reviews for
52
241
14
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

We loved our stay at the Village Inn and Pub. It was just what we were looking for. Very clean, and relaxing. We parked out car and did not get in it again for over 24 hours. It is within walking distance of the pier, beach and historical lighthouse. We were on the search for historical Inn's and this one is it. The Pub and breakfast area are really well preserved. The oak trees are magnificent.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadmalaw Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

We were there this last Thursday night. The room was great, the staff outstanding, the property very attractive. RB, the bartender was very accommodating. There was live entertainment in the pub that night and the place was crowded when we came back from dinner. It was not loud but good music. I love the architecture of the building with the many curved balconies. Breakfast was self service but very adequate. I would definitely return again. Don't expect to get there via GPS, we drove around for hours looking for a bank, fuel stop with diesel, and the hotel. I wish I had printed directions from mapquest.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneeBittner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

My wife & I stayed here for our honeymoon. It really is very nice and cute. It is a bit smaller than the pictures on their website lead you to believe, but it's far from the smallest room I've stayed in. we were in the James Oglethorpe room. There's a bar/pub in the lobby if you're into that. Dairy Queen is right across the street - walking distance.

It's pretty close to pretty much everything - I think we walked or rented a bike to ride pretty much anywhere.

We had a great time and are looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuTianHu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

The Village Pub and Inn managed a wonderful historic preservation, while at the same time creating a lively village centerpiece. Constructed around the original 1920's Spanish beach cottage, the Village Inn meanders with interesting twists and turns in the walls--done to save the historic oak trees that surround it. Each of the large comfortable rooms is named after a person from St Simons Islands colorful history. In the original cottage, local music plays every weekend, and transplanted Atlantans pretend they are part of the island culture. Just a two block walk to the Village for shopping or a walk on the pier. A paradise.

Room Tip: For quiet, ask for the bungalow in back, to see what is happening, ask for a room facing the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paige-Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

Really enjoyed our stay . The room was perfect--comfortable, extremely clean, and up to date. I loved this unique property-the size and boutique feel. I also enjoyed the brunch this morning. Doris Smith

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickismith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Enjoyed the old traditional Shouthern charm of this property. The small courtyard in the middle of the property is like an island retreat where you can enjoy the architecture and spanish moss covered trees and vine-covered cottage like rooms. Recommend a room with a balcony for early morning coffee and a glass of wine in the evening. The room we had was on the street side with a balcony. It was a little noisy on a Friday and Saturday night but we still got a good night's sleep. Staff is excellent.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank knspence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
0.2 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#3 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Inn and Suites
Ocean Inn and Suites
#9 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Simons
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Simons
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
5.7 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
#1 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.9 mi away
The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort
The King and Prince Beach and Go...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Inn and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn and Pub

Property: Village Inn and Pub
Address: 500 Mallery St, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-4035
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Inn and Pub 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Village Inn And Pub Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing