We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A second visit to this quaint establishment!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Village Inn and Pub
Certificate of Excellence
Monroe, GA
Level Contributor
280 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A second visit to this quaint establishment!”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Two years ago, I took my wife to the Village Inn and Pub for two nights stay. We were very impressed with this 1920's atmosphere and such close walking distance to the village at the pier. A month prior to our Feb. visit, I contacted the staff and requested the same room for three nights. The staff accommodated us well and we were very pleased with their service.

Parking is a premium at the village and once parked, leave your vehicle there and walk only a couple of blocks for the finest seafood that you will sit down to. We actually got tired of eating seafood and that's saying something. There are many other venues of eatery on the Island and I have already rated them very positively.

Room Tip: Get a room that overlooks the pool area.....very private and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jds754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    116
    35
    12
    6
See reviews for
52
248
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Every time my boyfriend and I go to SSI we stay here, I love this place... Perfect location in the village to bars, amazing restaurants, and the BEACH. BEDS ARE AMAZING!!!! I love the old southern style of the building with Spanish moss hanging from the trees. And from time to time they have bands playing down in the pub which is a great way to end the day!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam0623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Our first stay and we'll be back. Large rooms; most have a private balcony. Live entertainment for the Friday night we stayed. Walking distance to so many places to eat and shop as well as the beach but a few blocks back so you're away from the noise and any traffic. The lobby, bar and breakfast area was very clean. Breakfast was great and well stocked. Our room was clean, comfortable and strong wi-fi. The grounds were well kept. All of the staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful. If we go back in the summer, we can enjoy the pool!

Room Tip: Our room faced the pool area; not the parking/street. Probably helped keep us quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike-and-Donna2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We enjoyed our overnight stay within walking distance of many shops, restaurants, and the Visitors' Center. The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean, dependable wifi in the room. The pub is cozy and they have live entertainment at night. However the service in the pub was poor. The waitress/bartender was more interested in visiting with friends than waiting on customers.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a balcony with table and chairs. Some do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Workout247p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island New York
Level Contributor
132 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Relax with a drink and get a partner to dance the night away. Dancing Dan is in the Groove.. As others do join in for a fun night.

Listening to a pleasant guy with great voice and a set of lungs to blow out tunes on his saxaphone.
We where able to see him preform 2X in January 2013 and brought friends who Loved it.

A true entertainer ... What a personality ... A wonderful Night Out... for Outstanding Live Music.

Michael smoozes the crowd... when he works his way threw the pub.... to the bar... then back to the adjoining rooms to entertain his admirers... playing Grover Washington. Then he gets into Sky Lark, Brown Eyed Girl Purple Rain!! we all sing along.

Look up his web site he plays every 2 weeks Friday nights next date Feb 1st. @ The Village Inn & Pub.

The Pub is nicely decorated a traditional space with high top tables, wood floors, Beautiful bar, two lounge areas with leather sofas... a rear room with pub tables and comfortable leather chairs.

A must do on St Simons Island... wonderful venue. A memorable evening.

I am sure the rooms are very nice and older stucco building, restored with a small pool in the courtyard.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandB2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This is an amazing place to stay on the island! If you come to the island for a romantic stay or just a get-a-way, I would HIGHLY recommend this inn!! It's beautiful, in a great location and has a delightful bar! :-)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeannie226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine Mountain, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

As frequent visitors to family in Brunswick, we are always trying new accommodations on SSI, some near the Village, some closer to the north side, in the quieter area near the marshes. Finding a New Year's special on rates, we decided to try the VPI. It was cozy and comfortable. Loved that our room did not have the "hotel room" smell. As an old house person, I appreciate the owner's saving the original beach cottage and Live Oaks. The idea of a cozy pub really attracted us, however, on our first visit we were run out by a very loud frequent guest and his profanity-mouthed date, and were not happy with a charge of almost $14 for one Absolut martini and one domestic bottle beer. Bartender was very knowledgeable of area restaurants.
I thought the breakfast pastries could have been fresher and did not care for the weak coffee. Parking was great, beds very comfortable, we weren't disturbed by noise, shower head was almost clogged with hard-water deposit. Staff was friendly, even calling later after checkout to tell me that housekeeping had found a necklace in my room, although it was the next room, not mine.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Simons Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
505 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#4 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
584 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Inn and Suites
Ocean Inn and Suites
#9 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
317 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Simons
Best Western Plus St. Simons
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Inn and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn and Pub

Property: Village Inn and Pub
Address: 500 Mallery St, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-4035
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Inn and Pub 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Village Inn and Pub reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Inn And Pub Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing